We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill
The double height kitchen/dining area with its fine timber work The large, very light upstairs sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Old Mill
The double height kitchen/dining area with its fine timber work
The large, very light upstairs sitting room
The dining area at The Old Mill looks out onto the patio and garden beyond
The main entrance through double doors into the kitchen/dining area
The double height kitchen/dining area
The dining table has seating for up to 10 guests
The fully fitted kitchen includes an island unit
The large, very light upstairs sitting room
The light and very spacious upstairs sitting room
The sitting room leads out onto a small, glass-fronted balcony
The upstairs sitting room overlooks the kitchen/dining area
The upstairs sitting room overlooks the kitchen/dining area
The twin bedroom
This double bedroom leads out onto the patio area
The other double bedroom
The main bathroom
..... and ensuite shower room
The lake in the meadow adjacent to the cottages
The Old Mill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa G
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the Old Mill for a week and had a fabulous time. The property is gorgeous, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Sort of place you wouldn't mind having a rainy day in - it's so cosy, immaculate and beautiful. Ben and Kelly left a fab welcome pack (which included cake and wine, best welcome pack we've ever had at a holiday rental place) and were very helpful and welcoming. Well kitted out for kids too, with toys, books, plastic plates, cups etc. Ben made my son's day by giving him a ride in the tractor and he was able to watch them making bales. All in all, highly recommend this place - best holiday place we've ever rented and we've been to quite a few. Would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive feed-back about The Old Mill. We're glad you had such an enjoyable stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incey3
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage, Gorgeous surroundings. Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We celebrated my mums 50th here and it was such a great weekend. Ben and Kelly were the perfect hosts, so helpful and even showed us around their farm. The cottage is absolutely perfect for a group of 6. Plenty of cutlery, lovely white towels and modern decor. Its all very well thought out. We used the BBQ 2 nights in a row as we were very lucky with the weather and it was great. Would highly recommend, especially if its for a special Occasion. We loved it and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The BBQ, The lovely lawns outside and the beautiful large kitchen
Liked least: I didn't like that i couldn't stay longer :-)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about The Old Mill, which will be very helpful for future guests planning a holiday here. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRChefhol...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spend a long weekend here to celebrate a 50th birthday, the place is amazing very well lit in every room and decorated to a very high standard. Highly recommended go ape and canoeing down the river Severn (both about 30 min drive)

Tips: its very bright in the morning in the 2 front rooms as the sun rises directly in front, I couldn't sleep past about 6am but a coffee on the balcony in silence watching the sun rise is great.

2.bring bbq utensils.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your positive and helpful comments about your stay at The Old Mill. We're very glad you enjoyed your weekend. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashley_ev...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, tranquil spot, amazing hosts...everything you could ask for!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked the Old Mill for the first bank holiday weekend in May. It seemed the perfect place to take my wife and son, sister-in-law and her family, and my father-in-law to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday. Suffice to say my wife was taken aback by the house and by the landscape it sits in.
The Old Mill sits in an enclosed compound which sits on a very large acreage in a hamlet named Flaxley. Given my sister-in-law has a two-year-old daughter, it was a perfect place for her to run about without us having to worry about what she was up to. When she fell backwards off a picnic bench and smacked her head off the stone pavement the owner, Ben, brought a small child's bench for her to use. We also arrived back from a few long walks to extra toys awaiting us, which I believe is conduct above and beyond.
Ben and Kelly were the most accommodating and inviting hosts and I can't say enough about them. I suppose mentioning that we will be making the Old Mill an annual weekend away should suffice.
If you have a family and want a safe, beautiful place to get away I can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners, mezzanine living room, closed compound
Liked least: internet was not broadband, but not the fault of the owners; just not available in that area!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent feedback about The Old Mill. We're so glad it proved to be suitable for your needs and you had a great holiday. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Excellent facilities in spotless condition, it certainly has a wow factor!! The layout of the building works really well for groups and families having a get together. The kitchen is well equipped and the grounds and walks available from the Mill were an added bonus. There is so much to see and do in the area to keep everybody happy. Can not praise it enough, just go and try it yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the house
Liked least: Extractor fan in main bathroom, a bit noisy at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about The Old Mill, which will also be very helpful for future guests. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLover...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage and location for 30th birthday celebrations.”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We can't recommend this cottage highly enough. The Old Mill was beautifully designed, spotlessly clean, and ideal for our needs. We were a group of 6 adults, a 2 year old and a 7 month old. The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating and we were delighted with the equipment provided for the children (2 cots, 2 high chairs and a chest full of toys).

Each room was beautifully decorated and finished to a high standard. The bedrooms were all on the ground floor. The bathrooms we again spotlessly clean, and extra toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc) were also provided.

The main downstairs living area was more than big enough for all of us, and we were able to spill out outside onto the benches and grass. The large table would easily seat 10, and creates a really sociable area.

Upstairs is a lovely sofa area with large TV and little balcony. We enjoyed spending the evenings chatting upstairs (without disturbing the children sleeping downstairs).

We walked over to the large lake and enjoyed watching the swans.

We spent the day at Symonds Yat going to the maze, butterfly zoo and miniature golf. (Book online in advance for a better price!). This was about a half an hour drive away and was great for everyone in the group. After recommendations from the owners, we also walked to The Red Hart pub (about half an hour walk) for Sunday lunch. A great find.

Thank you for a lovely weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accommodation.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Mill and found it to be suitable for your special birthday celebrations. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing