We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT”
View to Slioch from back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge Lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge
Lounge and dining area
View from lounge
Kitchen
Kingsize bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Back of the cottage
Reflection of a beautiful winter day
Back garden in winter
Pine Marten kit
Red Deer stag
View to Beinn Eighe from rear of property
Magnificent Torridon mountains
Local view
White-tailed eagle fishing
Mountain hare
Local view
Pine Marten
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yvonne e
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Cairn Shiel is a warm and cosy bungalow which is well equipped and very clean.
The location is absolutely stunning with views of Beinn Eighe mountain from the back garden .
A lovely short walk into the village, the whistle stop cafe serve a great coffee and you can stock up on most things at Kinlochewe service station,the staff are very polite and helpful .
A pine martin visited every night from 9.15pm which was the highlight of our holiday, we loved watching the birds feed daily .
We had a lovely relaxing week and would love to stay here again.
Thank you to Will & Sue , & Hazel

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2018
We are delighted to hear that the four of you really enjoyed your stay and that you would like to return one day. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Will, Sue & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildlifeA...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax with a perfect view!”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here for the first time last year and couldn't wait to come back. The owners have invested in new windows & lovely wooden cladding since our last visit & it looks good. The cottage is clean & tidy & has excellent information for the area if you are new to it. The view is still as beautiful as last year looking straight out of the big picture window up to the mountains. It is very well equipped & the beds are very comfortable so much so we struggled to get up in the mornings! Still the stars of the show have to be the Pine Martens that visit every night & it was lovely to see the young ones this year. We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
What a lovely review, thank you Ann. We are glad that you like the improvements we have made. You are welcome back anytime. Hazel really appreciated how clean and tidy you left the cottage so thank you for that as well. Sue and Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali_P77
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with wonderful views and wildlife”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Cairn Shiel last week, slowly adjusting back to normallity.

The cottage had everything we could ever need and more, it was also nice and cosy despite the chilly weather. The scenery was breathtaking and the nightly visits from the pine marten truly magical.

The Whistle Stop Cafe became a firm favourite, great food and coffee, especially rewarding after a strenuous hill walk!

I’m sure we’ll be back at some point in the future, but thanks again, you’ve got a very special place at Cairn Shiel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2018
Dear Alison, thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you, John and Dudley Dog back one day. Kind regards Sue and Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joolz1975
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly special place”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Sitting here writing this as we are coming to the end of our stay and really don't want to leave.

This cottage has everything you need and is in the most amazing location. You couldn't ask for anything more really. It is comfortable, well equipped and has some great touches such as a wildlife log for guests to complete which is an interesting read.

Our main reason for choosing the cottage was the pine martens that visit nightly and the location. You feel like nature is all around you and it is wonderful. As a previous guest has said it is all about the window and they were spot on. I had a couple of days on my own in the cottage just relaxing, watching the birds feeding and the changing view of Beinn Eighe, it was just perfect.

Of course the highlight has to be the pine martens who visited us every night. They are delightful and you just feel blessed to be able to sit and watch them feed. I am going to miss them when we leave.

We had the pleasure of meeting Will during our stay as he was taking Graham out climbing, he is lovely and a wealth of knowledge, worth booking him for guided walks/cycling if you can.

Weather wasn't great for us during our stay but the cottage was warm so it didn't spoil our holiday.

Thank you Will and Sue for an amazing trip and looking forward to returning soon.

Julie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both too and spend some time in the hills with you. Look forward to seeing you again in 2018, as do the pine martens. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_kathyand...
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely well equipped cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a lovely week we have had at Cairn Shiel. Lovely cottage, comfortable cosy and very well equipped with beautiful views from the lounge window. We very much enjoyed watching the variety of little birds on the feeders and the antics of the Pine Martens in the evening enjoying their Jam sandwiches, nuts and fruit. The location of the cottage was perfect for the many walks we undertook in this beautiful area of Scotland. We were very impressed with all the information provided for us at the cottage with regards to wildlife, walks etc and would love to return and stay at Cairn Shiel again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Dear Kathy, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted when guests have a good time. Don't hesitate to contact us if you want to visit again. Kind regards Sue and Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer break”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good size accommodation but needs certain things like plumbing and electrics checking before people stay. Good views from window and lovely wildlife, lots of places to visit but expensive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Dear Helen, we are glad that you enjoyed the wonderful views from the cottage and the wildlife. We would like to respond to your concerns as we take our guests safety and comfort very seriously. Firstly the plumbing - unfortunately someone had put something down the 2nd toilet that they shouldn't have, despite our signs, and it wasn't flushing properly. The guests who let us know about it weren't concerned about it and were happy for us to sort it out when they left. I did so on changeover day but it took longer than anticipated to get a tradesman out to our remote location so unfortunately we were still sorting it out when you arrived. We were gone within an hour of your arrival and you had access to the whole house apart from the 2nd toilet, which I apologised for. We are unaware of any further issues and our housekeeper has checked the cottage again during the week and the toilet is flushing perfectly. Secondly, the electrics were all checked in March. The EICR was renewed and all appliances and lamps were PAT tested. I believe you thought that the buzzing lamp was a fire risk. I can assure you that it was only an energy saving bulb which buzzed a little whilst warming up then stopped. This may have been a little disconcerting so to save any further concerns we have replaced the bulb and it no longer makes any noise. We are unaware of any other issues with the electrics. We hope you are all enjoying the rest of your summer. Kind regards Sue and Will Snow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildlifeA...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic wildlife & stunning views!”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is situated just outside Kinlochewe standing alone surrounded by stunning views.My husband & I stayed here for a week at the beginning of June.The cottage is spacious, clean & comfortable & has a very well equipped kitchen.There is a large fridge freezer which is great if you cook for yourself most days as we do.Also has a dishwasher,washing machine & tumble dryer. The owners have made up folders with what to do & see locally which is useful if you are new to the area.There is also a wildlife diary/log for guests to fill in each day which is a lovely touch. The lounge has a large picture window with bird feeders outside which are busy all day long but the star of the show has to be the Pine Martens,we saw them every night & got some amazing photos.We saw at least 3 different ones throughout the week.The views are stunning.We met Sue the owner when we got there who was very friendly & open to suggestions as they have only owned it a year.We wish them all the best for the future. Nannies in Shieldaig does a lovely Langoustine salad & food at the Kinlochewe Hotel was good & large portions too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Dear Ann and Noel, thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable week. Thank you for sending us your helpful suggestions and excellent photos. We look forward to meeting you again. Sue and Will Snow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing