We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Oasis in a Dumpy Place :)”
Review of La Casa de Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa de Felipe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Ok, so let me be super straight with you: Casa Felipe is LOVELY. Taganga, on the other hand, well...not so much.

Let's begin with the hostel:

Great accommodations and quite more like a little hotel or budget resort than a hostels. It was just gorgeous! I couldn't get over how pretty it all was when I arrived, by night, and drenched by the rain. I'm pretty sure I had to rub my eyes as though to say, "Am I seeing things?" :)

I was greeted by a warm, sweet welcome with information galore and such a happy welcoming it was as though I was expecting a standing ovation, or tears of joy or something. ;) Like, they were that good.

The hostel is, like I said, really expansive and more like a hotel than a hostel. I got a private room for this one - big spender! - and didn't regret it. It was a lovely large room, with a great big double bed, 2 fans, a shower (cold water only, of course), and tons of lovely shuttered windows. It was a really lovely little spot off the beaten track in Taganga.

Ok, so I say, "Off the beaten path" with a bit of a giggle, because to be honest, Taganga is more like a beaten path than anything else...a town I couldn't grow to love, no matter how hard I tried, but boy did I try. That said, my returns to La Casa de Felipe were always happy ones, always a relief and a soft landing from the hard fall that is Taganga.

Room Tip: Room 26, private room and comfy for solo travellers :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubiaCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This is a great hostel, sociable but not overwhelmingly/annoyingly so. The social area is large, has plenty of hammocks and was not full of twenty something backpackers doing what twenty something backpackers tend to do when concentrated in a small area (nothing wrong with this in general, those days have gone for me though). Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great crepes too.
For the price this place deserves 5 stars.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank CharlestonTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

My boyfriend and I spent 9 nights here in between visiting Bogota and Medellin.
Our private garden suite with kitchenette and bathroom was a perfect place to relax, cook, write, bird watch and chill with the Casa cats .The short uphill walk from town is worth it and the design of the place is a perfect combination of open gathering spaces and private areas. The overall attention to detail is evident in the building construction, furniture, staff interactions, cleaning services and the delicious juices and drinks at the restaurant bar. The Mirador/top floor viewing area is great place to watch the bay, village and birds at different times of the day.
Taganga Beach isn't pristine, but the water is nice and if you arrive early in the morning, it can be quiet. Shop for groceries at the local tienda Fruvar (for local prices) and have coffee at Cafe Bonsai (they are very skilled and passionate about their craft).
Our only negative comment is related to one of the hostals next door and the amount of noise coming from their top floor speakers at varying times of the day and night. Occasionally, it ruined the peaceful atmosphere.
We will definitely return to La Casa de Felipe because it will feel like visiting an old friend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

this hostel is more like a hotel. they have a restaurant which serves good food, snacks like crepes all day long and fresh juices. the staff is more than kind, they organized all trips for us, provided help whenever needed and offered free breakfast after night 4. they are also very flexible and hospitable. the hostel itself is very clean and offers a nice area to chill. the rooms are not too small although the mattress is pretty hard. definitely recommendable!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice and spacious hostal with nice size dorms. The set up of the whole hostal is just nice. With a large garden area and rooftop terrace. Sadly..
Lockers are a bit to small to put in laptop. You pay everything on the spot from the restaurant and it takes forever and tastes..oke. but the thing that was freaking annoying was that the wifi was horrible. Even for colombian standards..that is saying a lot. Other hostals in the neighbourhood have a pool. This one sadly does not. But it is still a nice hostal. Maybe the wifi will be better now...

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rdam413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I have been travelling in South America for nearly 3 years now, and this is one of my favourite hostel experiences, having now stayed twice. I go to Taganga to dive (and for the nearby attractions), but I stay at Casa de Felipe because of the ambience, the friendly staff, and the cleanliness. It's lively but not a party scene.

It is well designed, with plenty of space to find your own corner - or "casually" find yourself amongst other travelers you may want to meet - plus a separate floor for the guest kitchen and eating area, and then there's the mirador. Hammocks, seating and tables throughout. The rooms are comfortable, each with their own en suite bathroom. Comfortable beds.

Best of all, it's in a quiet part of town but just a 5-10 minute walk from the beach. If you are diving in Taganga this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a dorm close to the main area if you want wifi from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kissthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel for three days to visit Tayrona Park. The hostel helps you to find the perfect tours, is really clean, offers good food, has freindly staff and is really beautiful. In the relax zone you can swing in hammocks while watching the sunset over the ocean. One problem: there are NO mosquito nets in the rooms. So i got stung by so many mosquitoes... otherwise i really recommend a stay there.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.3 km away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
177 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Benjamin Taganga
Hotel Benjamin Taganga
#11 of 12 in Taganga
95 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
#12 of 73 in Taganga
203 reviews
0.4 km away
Hostal Casa Relax
Hostal Casa Relax
#3 of 73 in Taganga
60 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostal Techos Azules
Hostal Techos Azules
#26 of 73 in Taganga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Felipe

Address: CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Taganga
Price Range: $17 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de Felipe 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel "La Casa de Felipe" is situated in Taganga, just 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. It's located in the upper part of the village, seven minutes walk from the beach. It's ideal for relaxing on the terrace after a day of excursions to Tayrona Park, The Lost City, diving, or on the beach. We offer dormitories, private rooms with private bathroom and studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa de Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Felipe Hotel Taganga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing