We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
106
70
23
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
70
23
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lemon tart sticky toffee pudding have eaten here duck bed and breakfast an evening meal for sunday lunch nice room accommodation chilterns beams starters heathrow corridor
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 213 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2017

This is a 15th century pub so lots of low beams, stair cases and creaks! But tons of character in a great rural setting with lots of country walking nearby. Room was great and set in a suitable style for the building. Lots of towels and bathroom goodies and a huge bath. Just perfect for what we wanted. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicked2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We had such a delicious meal here. Hearty, tasty food and such generous portions and very reasonably priced.

The staff were so courteous and unflappable even as the venue got busier and busier.

Impressed. Will return!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank RachelHH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016

Had the special lobster dinner option as some friends live in the area and recommend the restaurant and so we met up there. It was great, lovely people and such a nice pub. Definitely worth the two or three course menu option - such a good deal!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for work, the reception was very nice and shown to the room. Room was great and very tastefully done with all that you would expect in a hotel. Comfy bed with nice breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Andrew_howitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Decided to stay overnight before a meeting nearby, and arrived (Sunday) at 5pm to find the restaurant packed and very busy; booked a table for 6.30pm (last orders at 6.45pm on Sundays), and went upstairs to a 'recently modernised room 5', ie grey carpet, dark grey striped curtains with eyes on rail, light grey walls, rather black petite bathroom (nb shower); large and very comfortable double bed. Returned downstairs for dinner, noting rather drab and poor paint condition staircase, and difficult steep bottom section of staircase, last steps of carpet very grubby indeed.
Photos do not show the proximity of two roads, as the Nags Head is right on a corner, with room 5 facing a normally busy road (though fortunately quieter on that Sunday night)
On arrival into restaurant, it was a different world, with very pleasant traditional décor, much quieter, and good atmosphere; good menus choices of starters, mostly roast style main courses, and very tempting desserts. So tempting, that my colleague (room 6) and I shared a platter of Mediterranean meats etc - very tasty - and then a dessert each, followed by coffees. The closing time was very flexible, and the staff excellent.
My colleague was awoken by a vehicle arriving into the car park at around 3.30 am which was a delivery of vegetables!! His room, no.6, apparently had a smaller double bed. Breakfast was delicious, freshly prepared, with plenty of choices, and good size servings, with a very pleasant waitress.
We booked through Alasdair Sawdays, which we have used on many occasions, and I was disappointed in the accommodation element against previous experiences, and given the price.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews