We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
107
70
23
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
70
23
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lemon tart sticky toffee pudding have eaten here duck bed and breakfast an evening meal sunday lunch fresh fruit nice room accommodation chilterns beams starters heathrow corridor
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 214 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in room 6, a small room at the rear of the hotel, very quiet stay.
It was very interesting using the toilet, situated in a very narrow area, if you were a little on the 'large' side forget this room, you would need to find another toilet!
The bed was ok, although the wooden frame was a little annoying.
The room, and the rest of the place was very clean, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was excellent, really excellent, one of the best we have ever had. A little on the pricey side, but that was our fault for booking via Expedia, seeing what the Nags Head got paid we should have rang them direct for a better deal. All in all a good stay, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Great evening last night with excellent food, great wine recommendations and top service from the front of house team.
It was only second time we have eaten there in the last couple months but got a great welcome and a relaxed friendly service throughout. Definitely recommend here for a great meal.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017

This is a lovely little place, the staff are amazing, the food even better, however the room we stayed in was disappointing.
We have booked to stay in dozens of hotels up and down the country, and keep them all withing a price range and have stayed in some stunning places. This hotel was a little more than what we normally pay and so we were expecting great things.
Whilst the pub, gardens and restraunt are indeed outstanding we were so disappointed with our room.
The double bed was placed within a slim area within the bedroom, so when you stood up out the bed (which was difficult enough because of the slightly raised wooden sides) you stood up to face a wall, both sides.
This was very suffocating and made the room feel much smaller than its already small dimensions.
The bathroom was equally small,with the toilet slotted into a space that was just wider than the loo itself.
Whilst the room was clean and well presented, when compared to other hotels we have stayed in for much less, this room was not good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tidger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

Friendly, welcoming, efficient staff, comfortable room and pleasant decor, very comfy bed, great breakfast and a superb dinner what's not to like! I suppose it might be noisy if busy or full, but we were there on a Sunday night and last food orders were at 7.00 so it was a peaceful evening.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank 649maggie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

The age and location of this beautiful old country pub makes it a very desirable place to stay. It is located on a fairly quiet road and therefore traffic noise is not really an issue at the time of year we stayed there. Our room overlooked the back of the pub, was very quiet and the view picturesque. The room was equipped with all the facilities one could want including an additional heater (that was not required), an iron, drink making facilities, free wifi and a flat screen TV. The en suite bathroom was small, smart and had an excellent shower. My only criticisms were that the room appeared a little shabby in places where the emulsion had been badly touched in with the incorrect colour paint and the side of the washbasin was dirty. The cleaner had obviously not viewed the basin properly, e.g. from sitting on the toilet pan. Although the bed was a standard double, it was very comfortable but we would have personally preferred a king size bed. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very attentive and helpful. In summary very pleasant though a little shabby in places for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back e.g. room 7.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morganbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews