We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A​​ wonderful 16th century pub in the quaint village of Great Missenden. Set in the Chiltern Hills this little gem offers great food, sourced from the best local suppliers and is the perfect setting to quench your thirst after exploring the historic village and the picturesque Misbourne Valley.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a great Sunday lunch. Lovely relaxed friendly atmosphere. With great food an enjoyable experience all round

Thank Velda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Owner at Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much we hope to see you again soon.
Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

The "proper" pies certainly lived up to the promise. Chiltern Charcuterie plate amazing. Desserts delicious and melt in the mouth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Owner at Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you so much for the review.
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This pub is conveniently situated in the High Street of Great Missenden, but the parking space is limited and at times the spaces available require a careful manoever to be able to park safely.
We use it to meet a friend for lunch and usually manage to find something which appeals on the menu.
The prices are reasonable but a 10% service charge is added to the bill as a matter of course.

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Owner at Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Hello
Thank you for you comments. The car park has about 12 spaces and depending if we are busy it may be full but at least a high street pub/restaurant has parking available and normally you can get a space and the spaces are of the required size

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Peaceful dining, good food and attentive service. Recommend for dinner! Local ales are a bonus. We had burgers, veggie and chicken - both were yummy and plentiful.

Thank Lagle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Owner at Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you very much for the review
Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We wandered into this unassuming pub for no better reason than it's closest to the (pretty average) Missenden Abbey hotel.

Very pleased we did.

Not expecting much I was very pleasantly suprised that someone came over to greet us, told us to take a table outside and we'll come out and serve you....not the usual attitude of fend for yourself, come and queue up and woe betide you if you forget your table number. That really set the tone.

Breakfast in Missenden Abbey stops early on Sunday because for sure nobody wants a lie in and extra time for hangover recovery....so we asked the chap who was looking after us if he knew anywhere for a decent breakfast.

Instead of just rattling off a few names he went on the internet, printed off a menu and also wrote directions to Wild Strawberry Cafe and took the time to walk us through it, what they serve and why he thought we might prefer it.

I have to say - a really warm, welcoming and engaging way to do something so simple and do it with pride.

Turns out this chap, Stuart, is the owner...and his warm and welcoming character certainly influences the culture of the rest of the staff and his attention to detail comes through in the kitchen as well.

Strongly recommended.

1  Thank Stef_Raft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, Owner at Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you Stef for the review and I am pleased you enjoyed some of your time in the village and I hope the breakfast was also up to my recommendation
Regards Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen also viewed

Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
 
Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire
Great Kingshill, High Wycombe
 

Been to Cross Keys Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing