We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
23
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min walk golden retriever pre order the ground floor old world charm first floor kasauli market living room the main road manki point hustle bustle comfortable stay hill station hosts playful hillside cantonment
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Cheers to Ms Rachna ( the Hostess), her daughter (who engaged me in flower decoration as a family ceremony was on), Ibi the Golden retriever ( lovely, playful but with an attitude of her own) and Vicky their help who was most helpful in making our stay comfortable and last but not the least to Rachna's Grandfathers Grandfather who buil this villa around 150- 170
years back.
Just spent the Easter weekend at the Kashi villa and had a great time away from the hustle bustle of the town,yet a 20 minutes walk from it.
Most of the reviews above are quite true but what made the difference for us was..

a) the warmth and pleasant personality of the Hostess who not only guided us on what all to do but also was always available for any queries we had.

b) The awe of staying in a Villa built 150-180 years ago.

c) The view from the Villa sply at night when the Sanawar school located on the range across lights up the skyline

d) The open air Bar- Be -Que organised by Vicki. We had initially ordered only chicken but on Rachna's recommendation ordered the cheese stuffed potatoes and I could see how awesome they were by the fact that my daughter ignored the chicken once they were served!

Yes, the drive from the main road is a little steep and narrow and our car bcz of its width and low clearance could go only half way but smaller cars were easily cruising to the vila.
Yes the villa has only a small garden attached to it and rest of the 5 acres is all rocky and forested but then the views of the valley and ranges across are so gorgeous.
In our case housekeeping was done regularly

The hosts being members of Kasauli Club facilitated our day membership ( on payment) to the club where I by sheer luck came across batch mate after ages and we could all visit the Rhythm and Blues festival which was luckily underway in Kasauli

Overall I would say if one is looking for a break with a change and not stuck with 5 star service, this is a place worth trying .

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SanjayD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachna S, Owner at The Kashi Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

It was a pleasure having with you with us Sanjay and your lovely family with us. It was great meeting you and it feels great that you had a good time staying with us. The icing on the cake was meeting your batch mates / friends and attending the music fest.
Hoping to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Kashi villa is a 150 year old heritage villa located at a 20 min walk from the Kasauli market. It is a very pretty setting with nice views, a small lawn and garden. The room comes with a separate sitting room and modern bathroom. There is a menu for meals and you can pre-order, the food is excellent by the way. We were very happy with the service and would highly recommend this place if you are planning to stay in Kasauli.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NeeharP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

The pictures on the internet are misleading. There is no housekeeping provided and no one cleans the rooms. Therefore there were cockroaches in the rooms. Even the small garden area is not cleaned. Further, the access road is not paved and is a steep climb making stepping out a difficult task especially at night. In fact there are no lights provided to access the steep and curvy road to the villa.The internet projects it as a couple of acres of property but there is no usable place other than a small garden patch. However, Rachna is a warm person but she must address the above issues to improve the quality and experience of her place. She has only one person for cooking and serving, helping with the luggage etc. She must invest in more staff, provide housekeeping, clean the villa and garden, provide lights etc.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Prakash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachna S, Owner at The Kashi Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Thanks Praksah about the review. But i must refute some of the things that are not true.
We have put correct pictures and i very clearly mention it on the listings and the mail i send that the Kashi Villa is located in 5 acres of space. Ther is lots of wooded space around us. We are not a hotel and we do not have manicured gardens and we dont even clain to do so. We are a small homestay of two rooms .
We have a guy for housekeeping and serving, a cook ( whom you do not meet ) and another man friday to do all other jobs. We do housekeeping daily unless instructed otherwise. Also we do not have loads of lights everywhere but just lighting in and around the property.
In case we do decide to open it to be a larger place we would put more lights. We want to keep our carbon footprint low!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

The villa was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The service and staff is what makes this place so amazing. The 3 bedroom villa was a great fit for me and my friends. The food was definitely great and everyday breakfast was the best. It was definitely a great place to have a girls trip.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We drove up from Gurgaon on a Thursday morning with our Golden Retriever.
Reaching the Bungalow was fairly easy. One needs to take a left at Dharampur from the Himalayan Expressway and drive until you reach the Garkhal Crossroad. The Kashi Villa is just a kilometer away from the Grakhal crossroad on the Parwanoo-Kasauli Road. On the way to Kashi Villa, you cross their other property midway on the left - The Attic.
Once you reach the property the parking is inside the property on a fairly narrow driveway upto the cottage. From the point where you finally park, to the cottage is about a 3-5 minute uphill walk. It's not a difficult climb at all, however, elderly guests who are not habituated to uphill climbs may face a challenge.
We were greeted by Ibi, the super friendly resident Golden Retriever, who was looking down at us from her favorite spot, where she spends most of her day sitting. Our own Golden got quite excited at seeing Ibi and ran to greet her. They became good friends and played throughout the day during our stay there. I have added some photos of them together.
The cottage and our room was absolutely lovely. There are 2 sets of rooms on the ground floor which are let out. We stayed in the set facing North, overlooking the valley. There is another set facing South looking towards the gated entrance for the bungalow. The proprietors stay on the first floor. However, you barely even notice that they are there.
Our set of rooms included a bedroom, a living/dining room, a small kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, electric kettle, etc. and a modern renovated bathroom.
The bed was a huge old wooden bed with a very comfortable mattress, quilt and pillows.
The living room had a dining table, sofa set, center table and fireplace. It also had the most amazing little alcove where one can sit and just watch the valley below.
The kitchen and bathroom had hot water constantly available on tap.
Since our dog slept on the bed with us at night, we carried our own sheets and linen at the proprietor's request.
The bungalow is situated in almost 5 acres of hillside and one can choose to wander and walk around the property, or even go for a short walk up to the Mall Road and the Tibetan Heritage market. Distance to the Mall Road from the exit on top of the property is around 1 km. The walk to Mall Road is an uphill walk, but it's not too steep and easily manageable.
Food is available on pre-order at Kashi Villa and we loved the simple meals that were served. Most of the time, we used to have breakfast and lunch at the Kashi Villa, choosing to have our lunch somewhere in the town.
One must not forget to thank Vicky, the caretaker, who helped look after us while we stayed there. He is quite energetic and ready to help with whatever is needed at a moments notice.

Room tip: There are 2 sets of rooms. Choose the one facing North as this would give you views of the valley from your sitting room.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank YBNormal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews