We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse with time”
Review of Margao Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margao Residency
Ranked #11 of 21 Margao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I have stayed in this hotel twice earlier too. The place is getting old every day. GTDC seems to be doing nothing about it. Rooms were not very clean particularly the bathrooms. The only advantage is the location which is in the middle of the city. Station is around one km away. Local bus stand is close by and Kadamba Bus Stand is only two kms away. Staff is courteous. There was no wi-fi facility in the hotel. Had to buy a very expensive Gwave card for internet access.
Will avoid staying in this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Prefer to stay in Ac suite which is slightly better but price much higher than ac rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikramsolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2016

The Hotel is located in the city center and is run by GTDC.
Pros:
a)Location - 5*
b)In-House Restaurant. On sunday all the restaurants in the vicinity was shut and the restaurant in the hotel was the savior.
c)24 Hrs Hot Water facility
d)Shopping, transport facility in the vicinity.
e)Cordial Staff

Cons:
a)The rooms are not super clean, but manageable.
b)TV was not functioning properly.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhanva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple of friends. The room were basic, nothing much can be expected from a government owned hotel. The food at the restaurant was decent. The hotel is located close to the municipal garden which happens to be the heart of Margao city.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank KamalJonwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I was there with a friend on holiday, the room costed approx 1200 INR which was fine, the best is it is very safe for female travellers. It seems to have tie up with government tourism of Goa. They do have sight seeing arranged which covered north goa as well as south goa in two days in very reasonable tariff. Also has one restaurant which is fairly okay and the room service is good as well as the housekeeping services.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Stayed my last night in goa here.as its close to airport .and I had early morning flight.I have stayed here before.its expensive compared to hotels in benulim.which is only 100rps in rickshaw.and same price from benulim to airport in taxi700rps.its a basic Indian city hotel.staff are helpful enough.WiFi is costly100rps a hour.I won't stay in magaon bef!ore flying as its n

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank peterjplcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We had to stay here as a last minute resort. The bookings were done over the phone without any money transaction The previous day. The staff in the reception and housekeeping were courteous. However the room was a nightmare. Hard mattresses, blankets with burnt holes, rotting bathroom door, etc. the staff did supply us with extra pillows and sheets at request but though they looked clean, all of us developed itching allergies of the skin when we slipped under them that lasted the entire night.
It was quite a dissapointment

Room Tip: I was given a road facing room. I liked the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AnnaSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTDC-Goa, Assistant Manager at Margao Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Goa Tourism Development Corporation Ltd.!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. The inconvenience that you had experienced during your stay with us is indeed very disturbing. I have shared this with my management concerned and will ensure that this is not repeated.

Exceeding Guest expectation has been our constant endeavour. I would like to add that we are constantly upgrading our product to meet with the comfort levels expected by a modern day traveller.


Looking forward to welcome you back to Margao Residency

Warm regards,

Anil Dalal
Asst. Manager (Travel Division)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

South Goa centre, very close to market,veg and non-veg restaurants,bus stand,railway station, shopping and transport easily available. Good for middle class and those who do not want to spend much. Take the road side rooms to get a good view. It is a Goa government hotel. I love staying there because I can shop as much as I want. Rooms have balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Degosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margao
0.8 km away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#2 of 5 in Margao
69 reviews
1.8 km away
The Sapphire Comfort Hotel
2.9 km away
Sincro Hotel
Sincro Hotel
#4 of 5 in Margao
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nanutel Margao Hotel
Nanutel Margao Hotel
#1 of 5 in Margao
205 reviews
4.7 km away
Colva Residency
Colva Residency
#8 of 18 in Colva
188 reviews
0.9 km away
All Seasons Guest House
All Seasons Guest House
#3 of 38 in Margao
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margao Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margao Residency

Address: Near Municipal Council Building | opposite Margao Municipal Council, Margao 403601, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Margao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Margao
Price Range: C$23 - C$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margao Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Margao Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margao Residency Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing