We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HEAVENLY! An absolutely amazing experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Divar Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY! An absolutely amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I visited Devaaya (from Atlanta, Georgia) for seven nights in May of 2011. I was traveling alone and didn't really know what to expect so I had no expectations. Knowing that I wanted to stay an an ayurveda resort in Goa, I located Devaaya on Trip Advisor. I booked my stay completely by e-mail, and although I was nervous about whether or not someone would be there to pick me up at the airport, I had NOTHING to worry about!

Resort/Facility: The grounds are absolutely stunning and manicured to perfection. There are constantly people working to keep it this way, and their hard work is obvious and pays off. My room was very comfortable and had a lovely view (including a western toilet and hot water). I was in one of the two story villas overlooking a field and some of the river. Beautiful! All of the facilities were very well taken care of (breakfast area, yoga/meditation center, spa, pool) and very enjoyable. I spent a lot of time at the pool, and I wished I had brought more than one swim suit.

Staff: Where to start - the people at Devaaya are really what made my experience what it was. From my driver, to housekeepers, cooks, servers, instructors, tour guide, receptionist and of course the Manager, Amriita - they were all so hospitable, friendly and always willing to help and please. They truly made me feel very special with all of the attention and care. I deeply missed everyone the moment I left!

Food: Hands down, the best Indian food I've ever had, and potentially the best food ever. Everything is cooked in a very healthy style, but you would never know based on the taste. Every meal is different, although certain items will be repeated, which is FINE because you'll start to look forward to certain items. If you allowed based on the diet the doctor gives you, I highly recommend trying a little bit of everything they are serving at lunch and dinner, rather than just trying one or two things. Small portions of everything is the way to go! The teas offered at breakfast are also amazing - NO caffeine allowed though, so prepare yourself.

Divar Island/Goa day trips: Keep in mind that Devaaya is on a island, so you can't walk to a market or really anywhere for that matter. They don't really want you leaving for the entire day so that you can get both/all of your treatments and so that your diet/detox isn't interupted, but you really have to take day trips to see Goa. You can plan your treatments ahead of time around your day trip schedule. Check out the sunset and Anjuna and/or Vagator beach, Mapusa market on Fridays (my favorite thing!), Sakahari Spice Farm and elephant rides, Panjim market (and shopping that surrounds it). You need cash pretty much everywhere. I didn't bring travelers checks but just got all my money from ATM's.....the driver will take you to one anytime you need it.

Overall, I would highly recommend Devaaya to anyone who is looking for relaxation, detoxification, a sun tan, amazing service and incredible food. This resort is very laid back and just what I was in the need for. It was a dream come true and I will definitely go back! Next time, for longer than 7 days. Feel free to contact me with questions!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
25
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

This hotel is so quite. It's set on Divar Island, surrounded by fields. It has a wonderful pool, beautiful gardens, fabulous views. It is a meat/alcohol/coffee/tea free resort. The spa treatments are wonderful, but if you have issues with being naked in front of same sex people, I wouldn't go here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abellfairclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I spent 2 weeks in Davayya. Not enough!!!
I'll defenetly go back next year in the same season for at least 4 weeks. The standard room are very basic but very well equipped. The housekeeping is not exactly the top,(sometimes they forgot to clean up the floor in the room and also in the toilette!!!!!
The food is EXCELLENT, in 2 weeks I never had twice the same dish, but the waiters are very rude. That's too bad

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

I spent 2 weeks in Devaaya and it was truly wonderful. The staff were fanstastic and very attentive. The treatments were top quality. I would recommend this spa resort to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Really quite and peaceful resort - a hide away from the touristic spots in goa.
The atmosphere, the ayurveda-treatments and the stuff offered us a deep relaxing stay within one week. We loved this place very much and would recommend it to our friends.
For further improvement we recommended the management to deliver more space to have dinner outside. We would have also appreciated more peronal advice to continue the ayurvedic way of life back home.

  • Liked — quite and peaceful place
  • Disliked — only few tables to enjoy dinner outside
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MWBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

my friends and myself visited this resort . I will not recommend it to people, as my expirience was frustrating. for example, the room service requires 45 min. to 1 hr. for tea. same with other food ordered. the managent was very unfriendly and not so forthcoming.
in all, after travelling around the world, i would not sugggest this resort...(it is my personal opinion)
regards

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank durga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devaaya, Sales & Marketing Executive at Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2010
The review is of stay dated January 2007 when Devaaya was just taken over by new management and was in the initial stages. In these two years Devaaya has grown and changed so much, recently in October 2009 we have introduced Naturopathy therapies as well to benefit more people. We can assure you that your stay at Devaaya will be fulfilling and satisfying as we will help you to recover, rejuvenate & relax in serene surroundings along with authentic Ayurveda and Naturopathy therapies.
We appreciate all feedback as it helps us in serving you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton,north yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

After almost 15 years and some 20 plus visits of 2-3 weeks to Goa we tripped over this gem of a retreat,on the mid river island of Diwar...easily accessed by a 3minute ferry we found this amazing cluster of cottages around wonderful gardens,great staff who were only to happy to help with all our needs.
Daily transport to Panjim/airport pickup and a transfer to anothet hotel after our four day stay ,all of these services were included in a great value package.
Food was great,breakfast/lunch and dinner included,,selection from a mini buffet put together for us But best of all the Staff from Melvynn the lovely Manager through to all the restaurant staff,gardeners and room cleaners were so very friendly and attentive....we met Madam Sylvia who we discovered was one of the family owners and she very graciously gave us the history of the retreat and reinforced our very positive vibes about Devaaya...

Many many thanks to you all for an amazing four day break in one of the best places we have visited in India and indeed in this small world......

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divar Island
25.8 km away
Wildernest
Wildernest
#1 of 1 in Chorla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
12.0 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.3 km away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#15 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
14.9 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.9 km away
Divar Island Guest House Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre

Property: Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre
Address: Malar | 35 kms from Goa's International Airport, Divar Island 403403, India (Formerly Devaaya Ayurveda Retreat)
Region: India > Goa > Divar Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Divar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devaaya – “ Divine Healing” is Goa’s only Ayurveda & Nature Cure Centre which provides traditional Ayurveda & Naturopathy therapies in a modern, luxurious and relaxing environment. The Centre has traditional Goan style villas situated on the idyllic island of Divar easily accessible by drive-in river ferry, surrounded by lush greenery and the cool blue waters of the river Mandovi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Devaaya Ayurveda & Nature cure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devaaya - Ayurveda Retreat Hotel Divar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing