We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening! ”
Review of Te Mao Rangiroa

Te Mao Rangiroa
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Avatoru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner
Description: Te Mao is the first Lounge Bar in Rangiroa, we propose cocktails, beers, wine and a selection of French Tapas (appetizer, meat, fish, dessert). Come and discover this cosy and "chic" place with confortable sofa in a nice and quiet garden where we have mixed modern and polynesian traditionnal architecture.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at this place of Patrick and his lovely wife! Food is excellent and they serve quite some delicatesses (eg kangaroo meat!). Great choice of drinks - I had a mojito with fresh mint from their own garden! Definitely recommend this bar! We had a terrific time! Pick up from your hotel is included!

Thank IrinaJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Thanks a lot Irina it was a pleasure to chat with you and your husband. A good time for us too.
Take care.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2018

Really enjoyed dining and chatting with Patrick and Sophie. Food was excellent and varied. (wife cannot eat seafood) Really unbelievable beer selection (you're in the middle of the pacific ocean, but can try beers you've never had) Patrick picked up/dropped off at Kia Ora. Really recommend going.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you for you encouragement Mark, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family, a nice evening for us too.
You know now that if you need more sunny days than rainy ones you can come back in French Polynesia ;-)
Hope to see you, take care.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

For our last night in Rangiroa we were recommended by the dive shop to go to Te Mao (means hammerhead). Conveniently it was walking distance from our hotel (Mai Tai). The owners, French husband and wife team, were lovely and welcoming and have done a fantastic job transforming the garden setting into something stylish but laid back. The menu was tapas style plates of meat vs fish/seafood - we decided to get both a starter and main plate each as the selection sounded so interesting. My partner loved his veal scallopine, duck and kangaroo. My fish/seafood as just as interesting and tasty - favourites being with raw tuna w wasabi cream and passionfruit, smoked swordfish. This was by far the best meal we had on the island and the most welcoming service. Also it was the most reasonably priced. We will definitely be back next time we are in Rangiroa - and look forward to trying the dessert tapas next time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thanks a lot !
It was really nice to meet you and it's not so often that we have kiwis in Rangiroa.
We are waiting for you next july.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant twice while we were in Rangiroa. I would highly recommend. The owners are amazing and will cater to all your needs. Great atmosphere and food. Make sure to stop here for dinner while in Rangiroa.

Thank Ahmed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you Ahmed, it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife in our restaurant. Enjoy the rest of your trip on Moorea.
Patrick and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2017

Our diving instructor recommended to visit the bar/restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice and the food looks delicious although the portions are rather small (tapas style). We were interested in beers and were shown a chalkboard listing the different beer types. All of the beers were imported and prices were outrageously expensive in our opinion. (We are aware that everything has to be shipped to the island and that there might be high taxes.) After having paid for our beer we noticed that there was another menu offering local beer for one third of the price. The owner did not give us the printed menu instead he just showed us the board with the special beer selection. We thought this is all they have on the menu. Of course, we could have asked for local beer. Nevertheless it felt like a tourist trap! If I enter a restaurant it would be nice to see the complete menu and not just the specials. A plus, the owner picks you up and drops you off if you order dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Hi HPConny, I am sorry and extremely disapointed that you felt trapped. And honestly I don't understand because when we receive our guests we always present the drinks with a list including 100 cocktails (with or whitout alcohol), wines, soft drinks and local beers. Plus a chalkboard with imported beers if people want to try something else. All the prices are written and we have never forced anyone to choose only imported beers.
We are in French Polynesia so of course I've got the local beer, I have a freezing chest full of it in the middle of the bar. Once again we are sorry that you had a bad experience but I think that your review and score is unnecessarily harsh and saying that our restaurant is a tourist trap is insulting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Mao Rangiroa also viewed

Avatoru, Rangiroa
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 

Been to Te Mao Rangiroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing