We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable enchanting dinner at Te Mao!”
Review of Te Mao Rangiroa

Te Mao Rangiroa
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Avatoru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Description: Te Mao is the first Lounge Bar in Rangiroa, we propose cocktails, beers, wine and a selection of French Tapas (appetizer, meat, fish, dessert). Come and discover this cosy and "chic" place with confortable sofa in a nice and quiet garden where we have mixed modern and polynesian traditionnal architecture.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

What a beautiful experience dining at Te Mao. Truly like dining in a friend's beautiful backyard, and the food, was the best we had on the island! My husband, son and I enjoyed the tartines appetizer which included a variety of delicious breads and various spreads. For our entrees we all ordered the poisson selection which included 5 different varieties of fish including mahi mahi, smoked swordfish, a beautifully prepared turine of channel fish, red tuna, and a coconut milk shrimp. WOW! For dessert, we shared an assortment of decadent brownies, a nut nougat dessert, and a lemon crepe. The beer list was extensive, and the drinks were delicious!

Patrick and Sophie are so friendly, and they even provided transportation from our hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RileyA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Thank you, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family in Te Mao.
We are happy that Te Mao is a good souvenir of Rangiroa and French Polynesia.
We hope to see you again.
Take care.

Patrick and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at this place of Patrick and his lovely wife! Food is excellent and they serve quite some delicatesses (eg kangaroo meat!). Great choice of drinks - I had a mojito with fresh mint from their own garden! Definitely recommend this bar! We had a terrific time! Pick up from your hotel is included!

Thank IrinaJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Thanks a lot Irina it was a pleasure to chat with you and your husband. A good time for us too.
Take care.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

Really enjoyed dining and chatting with Patrick and Sophie. Food was excellent and varied. (wife cannot eat seafood) Really unbelievable beer selection (you're in the middle of the pacific ocean, but can try beers you've never had) Patrick picked up/dropped off at Kia Ora. Really recommend going.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you for you encouragement Mark, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family, a nice evening for us too.
You know now that if you need more sunny days than rainy ones you can come back in French Polynesia ;-)
Hope to see you, take care.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

For our last night in Rangiroa we were recommended by the dive shop to go to Te Mao (means hammerhead). Conveniently it was walking distance from our hotel (Mai Tai). The owners, French husband and wife team, were lovely and welcoming and have done a fantastic job transforming the garden setting into something stylish but laid back. The menu was tapas style plates of meat vs fish/seafood - we decided to get both a starter and main plate each as the selection sounded so interesting. My partner loved his veal scallopine, duck and kangaroo. My fish/seafood as just as interesting and tasty - favourites being with raw tuna w wasabi cream and passionfruit, smoked swordfish. This was by far the best meal we had on the island and the most welcoming service. Also it was the most reasonably priced. We will definitely be back next time we are in Rangiroa - and look forward to trying the dessert tapas next time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thanks a lot !
It was really nice to meet you and it's not so often that we have kiwis in Rangiroa.
We are waiting for you next july.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant twice while we were in Rangiroa. I would highly recommend. The owners are amazing and will cater to all your needs. Great atmosphere and food. Make sure to stop here for dinner while in Rangiroa.

Thank Ahmed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you Ahmed, it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife in our restaurant. Enjoy the rest of your trip on Moorea.
Patrick and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Mao Rangiroa also viewed

Avatoru, Rangiroa
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 

Been to Te Mao Rangiroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing