We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy bar”
Review of Te Mao Rangiroa

Te Mao Rangiroa
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Avatoru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Description: Te Mao is the first Lounge Bar in Rangiroa, we propose cocktails, beers, wine and a selection of French Tapas (appetizer, meat, fish, dessert). Come and discover this cosy and "chic" place with confortable sofa in a nice and quiet garden where we have mixed modern and polynesian traditionnal architecture.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile



This bar is so trendy. It is in this beautiful backyard with a bunch of outdoor seating, a manicured garden, and cool sculptures with great lighting. I could see it in some metropolitan city as a great break from the big city life but no it's in tiny Rangiora

The bar is owned by a husband and wife who noticed a need whole one their honeymoon years ago. If you call for a hotel pickup, it's the husband who comes and gets you.

The bar is stocked with true Belgium. It was really impressive. I don't know the connection but I enjoyed it.

There are a couple of tapas that the wife makes here self. There is a cheese platter: decent. The real gems are the meat platters. There is a land meat platter that has fun prepations of pork, beef, chicken, and even Kangaroo! The fish platter was even more spectacular.

Thank Nolan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for your nice review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife in Te Mao.
Take care.
Sophie and Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018

This is by far the best restaurant in Rangiroa. The menu is simple but delicious and the drinks are excellent. More importantly, Sophie and Patrick (the owners) are incredibly nice. The didn't only explained the menu in detail but also told us about their life in Rangiroa and recommended places to visit in Tahiti and even offered to drive us back to our hotel. Definitely a must go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbaraddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thank's a lot, it was a pleasure to meet you and to share a bit of the French Polynesian life.
Take care.

Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. We stayed three days in Rangiroa and went twice to this place.

Instead of a normal single main course you get a sort of degustation of 5 plates. You can choose the fish or the meat menu. Both are great while the price remains very fair!

The ambiance is also great and combined with the menu style it’s a very good place for a happy hour as well (great and large beer selection)

1  Thank Isis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thanks a lot, it was a pleasure to chat with you two.
We hope to see you again.
Take care.

Patrick and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018

What a beautiful experience dining at Te Mao. Truly like dining in a friend's beautiful backyard, and the food, was the best we had on the island! My husband, son and I enjoyed the tartines appetizer which included a variety of delicious breads and various spreads. For our entrees we all ordered the poisson selection which included 5 different varieties of fish including mahi mahi, smoked swordfish, a beautifully prepared turine of channel fish, red tuna, and a coconut milk shrimp. WOW! For dessert, we shared an assortment of decadent brownies, a nut nougat dessert, and a lemon crepe. The beer list was extensive, and the drinks were delicious!

Patrick and Sophie are so friendly, and they even provided transportation from our hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RileyA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Thank you, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family in Te Mao.
We are happy that Te Mao is a good souvenir of Rangiroa and French Polynesia.
We hope to see you again.
Take care.

Patrick and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at this place of Patrick and his lovely wife! Food is excellent and they serve quite some delicatesses (eg kangaroo meat!). Great choice of drinks - I had a mojito with fresh mint from their own garden! Definitely recommend this bar! We had a terrific time! Pick up from your hotel is included!

Thank IrinaJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te_Mao, Propriétaire at Te Mao Rangiroa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Thanks a lot Irina it was a pleasure to chat with you and your husband. A good time for us too.
Take care.
Sophie and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Mao Rangiroa also viewed

Avatoru, Rangiroa
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 
Avatoru, Rangiroa
 

Been to Te Mao Rangiroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing