We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
78
71
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
71
22
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis academyfitness facilitiesshaped poolfrench rivierashower headbusiness tripquiet hotelhotel gueststech parksmall balconynice airportsophiapoolsspabeachcomberwilliamsantibes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018

I wonder where all the people rating this hotel with excellent and very good had been staying?
Our family booked two weeks (2 rooms) and I can only say: "never again"!
The director couldn't care less about complaints (is more interested in showing off his blue Porsche and making a lot of noise when driving along the driveway).
The rooms are with single glass and no insolation. As such one can hear every single vehicle that drives along the road which is some 100 meters from the hotel entrance. Also, the breakfast is mediocre. Especially that dogs are allowed to enter the breakfast area is a first for us. Where is the hygiene in this!
The staff making the rooms somehow have their own system respectively agenda. Rooms are done as and when it pleases the housekeeping people and are rather unfriendly and don't really speak English, French or German.
Overall the infrastructure is rather low end, the staff is pretty much superficial and non professional. We guess that the place is benefiting primarily from the good reputation of the tennis academy which is next door and over time became very complacent.

At best we would give this hotel 2 stars!
Energy efficiency is zero. Aircon can hardly cope with the high temperature. Especially when the sun is shining strait onto the windows. Very poor insulation!

Room Tip: There seem not to be any quiet rooms as window quality is lousy.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andeschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella F, Responsable relations clients at Beachcomber French Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Mr andeschmid,

We are really surprised to read this comments, which are quite not objective. We can only imagine you wrote all this while you were upset.
Furthermore, we think that your personal remarks about our General Manager are inappropriate and gratuitous: first of all, he is the one to be primarily concerned about our guests’ well-being; secondly, we wonder how his personal taste in cars would affect your holiday.
We are also surprised that you wrote this comment now, while you are still halfway through your stay.
Since your arrival, you have met several people in charge: myself (Duty Manager), the Deputy Manager and the General Manager. All of us have immediately taken action in order to satisfy your requests, such as: cleaning your room at 9:15 sharp every morning, giving you a total priority among 155 rooms (while our housekeeping service can be done until 4:30 pm); checking your wifi because your laptop - and not our wifi - was not working; asking another guest with a small dog to have his breakfast on the terrace in order not to disturb you and your family.
Regarding what you have written about our staff, it is just worth noting that all the members of our team work hard every day and do their best at every moment to satisfy our guest, making sure that all of them have an excellent stay.
We still remain available, until the end of your stay, to meet you again, listen to your comments directly and find solutions to improve your stay. However, if you are disappointed with our hotel and want to leave earlier, we will be at your disposal to help you finding another accommodation which is more suitable to your demands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We came for 5 nights without understanding the link between the hotel and the world class Mouratoglou Tennis Academy adjoining. If you love tennis (playing and watching), the gym, fitness classes and with a kids club and a good pool or two then this is a fabulous place for you. If that’s not all you want you must have a car to strike out for Antibes, Monaco and Cannes otherwise it’s quite isolated, in France’s equivalent of Silicon Valley - a science and technology industrial area.

The hotel itself is a curate’s egg. Parts of the hotel feel just a 4* - the buffet arrangements and choices and bedrooms for example - but other parts, like the Restaurant and Bar feel proper 5*. Indeed the restaurant, run by the hugely friendly and attentive new manager Xavier (and some great staff like Noe), is a real jewel. Really good food and excellent value; thank you Xavier for making our suppers feel so special.

So if you love tennis and sport it’s a 4* plus place. If you don’t it’s good but take a car to get out. And either way use the restaurant!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MitchieMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella F, Responsable relations clients at Beachcomber French Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear MitchieMitch,

We are happy you liked our facilities like our Restaurant Le Central and our Lounge Bar. Our restaurant team is very thankful for your kind words. As we are actually a 4* hotel, we are proud to hear that you rated some of our services worth a 5* hotel!
You will be always welcome here. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Miles from the beach, and on the edge of a commercial / industrial area (though you’d really never know once inside) this hotel looks great if you want to play tennis. I was there on a business trip so I’m not so sure it was the best choice. There was clearly a tennis academy going on so there were plenty of young budding tennis stars wandering the corridors from very early in the morning. I had a balcony room which overlooked the car park. The room was good apart from the bathroom which had one of the worst hotel showers I’ve seen for a while - just a mixer bath tap and a small hand held shower head.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella F, Responsable relations clients at Beachcomber French Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear James T,

Thank you for your feedback. I confirm that our hotel is part of a sport resort, hosting a tennis academy, 2 swimming pools, 2 restaurants, a bar and plenty of facilities. Our customer base is varied: we have families who want to play tennis, couples who are here to enjoy pools, spa and visiting the region, and businessmen who want to stay in a modern designer hotel, once they are off from work, and use our gym, enjoy a drink on the terrace overlooking the pool, or have a nice dinner at our à la carte restaurant.
Our business guests are roughly 50% of our clients: many of them are repeaters and our hotel is their second home.
We are sorry you did not like the view and you did not inform our reception; they would have been happy to propose you a room with a different view; and regarding our bathtub and showers, these are present in all our Superior Rooms. If you prefer a separate shower, please be informed that our Executives rooms feature separate shower and bath.
We truly hope you will visit us again and discover our resort under a new light. Thankk you again for sharing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

A good place to stay when attending the Mouratoglou Tennis Academy or for business in the area. Pleasant staff, good food in the restaurant but service not the quickest. We liked the standard room where we staid on an earlier occassion much better than the junior suite where we staid this time, the room was in need of renovation and had a smell of wear and tear and who knows what else.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 945hjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella F, Responsable relations clients at Beachcomber French Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Mr. 945hjv,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review. We apologise if the restaurant service was not quick enough (we are working on getting better!), but we are happy to hear that you liked our staff and our cuisine. Regarding the room, I would like to clarify what is probably a misunderstanding. You staid in Junior Suite 360; now the room is recently renovated, it is our highest category room and the one preferred by our VIP guests like top tennis players and managers. However, during the first week of may, we had some works on the roofs nearby. Maybe the "wear and tear" you smelled was actually a faint whiff of paint. Since you only staid with us one day, we did not get a chance to meet, otherwise I would have given you a clarification or found a suitable solution.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and giving me the opportunity to explain.
I truly hope you are going to visit us again in the future: I will be really happy to show you our Junior Suite again and, hopefully, make you change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

I stay here for business and find it very good. The breakfast is great and it is close to the office. There is also a good gym here, although it opens a little late for my taste. The rooms are ok size and I especially like the large desk. Beds are very comfy. I always sleeps very good in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabella F, Responsable relations clients at Beachcomber French Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Peter V,

We are truly happy that you appreciated our hotel and its facilities, espacially our rooms and our comfortable beds.
We hope you are going to visit us in the near future; we will be glad to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews