We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
4
9
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
9
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Apart from being in a beautiful place nothing is good, The name says it all Burra mean Bad ,for a bad experience you can surely go to this place, after this experience I don't think any thing can beat this...
As we arrived @2:00 pm we were made to wait and were alloted rooms,three of which didn't have any lights and ac wasn't working the maintanence guy had had come after 4 hours and he finally fixed the problem but unfortunately we had to face the brunt of misery and added to it he said AC mein gas nahi hain ,which cannot be fixed..
The sahib bungalow is more of a homestay but the charges for lunch and dinner (700 rs)which has a fixed menu (no option of choice of what we want)is unwarranted .. service and taste both are pathetic. Adding to the stay is the water and tea , coffee which you have breakfast ,lunch ,dinner is charged Extra ... They even charge you extra if you have anything outside the dining area!!!! Any of the above is not mentioned and only you become aware when you settle the bill.
No one is responsible for any service except when they want us to clear the bill...
P.s : they served us fungus cultured bread for breakfast and when asked it was a high holiday so we had to use the stale bread from God knows where..

Beware of the BURRA Sahib Bungalow unless you love the taste of fungus

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Dhiraj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

In my 30years of travel life, this resort has to top the WORST resorts I have ever visited. The expenditure that has been made for it's advertisement should have been actually spent on hiring better human resources. We had to wait for 45mins but no one came forward to take our orders. When we did manage to place our order for fresh lime soda, it arrived another one and half hour later and that too after repeated enquiry from our end. What was worst was that few people were playing golf and they were "disturbed" by our chatter which is quite common if friends come together. And the person in charge of the event had the audacity to shout at us and ask us to keep quite. That brings me to this suggestion-
YOU EITHER RUN A HOTEL OR A GOLF COURSE. Both can't be functional at the same time.If you have an open restaurant then there are bound to be customers and the obvious chaos will accompanying it. Just because someone is playing golf how can you shut up your customers? How irrational! (No, there were no signs asking to maintain silence or to inform us that such an event was going on. Nor did the person in charge came in asked us to maintain silence which we would have happily obliged if he had asked us politely). I did give a piece of my mind to the Manager and he apologised but I wasn't convinced. I am sorry but your apology didn't appear genuine and with no immediate action.
One star is cause they won't post my review if I don't rate.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank Geetanjali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Nestled among lush green tea estates, full of nostalgia, this is a place worth staying. It takes you back to the old days of Tea garden Manager's lifestyle.
Old charm is maintained to the extent possible while adding modern comforts. The resort staff is very courteous and prompt. Food is good only if proper if instructions are given. The small bar is great and cozy.
Rooms are ordinary, could have been made much better. Toiletries are CHEAP, VERY CHEAP in fact. An area which needs to be improved.
Mr N Chatterjee, the GM and Mr Deb, the Manager are helpful and takes great care.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank devachakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

The erstwhile bungalow of the famous Assamese tea planter Hemen Barooah, Burra Sahib's Bungalow is located amidst lush tea gardens about an hour's drive from both Jorhat and Kaziranga. Truth be told, we went there with the sole aim of having lunch on its green lawns and we weren't disappointed. Being a Sunday, there were other day visitors like us, so there was a slight delay in the food being served. The food however was quite good.

Later we made a trip to the Banyan Grove for tea and to check out their famous banyan tree.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Delhi_Day-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2015

Nestled amongst the tea gardens, this is a beautiful property with a well maintained golf course. Did not stay overnight but had a stopover for lunch. Food of course is not out of the world, but decent food served with a lot of care. The ambiance is simply wonderful. The individual cottages, which we checked, had all the modern amenities and was very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudarshana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews