We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best budget hotel that you can find in Shimoga” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jewel Rock

Hotel Jewel Rock
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jewel Rock
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best budget hotel that you can find in Shimoga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This must be the best budget hotel that you can find in Shimoga. I did call them up and confirmed the availability before i even travelled from Bangalore. I reached Shimoga in the early morning 3.45 AM (volvo from bangalore) and reached the Hotel in an auto (25-30/-). Though all were sleeping, they were happy to wake up and welcome me as soon as i arrived and provided the room quickly. The rooms were really big and it was very comfirtable. The bed spreads were clean and neat and so was the room. The hotel also has 1 veg restaurant and 1 non veg restarutant + bar within . The room costed me 780/- (with tax) per night and I stayed there for 2 nights and i would say that was the best that you could ever stop in Shimoga town.

It is 1.5 Km away from the bus stand and 3.5 Km from the railway station. As it is a very popular hotel, the auto drivers would easily drop you there..

Have a good trip

Room Tip: i did not get a chance to choose between rooms ; but i assume it must be good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vipin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    41
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
40
6
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room was neat. About 1-2km distance from the centre of the town though.
The room service was prompt and good. Food was ok. The place has a little rustic look with ample parking. Residential surroundings.
The receptionist took a thousand rupee note and a few minutes later insisted that it was only a 500 rupee note. I ended up paying 500 more. So please be sure and mention the amount before handing over to the reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinngala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Probably one of the best hotel of Shimoga. Definitely value for money. Halted there for a night while going to Goa. Hotel is quite clean & bed is good. Very clean toilet. Cannot expect more for 850 bucks. Even the restaurant food also taste good in a fairly reasonable price.

Room Tip: Take the roadside room because it has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anir2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

A very nice place to stay in shimoga.very helpful staff and excellent room service.I had looked up the reviews in trip advisor before booking itand had no regrets whatsoever.we travelled as a family with our 2 and a half year old daughter.I found the room very
convenient and really big by modern standards.room service was prompt and the food was good.A special mention about the veg restaurant below-really very nice and tasty food,especially south Indian.I would recommend this place to one and all.Just make sure u book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I really like the food in this hotel. Lot of traditional foods are available like neer dosa, paddu etc.
This hotel is heart of the city. Specifically for the business discussion lot of options in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagar_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We travelled by road from Pune with my wife and son. The room was spacious, AC was comfortable & the TV had the right cartoon channel to make my son happy.
The toilet was clean . The laundry & room service decent. The hotel has a decent vegetarian restaurant from where we packed up for long drive. For the Price of approx Rs 1200 for an AC this is definitely good value. Yes, a good car park too & some one to wash the car . I was happy to get into a sparkling clean vehicle after a long drive the previous day .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Srinivasan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

From outside looks beautiful n well maintained, but reality crops up when you enter the room. The rooms are not well maintained with slightly torn linen & broken bathroom fittings. The geyser in the bathroom needs to be switched on half an hour in advance to get hot water and the window ac makes a lot of noise.

The TV is very small 14" for the size of the room which is made big for no reasons & is there for the sake of it. You will also find a lizard or two in the room. With all these you feel you are being overcharged for the room.

Room service is quick (even for the clearance & comes even before you finish eating). All n all, a hotel where you can get a good night's sleep when you plan to halt in Shimoga & the other hotels are booked (though there are not many options there, so seems to be best amongst the lot)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
0.7 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
1.2 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 km away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 48 in Shimoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.4 km away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
2.9 km away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jewel Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jewel Rock

Property: Hotel Jewel Rock
Address: Durgigudi Road, Shimoga, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing