We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place with beautiful people”
other travellers have booked this property
Mia's Cottage, Clonmany, Co Donegal, Traditional  Irish Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mia's Cottage, Clonmany, Co Donegal, Traditional  Irish Cottage
Entrance to Mia's Cottage, sea and lake vies from house. Front of Mia's Donegal Cottage Sea View looking across the Wild Atlanctic Ocean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Mia's Cottage, Clonmany, Co Donegal, Traditional  Irish Cottage
Entrance to Mia's Cottage, sea and lake vies from house.
Front of Mia's Donegal Cottage Sea View looking across the Wild Atlanctic Ocean.
Mia's Traditional Irish Cottage in Clonmany, County Donegal with white washed walls in a rural
Back of cottage, where there is a turf fire in Inishowen, North West, Donegal
Kitchen/Dining area of Mia's Cottage, Clonmany, Co Donegal close to the North West Challange 20
Double en-suite bedroom, cottage is suitable for families and small groups.
Triple bedroom in the cottage, with views of Dunaff Head, close to Tullagh Bay.
Bathroom with sash window with electric power shower
View of the front of the house, with views of Fanad Lighhouse.
Safe play area for children with swings and slides in the back garden
Glenevin Waterfall and fantastic walks close to Mia's Cottage,
Fishing Holidays, in Clonmany Co Donegal, Ireland
Rathmullan Ferry from Buncrana close to holiday accommodation in Donegal
Horse riding on Tullagh Beach from local equestrian center near Mia's Cottage
Surfing in Donegal and Water sports on Ballyliffin Beach near Mia's Holiday House
Mamore Gap with spectacular views from walking trails
Place of pilgrimage at Mamor Gap Urris
Ractin Mor Hill the view from the back of the holiday house
View of the Lough Swilly from Mamore Gap
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Clonmany, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2dogs1wif...
Linton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with beautiful people”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can I say I have not said already this is such a beautiful cottage to stay my only regret stay there was that I had to leave to go back to work.
It was only a 5 day visit and there is so much to see the coast line is breath taking the waters are so blue and the beaches of the finest sand....really enjoyed the Famine village just down the road for the life of me I cannot remember the fellas name who took us round but if you go there he used to live there as a child and you'll never believe when running water came to them shocked me!
We also visited the Titanic museum in Belfast in my eyes the £25 for the tour is over rated but the boat and museum free walk round with cable car thing is interesting but really only if its torrential rain.
The Rusty Nail well worth a visit friendly pub great food that not too expensive would have loved to spend more time there but with The Gallway Hooker you pay with a little hangover in the morning. If I remember right they have music local Irish music on a Sunday would have loved to have gone to that but there for to shorter time.
While we were there we certainly had four seasons in one day everyday but it never stopped us enjoying the area so if you visit the area get out and enjoy it the people could not be friendlier.
Now then the owners we never had the pleasure of meeting Dolores but we did meet John who could not have done more for us heating on fire lit cottage all cosy I will be back God willing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely cottage, well appointed, comfortable and superbly located in a beautiful part of Ireland.
John was very friendly, helpful and gave us a warm welcome.
We enjoyed the fabulous beaches, Ards forest park and the many local visitor attractions;
Malin head, Fort Dunree and Bundoran riverside walk and park etc.
I strongly recommend this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagdaElf
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Irish holidays we never forget”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Mia's Cottage was perfect accommodation for our family holidays. It’s located in the rural area, few miles from Clonmany.
The cottage has Irish charm of the old house combined with the modern fittings. There was really nothing we were short of and we felt like home.
2 bathrooms with showers (ensuite fitted into the wardrobe – very smart!), the fully equipped kitchen, the stove (with turf provided), TV with SAT. 2 bedrooms -2 double beds and 1 single bed with comfortable matresses. Outside space was big and while our son was kicking the ball, the car was safely parked next to the house. BBQ with table and benches is great when the weather is good. The yard is covered with small stones - no mud etc. On the other side there is a playground with swings and slides for younger children.
When the weather was bad I liked to look out the windows and admire the lovely views of the mountains and sea. It was so peaceful! The sheep and cows on the surrounding fields were also great attraction for our son.
It is close to the beautiful sandy beaches (we visited Leenan Beach and Tullagh Beach). The places we can recommend are Mamore Gap, Urris Lakes, Doagh Famine Village, Malin Head. The best restaurant/pub for us was Rusty Nail with delicious food and great atmoshphere.
I hope to be back in Mia’s Cottage one day!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amomoore
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A true beautiful irish cottage”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

On arrival the cottage was warm with a cosy welcoming lit fire. The cottage was very well equipped with all essentials. Extremly safe and picturesque view for families or great escape for couples. Excellent value for money I would highly recommend it to anoyone visiting donegal. The owners were very welcoming very accomidating and extremly easy to deal with and make arrangements. Pleasent and friendly. On the only negative we found tullagh bay equestrian centre to be unprofessional and resulting in the children being disappointed by being unable to go treking as the woman on the phone was unable to give me times that were available on the saturday or sunday having rang at 11am on the saturday morning trying to secure a half hour/hour trek. She was too busy arguing on another phone, my phone call left me feeling I was an inconvenience to the equestrian centre.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen P
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Mia's for 10 days in March 2015. We were greeted by John who had a great fire started and he could not have been more hospitable! He provided us information on the local area - even driving us around a bit - to show us Urris and the Clonmany area. The house is lovely - clean, well-appointed. We did not lack for anything. Highly recommend the cottage!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelwh...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just home from a fantastic stay at mias cottage. The cottage was very cosy and warm even when the storms blew in. It is in a nice, not to remote area of Donegal, close to many beautifull beaches. The owner John had the fire roaring for us on arrival and every thing you could possibly need is in the cottage .We just couldn't believe how nice this place is. We cant wait to visit this area of Donegal again and without hesitation would stay in mias cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mocarroll...
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely, cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend. The cottage is really well presented. It is a modernised but traditional Irish cottage in a quiet off road location. We were greeted by the owner John and made welcome with a lovely fire lit for us. The rooms are all a good size and well furnished. There are nice views over the countryside to the sea and mountains and plenty of safe space for young children to play. A lot of thought and taste went into making this a really delightful place to holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the interior is very cosy and pretty
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing