We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large, comfortable house, ideal for relaxing in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Bourg, Lanquais

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lanquais, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gwbowyer
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large, comfortable house, ideal for relaxing in the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house was perfect. Spacious rooms, a really well equipped kitchen and plenty of places for either shade or sun-lounging around the house.The facilities for cooking were great, and the pergola in the courtyard was ideal for eating out.
We enjoyed a relaxing time, but got out to lots of the surrounding towns, too, with plenty of places to visit within a 1-hour radius.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart L
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable and very attractive house”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The owners are very organised providing clear, well timed information which inspired confidence. The house is really lovely and exceeded expectations. It has been restored with care and taste. Le Bourg is very well equipped throughout down to small details which made us feel very much at home. Our children had plenty of outdoor space and were delighted to find some toys too. There was a good boules set. The house was very clean and really comfortable; we slept very well indeed. I made use of the kitchen which lacked for nothing and we ate some home-cooked and barbecued meals on the secluded terrace. The village of Lanquais is fairly sleepy although we liked its restful ambiance. There is a good market town Lalinde about 7 km away. Within 40 to 50km there is a great deal to do and see in the Dordogne valley. There is a great local restaurant just a few steps away from Le Bourg and although the village bakery next door has slipped into overgrown and romantic dereliction, the children were able to fetch fresh bread from the shop each morning as there was so little traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickdasil...
1 review
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I and my family with young child stayed here for 1 week. We loved the house and couldn't believe the owners would want to rent it out. It was very homely, very well furnished, very spacious, and full of character. The child's room contained a lovely selection of toys, which was a nice surprise. The large gardens and court yard was also a pleasure. The village is quaint and the restaurant next to the house is well worth a visit. The house is near other towns and places with good supermarkets. We did spend a lot of time driving to Sarlat and its surrounding area so we may have been better staying in that part of the Dordogne, but there were nice places to visit near Bergerac too. Lanquias is very quiet so we enjoyed some nice walks, sometimes in the local forests. Finally, the owner was very helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larteyfam...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful rustic property in a charming quintisential Dordogne village.”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Le Bourg for three glorious weeks this summer in August 2014. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the property. It is clearly a cherished home not just a soulless investment property; it was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. There was a well stocked bookcase for us adults to rummage through, and toys for our little ones to borrow. We had use of bicycles which were provided by the owners and took the opportunity to explore the little village of Lanquais. The roads were peaceful enough to take our 5 yr old out on daily rides either down to the swimming lake or to the local woodland. Our children loved the gardens at Le Bourg which were well kept and had lots of nooks and crannies to keep them interested.

Although our holiday was really for us to recharge our batteries we did venture out to local towns Bergerac, Couze, Lalinde and Eymet all of which had interesting markets and nice places to eat. We took a boat ride in Bergerac and enjoyed the Saturday Market where there was a mix of antiquities and new items, local produce and lovely gifts for us to take home to friends and family. For my wife, she enjoyed the CBA a local vintage furniture shop were she picked up a few bargains, (the owners emailed that tip over to us in advance) and I enjoyed the annual summer night market in Couze where locals gathered to eat in the open air on trestle tables- the moules were fantastic! Definitely worth a visit.

Overall we loved the property and the break was exactly what we needed, a tranquil but not isolated place to spend time together and feel a bit pampered- we've already recommended Le Bourg to friends and family, and if it's available next summer we'd like to return with our friends and their kids- there was definitely enough room!

Well worth a visit- and the owners were super! Thanks Mr and Mrs Stewart.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing