We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view from the room...”
Review of Tashigang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tashigang Resort
Ranked #7 of 55 Pelling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed there for 2N in Nov 2011. View was excellent from the room. Rooms are not so great but still ok. Food is normal but service was slow . Mr Sunil s service was always with a smile. You can enjoy a 360 degree view from the hotel.. On one window all snow capped hills view and on other window it was green hills view. Rooms and bathrooms were cleanly maintained.

Thanks for the Management and staff.


Mr Karthik and Deepa

Room Tip: We chose a room in 2nd floor. It was with excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepaKarthik20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed for one night in June, 11 in the hotel. Property is far from town and from local sight seeing points. However, hotel has wonderful view. Rooms are good with vintage furniture. We had dinner in the hotel. The hotel has a large parking for car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If this property gets renovated to current standards it would get a 5 star. Although not in Pelling town it is on a amazing location on top of the mountain with a 360 degree view. It is located in geyaling about 20 minutes before Pelling.

It offers amazing view of Kanchenjunga mountain range. Its high time that the owners invest in the property.

Room Tip: Select higher floor rooms if given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were little apprehensive about continueing this trip after the 18 sept. earthquake .But glad that we continued as Pelling is such a beautiful place.We stayed in Tashigang from oct 3 for 2 N.It is actually located 10 km before Pelling, and you can see only Mt. Kabru and Dome from this resort, Mt. Kanchanjunga 's view is hidden behind some other mountain. When we went for sight seeing and crossed Pelling , we could see Kanchanjunga also ,that time we felt that it's better to stay in any Pelling hotel than Tashi gang to get a better view of the Kanchanjunga. Coming to Tashigang - It's a good ,nice resort in that remote location , overall rooms are above average in cleanliness and appearance.
We could not get a room with the view of snow mountains as after the earthquake many rooms have developed cracks or have some other wiring problem(so they are not giving those rooms).But our room had a good view of sunrise and the valley with a nice balcony. Management seems to be a problem there ,as it is a very beautiful property but staff is very less and you can hear them falling into arguments about the work.Occupency was also very less so I can understand difficulty in affording larger staff. But I would still say that management can be improved.Otherwise no such complains . Food was good but service is very slow (only one guy to run the kitchen).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandana_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed with our family. Accommodation is good, food is v. good. Our rooms had balcony and good view of the valley. However, I found it is too far & away from Pelling town. Good for honeymooners and for those in large groups.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dranishmadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Nice and basic hotel .. Stayed for 2 nights Excellent view of Mt Kanchenjunga... Rooms are not that good but are basic

food was ok but service was not up to the mark.. Might be less staff as it was off season

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tappi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was the worst experience of stay at a hotel that looks quite decent from the outside and outside alone.

We checked in to this hotel hoping for one of the best stays during our honeymoon but truns out they prefer roudy alcoholics dancing n singing to songs like "munni badnam" & "sheila ki jawani". Definitely not a family place. and the drunk loud parties happen almost each night, till midnight, as long as those drunk men dont fall asleep. The resort has 3 managers in rotation throughout 24 hours who create a hell lot of confusion and inconvinience that if you go sight seeing for the day you may return back to no room of ur own. Yes, thats exactly what happened to us. We went sight seeing in the morning at 10am, at 10.10am we got a call from the hotel manager asking if it was ok with us if they moved us to another room thats was exactly the same as another family wanted 2 rooms next to each other. We agreed, thinking if its the same room it wont make any difference. We were promised on call that the manager would himself make sure all our belongings are moved properly. When we returned back in the evening, our stuff was lying open in their accounting/store room and some guy staying at the resort was roaming around in my personal sandals. we were staying in a suite and the so called similar room being that they forcibly offered was a tiny room with 2 seperate single beds. I suppose the wanted to get us divorced on our honeymoon. when questioned we were simply asked to find ourselves some other hotel when it was already late in the evening reason being they did not have any room left for us. And this was in spite of booking the room for our entire stay for 2 days while cheking in. The previously beautiful suite we stayed in had been turned into trash as they filled it up with 8 men who lived like they were in some kind of a cheap lodging. the hotel manager refused to get my sandals that some other guy was roaming around in and even refused to pay for the cab out of their resort. This matters a lot as taxis are extremely expensive in Sikkim. A ride of 7km can cost you 600 bucks.

If you still want to stay at this hell hole, ur at ur own risk of getting thrown out when u least expect it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chandra_Sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelling
4.0 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 20 in Pelling
279 reviews
2.6 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
4.1 km away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 20 in Pelling
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#9 of 20 in Pelling
212 reviews
33.8 km away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#35 of 118 in Gangtok
83 reviews
3.1 km away
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashigang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashigang Resort

Address: Yangtey | West Sikkim, Pelling 737111, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Pelling
Price Range: $67 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Tashigang Resort Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing