We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food, friendly service.”

Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cushendun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Description: When visiting this beautiful seaside village - do NOT miss a visit to one of Ireland's smallest pubs - Mary McBride's.....say hello to owners Cormac and his sister Fiona while enjoying a pint of Guinness and chatting with one or two of the locals. This pub has tons of history based on the life of the original owner, Mary McBride herself. The pub is a traditional old style house pub that has had few modernised features in and around it. The downstairs is a lovely family run pub with really nice pub grub menu, with many an evening turning into a sing song - we've got music most Saturday evenings and Mary's Sunday session from 4pm every Sunday. Bar menu from April to October Monday - Sunday. The upstairs restaurant opened in 2015 and goes under the name of "The Little Black Door;" it's a seafood bistro and is open Thursday - Saturday 6pm to 9.30pm. It serves a wide range of local seafood but also chicken, duck and steaks. Call in and enjoy a seafood delight cooked by head chef Charlie Mcauley and say hello to Sarah and the rest of the girls in the restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: When visiting this beautiful seaside village - do NOT miss a visit to one of Ireland's smallest pubs - Mary McBride's.....say hello to owners Cormac and his sister Fiona while enjoying a pint of Guinness and chatting with one or two of the locals. This pub has tons of history based on the life of the original owner, Mary McBride herself. The pub is a traditional old style house pub that has had few modernised features in and around it. The downstairs is a lovely family run pub with really nice pub grub menu, with many an evening turning into a sing song - we've got music most Saturday evenings and Mary's Sunday session from 4pm every Sunday. Bar menu from April to October Monday - Sunday. The upstairs restaurant opened in 2015 and goes under the name of "The Little Black Door;" it's a seafood bistro and is open Thursday - Saturday 6pm to 9.30pm. It serves a wide range of local seafood but also chicken, duck and steaks. Call in and enjoy a seafood delight cooked by head chef Charlie Mcauley and say hello to Sarah and the rest of the girls in the restaurant.
Reviewed September 5, 2020 via mobile

Good pub food. We had the leek soup which was excellent although the wheaten bread was a little disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2020
3  Thank Tom_Lennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2020

Rang ahead to ask if we needed to book a table for Sunday lunch and were advised no bookings are taken. Drove over hopefully anyway.

We were lucky and secured an outside table on a lovely day with a view to the sea. We each had different dishes, including a special roast lamb, pasta and a burger. All were delicious and table service (due to Covid) was really friendly. Guinness was perfect too.

Parking on the street close by is free as is access over the bridge to the caves seen in Game of Thrones (as we discovered later).

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2020

Very disappointed to find today that as a family of 6 we were unable to book a table and eat here while on holiday this week in cushendun..seems a bit strange that no tables for 6 available at all at this establishment..very poor service

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank happymum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2020

This was our first visit and our first meal out since the lock down and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, service good and the food was delicious. The scallop starter was well cooked and tasty, the sea bass with the potato and prawn cake was a lovely main course. Nice menu, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wilbert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2020

We were looking for somewhere for lunch whilst travelling from Portrush to Belfast and found this. Nicely kept dining area in an attractive small pub. Staff were welcoming and cheery.

They didnt take bookings but we got there earlish for lunch, It is small and did get busy with, it seemed, locals later.

Fairly traditional pub fare on the whole. Except the seafood chowder which was very good. There is a good value kids menu with the a la carte a little bit on the pricey side but not too bad.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSCAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door also viewed

 
Cushendall, County Antrim
 

Been to Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.