We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service”

Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cushendun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Description: When visiting this beautiful seaside village - do NOT miss a visit to one of Ireland's smallest pubs - Mary McBride's.....say hello to owners Cormac and his sister Fiona while enjoying a pint of Guinness and chatting with one or two of the locals. This pub has tons of history based on the life of the original owner, Mary McBride herself. The pub is a traditional old style house pub that has had few modernised features in and around it. The downstairs is a lovely family run pub with really nice pub grub menu, with many an evening turning into a sing song - we've got music most Saturday evenings and Mary's Sunday session from 4pm every Sunday. Bar menu from April to October Monday - Sunday. The upstairs restaurant opened in 2015 and goes under the name of "The Little Black Door;" it's a seafood bistro and is open Thursday - Saturday 6pm to 9.30pm. It serves a wide range of local seafood but also chicken, duck and steaks. Call in and enjoy a seafood delight cooked by head chef Charlie Mcauley and say hello to Sarah and the rest of the girls in the restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: When visiting this beautiful seaside village - do NOT miss a visit to one of Ireland's smallest pubs - Mary McBride's.....say hello to owners Cormac and his sister Fiona while enjoying a pint of Guinness and chatting with one or two of the locals. This pub has tons of history based on the life of the original owner, Mary McBride herself. The pub is a traditional old style house pub that has had few modernised features in and around it. The downstairs is a lovely family run pub with really nice pub grub menu, with many an evening turning into a sing song - we've got music most Saturday evenings and Mary's Sunday session from 4pm every Sunday. Bar menu from April to October Monday - Sunday. The upstairs restaurant opened in 2015 and goes under the name of "The Little Black Door;" it's a seafood bistro and is open Thursday - Saturday 6pm to 9.30pm. It serves a wide range of local seafood but also chicken, duck and steaks. Call in and enjoy a seafood delight cooked by head chef Charlie Mcauley and say hello to Sarah and the rest of the girls in the restaurant.
Reviewed September 20, 2020

Loved this restaurant. Staff really welcoming and helpful. Great menu. Im vegan and the food was delicious. Usually end up having vegetables but wad able to have a curry starter and couscous for main. Others in group had steaks which they loved.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Mojocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2020

So disappointed!
Service wasn't great to start with, we ordered 1 coke, 1 beer, a scampi dish and a starter portion of chowder. Server seemed a little abrupt but as we were sitting outside she could have been really busy inside and we were unaware.
Food came - my partner thoroughly enjoyed the chowder. My dish however was absolutely disappointing! I ate a few bits of scampi thinking it was pretty tasteless and greasy I then procedded to cut up a few bit for our dog only to find the fish was COMPLETELY RAW, it was a grey, clear jelly like substance!
I immediately got up and called a server to tell her the fish was raw and I didn't want a replacement. No apology was offered then or after, no other member of staff came to us at all.
As my partner finished her coke I noticed there was a pink slime up the inside of her glass. She was disgusted as she had nearly finished the glass.
I went in to pay which was with the original server. She took the Scampi and coke off the bill but wasn't exactly apologetic.
When I came back to the table there was a bearded chef sitting at another table smoking with his full kitchen uniform on apron etc. Not exactly the best hygiene standards.
I would avoid this place at all costs.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank 621stevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2020 via mobile

Good pub food. We had the leek soup which was excellent although the wheaten bread was a little disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2020
3  Thank Tom_Lennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2020

Rang ahead to ask if we needed to book a table for Sunday lunch and were advised no bookings are taken. Drove over hopefully anyway.

We were lucky and secured an outside table on a lovely day with a view to the sea. We each had different dishes, including a special roast lamb, pasta and a burger. All were delicious and table service (due to Covid) was really friendly. Guinness was perfect too.

Parking on the street close by is free as is access over the bridge to the caves seen in Game of Thrones (as we discovered later).

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2020

Very disappointed to find today that as a family of 6 we were unable to book a table and eat here while on holiday this week in cushendun..seems a bit strange that no tables for 6 available at all at this establishment..very poor service

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank happymum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door also viewed

 
Cushendall, County Antrim
 

Been to Mary McBride's - The Little Black Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.