We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quite beautiful place with a stunning...”
Chiesa Del Carmine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chiesa Del Carmine
Ancient Sitting Room and Grand Piano Sitting room of the Church
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Chiesa Del Carmine
Ancient Sitting Room and Grand Piano
Sitting room of the Church
Grand Piano
Kitchen
Kitchen Marble Sink
Ilve Oven in Kitchen
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Double bedroom
Antique bathroom sink
Luxury bathrooms
Marble Showers
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom
Farmhouse sitting room
Fully covered pergola
Fantastically comfortable swimming pool furniture
Stunning swimming pool
Bell tower by night
Stunning pool at night
Dining Terrace and pergola
Covered seating for up to 20
Stunning garden table
Many private external areas
External terraces
Main terrace
Master Bedroom terrace
Double bedroom terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Pierantonio, Umbertide, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Slovak first
Any
English first
Michael V
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A quite beautiful place with a stunning outlook....it simply lives up to expectations.”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chiesa Del Carmine is a stunning property. We stayed there for a week over Christmas for a memorable family get together. The buildings have been beautifully renovated and the interior rooms are stunning. The place has an elegance. The surrounds are picturesque and provide for many hours of enjoyable walking. The bedrooms and their bathrooms are fitted with highest quality materials and feature stunning bathrooms and views. We had a fabulous Christmas Day and the 14 of us fitted into the place comfortably. Chiesa has provided us with wonderful memories and I have recommended it to all who ask about our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkyW_78
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It was September 2013 when we chose this as our wedding venue having fallen in love with the place as soon as we saw it and, a year on, it was even more spectacular for our special day itself as the gardens had matured so beautifully. We wanted our wedding to be a small intimate affair with just our closest family and friends (c25-30 people) and Carmine was perfect. With 8 rooms it was large enough to house our immediate family for the week and our remaining guests stayed in either Casa San Gabriel (with Chrissie and David who manage Carmine) or Castello Valenzino which are both within a 1km or so.

As the weather on the wedding day (Tues 2nd) looked a little unpredictable we decided to have the wedding breakfast in the church rather than our original plan of dining outside but in the end we were so glad that we did. The table setting looked amazing thanks to our wonderful wedding planner, Sarah, and the beautiful church just helped create the perfect atmosphere. Almost every single one of our guests commented that the food was by far the best that they had ever tasted at a wedding - in fact one was upset that she was only able to sample 4 of the desserts due to being so full! The magician that Sarah organised was brilliant, providing wonderful entertainment during the meal, and the after dinner music was enjoyed by everyone and went on until 4:00 in the morning. I think what we enjoyed most was that all of our guests were able to chat with each other due to the small numbers, as were we as the bride and groom without it being forced and feeling like we had to go and spend time with particular people. At one point every single person was one the dancefloor and that is certainly a rare sight at a wedding!

On top of our wonderful wedding day we also had an excellent week of activities all expertly organised by Chrissie and David. On the Saturday night Alessandra came in and cooked for us, which was very welcome after a day of travelling, and on the Sunday night we had a wine tasting evening with antipasti which was enjoyed by all. On the Monday the boys played golf at a local course and had a meal in the clubhouse restaurant and the girls had a day at the villa and finally on the day after the wedding we had Alessandra return once more to prepare a sumptuous BBQ for us. Chrissie and David couldn't have done more to make our whole week special both whilst we were there and in the 12 months leading up to the event. I think that the biggest compliment I could pay them is that we were delighted that they were able to attend our wedding as guests because they have become true friends to us over the past year.

We can't wait to go back to Carmine at some point as it has given us memories for a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant second visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks with between 5 and 14 people. It was a repeat visit. Magnificent situation and beautiful renovation with all mod cons. Lovely swimming pool and outside eating area. Walks in the area have views for miles. There is something special about going into the vegetable garden and picking your own lettuce and tomatoes and aubergines. The property is very well appointed. But Chrissie and David provided everything we required whenever we asked for something. Chiesa Del Carmine is my favourite vacation spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating outside amongst the flowers and trees
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccameronw...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A slice of heaven in Umbria”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I had very high hopes for this property based on the beautiful website and photos that I had seen prior to arrival. When we got there, it was far more breathtaking than I had imagined.

The setting of the property makes you feel as if you have the entire valley to yourself, only one other house can be seen, far off on a hill side. The beautiful Umbrian countryside is all around, making a stunning back drop whether you are at one of the two charming outdoor dining areas or enjoying the lovely pool.

Inside the property, everything has been thought out and designed to the highest standard, making for spacious, luxurious and magical holiday getaway.

What really made the place stand out though was the friendly and thoughtful service we received from the moment we booked the property to the day that we left. We enjoyed many meals cooked by their talented chefs and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing alternative to eating out with small children.

Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of the way to make sure our children had some incredible memories - tractor rides, fishing, playing tennis, hiking around the valley, learning to make pizza and feeding Alpacas!

I would highly recommend this property for anyone who wants an unforgettable holiday in Italy, especially those travelling with young children. It's not easy to find such high quality, but child friendly accommodation, but Chiesa del Carmine was simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heavenly location, incredible scenery, wonderful hosts
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princessl...
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One to go back to. Lovely restoration in a great place”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here as a large group for a week just recently. As expected the house place is impeccable - very well restored and great taste. The property sits in a gorgeous valley which is close to anything if you want to drag yourself away and the manager and team who look after the property are excellent. Loved the tennis court albeit a bit far away and not on the property itself - a good walk thats for sure. Yep all in loved it and would definitely think about returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the two parts to the property - sleeping in one and entertaining in the other
Liked least: nothing to say really
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozef R
Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“This is IT!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Waw, what a beautiful property!!! In reality much more better then on pictures. Stunning views, perfect hosts!
We rented all villa, in fact reconstructed old chiesa (church). The reconstruction was made with care on each detail, the fusion of original old structure, with modern details.
The pool is also very nice, with warm water, full fridge of beers and prossecos :-)
Our hosts, David and Chrissie were very helpful and they did our stay even more perfect.
Also many thanks for Liliana and Alexandra, two very cute girls, who made daily our breakfast.
Maybe one thing to think about, to improve the stay. More remotes to open the gate, 3 are too less for 6 rooms.
This property is one of the best we ever been...
Top-notch!!!
Highly recommended!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: less remotes
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londontra...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had the most incredible wedding and stay at Chiesa Del Carmine”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is the 3rd visit we have made to Chiesa Del Carmine since first going to view it in October 2013 as a potential wedding venue - we hope it definitely won't be our last!

When planning our wedding, we wanted to find somewhere that felt like we were having a big party at home (albeit a much pimper home than our own!). Chiesa Del Carmine ticked all the right boxes and many more! This is the most idyllic and tranquil place in the beautiful Umbrian countryside (even when there is a wedding party going on until 5 in the morning!). The views are breathtaking and there is so much space that you can lose yourself from the rest of the group but also all be together in the cleverly arranged seating areas (which all seat at least 14). The interior is as beautiful as the exterior, nothing too fussy but all decor executed to the highest quality and comfort (especially the beds and bathrooms!).

What makes Chiesa Del Carmine extra special is the wonderful team that manages and runs the property. From our first visit until the actual event 8 months later - Chrissie and David (the managers and now our friends) have been on hand to answer all questions and have come up with solutions to everything we/ our wedding party and the weather threw at them (their response time is second to none!). They were around for our entire stay and made a typically stressful occasion entirely stress free! Liliana, Alessandra, Luciano and the rest of the "dream team" also need a special mention for their hard work - cleaning, cooking, babysitting, heavy moving! They are all incredibly professional, discreet, friendly and nothing is too much trouble!

We have so many wonderful memories of our wedding and it wouldn't have been the same anywhere other than Chiesa Del Carmine. We hope we can bring our family back in the years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing