We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - Muri Beach”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We spent a week at Muri Beachcomber and it was amazing!! The room and facilities were great - just dont leave the flowers in your room like I did! The hotel had a pool with deck chairs and bean bags around the side of the pool and access to Muri Beach directly. There were Kayak, Stand up Paddle Boards and other bits and pieces around the beach access to enjoy. The staff were so lovely and always very helpful so it made our stay very pleasant. We flew in early and were given a secure room to relax in until check in time and access to a shower if we needed it. The location was perfect - close to many things such as the tours and activities and a range of restaurants and cafe's all walking distance. Definitely a great location if you dont want to move far or get a car. The bus stop is in front of the hotel so you can get into the city or around the island easily. There are lots of animals around the resort however they are all very friendly so no need to be afraid. Just make sure you keep your doors closed as apparently the chickens like to get into the rooms! We didnt have this issue thankfully. Definitely recommend the 2 bedroom if you want your own space or have a family - had a TV and DVD, Kitchen and large balcony to be able to enjoy your own space. Thank you to the team at Muri Beachcomber for making our holiday a very fun and relaxing one in the Cook Islands!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom is very spacious with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017

We stayed in a Seaview room for 10 days from the end of October. We were extremely happy with our choice, recommended by our travel agent. All the staff members we encountered were helpful and friendly. The gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. The position of the resort is perfect - on Muri Beach at a part where there are few rocks close to shore. And very handy to useful facilities: two cafes which each provided wonderful coffee, burger joint across the road, the night market next door. Plus a bus stop at the gate. The availability of bikes, kayaks, snorkel gear etc as part of the cost was a bonus. We didn’t mind the roosters crowing - all part of the experience and we weren’t woken. The unit itself was comfortable and provided everything we needed. If we return to Rarotonga, as we hope to do in the future, we would stay at the Beachcomber again.

Room Tip: Suggest a Seaview room for a couple. But resort is small so all rooms are close to beach.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 355kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Muri Beachcomber was absolutely great. We didn't have to worry about renting kayaks, standup paddleboards, snorkle gear or beach shoes--they had it all there (and it was always available, and in kids sizes too). There were kids' beach toys as well.

The staff at Muri Beachcomber were fantastic. There were a few baby chicks who kept coming after us and we were able to move to another unit, which solved the problem. The free airport pickup/drop-off was a big perk. Throughout our stay, we felt like we were treated like friends or family.

The location can't be beat, although it's not secluded so it may be best for families or friends, or couples who are interested in potentially chatting with those around them. We liked the numerous food options within walking distance, especially the breakfast special at Delicious, a 2 min. walk away. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and will look for an opportunity to return to paradise!

Room Tip: Get a Seaview unit - it would be pointless to travel all this way and not get a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluelagoon231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Muri for a week, whilst visiting for a wedding of a friend. We stayed in a seaview unit, that was perfectly furnished with a super comfy bed, clean bathroom and a little kitchenette (which proved useful for the day it wouldn't stop raining and we cooked ourselves dinner).
The Beachcomber is directly on the beach, just a couple of steps to the lagoon, with paddle boards and kayaks just waiting for you to grab and see the wonderfully clear waters around the islands.
The staff were amazingly friendly, and a big call out to Shelley who was always happy to help us book trips, restaurants etc (as the mobile telephone system was temporarily down!). Nothing was too much trouble, and it made us feel completely relaxed and able to enjoy a week slice of paradise!
We had friends stay in the poolside accommodation, with two small children, and they loved it too. The safe deck area and pool was perfect to keep them amused and safe!
Beachcomber immediately neighbours the Muri night market, perfect for cheap feeds, and close to loads more great places to eat.
It was also great to have the bikes freely available, and I would definitely recommend cycling the inland road north to avarua, no traffic, beautiful scenery, lovely locals!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 8 nights in September in a beachview bungalow. Great location, supermarkt, nightmarket, restaurants en scooter rental nearby. Beautiful beach (you can make really long beachwalks) and great snorkelling. Staff is really nice and always willing to help you! Good quality bikes available for guests. Only thing missing was a mosquito net in the bedroom. Unfortunally I was their fueling station at night. Evertything else perfect, would love to come back here!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank schmetterling101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Location is fantastic - the best swimming in Muri from what we saw walking either direction down the beach, and right next to a convenience store, ATM, car/scooter rental place, cafe, and night market (4x a week). The property is long though, so when you're near the rooms or by the beach, you don't get noise from the street. AC works well and there are kayaks and bikes for guest use included in the price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

This is a superbly located place. We stayed as a group with the villas in a circle facing the water. Amazing place to go as a group or on your own. The grounds are really well kept, you're directly on the beach, night market is out the back 3 nights a week (noise not an issue however as it's a fair way back). And there are a million chickens roaming around, some I could feed from my hands.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty_TAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.2 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
0.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.3 km away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#5 of 17 in Muri
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: $260 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing