We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two great nights - will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Last Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Last Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Two great nights - will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Massive improvement since new managment in Nov 2011. Stayed two nights in a studio ensuite room. Clean and comfortable - great sleep both nights on the comfy bed! Had an evening meal and two breakfasts in the restaurant which were all great!! Friendly staff - will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybeanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    66
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
77
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Badly in need of restoration after a long hiking trip, we arrived wet, tired and hungry late in the day, with just 15 minutes left till the restaurant closed. Long hot showers were, as any hiker knows, the prime consideration, along with laundry services, to be run in the background while eating the first proper hot meal in six days. The staff, led by front of house receptionist Sarah, prepared and delivered a delicious super fresh fish supper while we soaked. Excellent coffee, comfortable accommodation and best of all a clean shave, made possible with all the shops closed till morning, by a disposable razor Sarah kindly provided 'just part of the service'. After 30years in a global hospitality business I can sincerely recommend the small group of people operating this unique resort, for their genuine unassuming wish to make their guests comfortable, ensuring a relaxing memorable stay.
Thank you again to all the staff who,looked after us so well.
Heather and Baz

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

With three friends I stayed here in March 2012. The rooms we were given were spacious, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful. Meals were first rate. They served real whitebait patties as only the NZ West Coast can. Wifi is available at a modest price.
The main building is interesting architecturally with some creative use of local timber for its interior decor and some pleasant artistic touches.
Karamea has a good information centre nearby and a range of interesting activities locally.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CydWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice, clean room. Would have been a nicer stay if the hotel had not hosted that evening a local talent show. I had to call at 11:30 PM to see if they could lower/shut down the music! We were even treated to some drum playing past midnight. The sad part about it was Betty's non-apologetic attitude the following day. Saying sorry or offering a cup of coffee didn't seem to be part of the vocabulary.
That being said, a comfortable place to stay in Karamea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abacus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We didn't stay here, but made a couple of afternoon stops and ate a wonderful meal here. Everyone was really friendly and we were entertained by a five-legged praying mantis (or something that looked like one) on the deck.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

A large group of us stayed here end of February, and the guys running this place were so very helpful and friendly. There has been a lot of new work done there, new beds, new TV's, excellent new individual hot water arrangements for each of our units. I was in one of the motel type units and it was really very comfortable. Just little things are nice too, like flowering pot plants on the tables on the long verandah outside our rooms and fresh flowers in the main areas, and the log burner keeping us warm. Karamea is fairly isolated and they are doing a really magnificent job there. We spoke to some of the people in the back packers part and they were very happy, they loved it. It's not a five star international hotel, it is a great New Zealand experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed at the Last Resort in the middle of January 2012, I was very impressed with the way Dave and Betty ran the the whole show, the accomodation was excellent, the food great, and the overall atmosphere very friendly and welcoming, I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karamea
0.6 km away
Rongo Backpackers
Rongo Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
35.3 km away
Seddonville Hotel
Seddonville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seddonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.8 km away
Karamea Farm Baches
Karamea Farm Baches
#4 of 6 in Karamea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Karamea River Motels
Karamea River Motels
#2 of 3 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Resort

Property: Last Resort
Address: 71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort was hand built by entrepreneurial locals and first opened for business in 1992. The complex offers a range of accommodation options, restaurant and bar facilities. Make this "very special place" your base when exploring Karamea, the Oparara Basin, the Kahurangi National Park and the Heaphy and Whangapeka Tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing