We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
62
21
2
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
21
2
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen wedding venue family and friends get together from start to finish cottage dog jams february utensils milk
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 92 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Excellent stay on a very well maintained site.
We met one of the co-owners along with her parrot on our visit, we were staying to attend a wedding along the road at Doxford Hall and she kindly offered to give us a lift there to save walking or driving on the day, a very personal touch we believe.
My wife and I will most certainly be returning to take in more of the areas beautiful scenery and places of interest.
Gail and Dave, Bishop Auckland, Co. Durham.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank infectiphibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you Gail and Dave for your lovely review!.....I spoke to Ted the parrot this morning and he said it was lovely to meet you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future! Many Thanks, Richard Shell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked Doxford Farm Cottages as a last minute get-away and stayed at Northside. The cottage was just great and exceeded our expectations providing everything that you could require. The cottages are in a superb location for exploring the amazing coastline and when on one day I had to have the car for the day, my husband, children and dog had a great day walking the local footpaths that surround the farm estate. We were blessed with wonderful weather during our week however even so, these cottages make a great and comfortable base for any break in Northumberland whatever the weather and I would recommend without reservation.

The Daltons

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank thedalton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you 'The Dalton Family' for your great review. I am so pleased we exceeded your expectations; we look forward to your return. Many Thanks, Richard Shell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My daughter chose Doxford Farm Cottages to get married. From start to finish the owners Sarah and Tom and there son Riche could not have been more helpful. The cottages were comfortable and had everything we needed. We were allowed to take our dogs which was important to several people staying at the farm. The courtyard situated behind the cottages was a great place to sit and have breakfast and talk to our friends. The wedding itself could not have been better. We have pictures from the lawn outside Sarah and Toms beautiful house where the more formal part of the day took place. Then there were canopies on the lawn in front of the stone built barn the other side of that in a pretty courtyard the tables were set for the meal and dancing continued well into the early hours. Great fun was had by all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nichole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all at Doxford for Matt and Sarah's wedding! We hope to see you all soon, from all of us at Doxford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I just had our wedding at Doxford Farm Cottages and we had a great time. Sarah, Tom and Rich could not have been more helpful and made sure we had the perfect day even with changeable weather. The place has a such a relaxed feel about it and all of our friends said they felt very at home. The party went on into the early hours and we rounded off the weekend with BBQ bacon butties in the large courtyard behind the cottages. We love it at Doxford Farm Cottages and have previously visited the cottages just for a getaway but it just so happened to be the perfect wedding venue for us as well. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a wedding where you can have whatever you want. This is not one if those venues telling you what wine to drink and what food to eat. It's friendly, relaxed and fun! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank whitefield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We saw Doxford Farm Cottages during an exhaustive search for the 'right' accommodation for our week away walking the fantastic Northumberland Coast and it was exactly what we were looking for. Superbly placed for beaches, countryside walks and NE tourist attractions, Doxford Farm far exceeded our expectations. Sarah, Tom and family were very welcoming and friendly hosts, who ensured our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. DF is set in 500 acres of picturesque countryside/farmland which is carefully managed to provide an excellent wildlife environment. It has five miles of wonderful walks right out of the front door! The setting is idyllic, the pace of life relaxed and we cannot wait to return.
Mike and Stella

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews