We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Experiencing crocodiles and flamingos

We did the Nature Lovers tour. Our host was Saul Monforte. The trip was very nice and educational... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WillemWolting
via mobile
Great experience

We had an amazing time during the nature lover tour (4h) with our guide Saul. The boattour included... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JulesV216
Read all 643 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Rio Lagartos
from US$149.00
More Info
from US$103.90
More Info
Las Coloradas
2 Reviews
from US$90.00
More Info
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
526
77
18
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
526
77
18
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud bath boat trip bird species different species unforgettable experience great guide nature lovers pink flamingos flora and fauna knowledgeable guide fresh fish diego herons birders mangroves ria andrea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 643 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Diego is a very professional guide,answered our emails promptly and met us on the dock at 7am right at the agreed upon time. Throughout our tour of the estuary he answered our questions and pointed out some amazing birds that we would not have spotted on our own. When we visited in early March we saw green parrots, white pelicans, tiger herons, both large and small blue herons...and....huge flocks of flamingos. Diego stopped to allow us to try the the mud "spa" and ended the trip with a stop at a fresh water spring to wash off the mud. Highly recommended tour with a knowledgable, English speaking guide.

Thank Byron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2012

One of the best thing to do in Yucatan---2 hours easy drive from Cancun--boat trip rare birds--crocodile--flamingos--pink salines river--clay bath if wished--don't miss Porto San Felipe--just 20 min. drive and small colonial town of Tisimin--all on the same way--enjoy

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Manon932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We went to Rio Lagartos to do a wildlife trip rather than the Flamingos as we had seen plenty at Celestun. Diego is not only a blinkin' top birder but a pleasent, easy going sort of a chap too! We took a 6.30am 3 hour boat trip with him which was wonderful. I'm sure he pays the croc, the boat billed heron, the tiger heron etc. just to sit where only he can find them!
His only achilles heel is that he is human and forgot our Monday morning trip..so maybe that's a sneaky Mexican way of getting us back there. Clever hombre that Diego.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We'd read that there were not many flamingoes in Celestun so we decided to head to Rio Lagartos. It was a very long drive from Merida (3 hours) but it was very worth it. The road signs were easy to follow but the moment we got into the Rio Lagartos town, the "harrassment" started. We were tailed by tour touts on motorbikes and even in a Land Rover. Since we have already booked and received directions from RLA we proceeded to the La Torreja restaurant for lunch, followed by a boat tour. Lunch was decent but the boat tour was fabulous! Diego (owner/ guide) brought us to see crocodiles and though there were not many flamingoes we still saw a few. The highlight of the trip was the mud bath where my kids and I had a splashing time. Diego then brought us to a natural spring to rinse off. I'd go there again, but this time, I plan to stay longer for the mud bath!

Date of experience: December 2011
1  Thank CynTeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I lined up this trip as a relaxing finish to a two-day adventure of hiking around Mayan pyramids and cenotes with my sons, 4 and 6. Diego Nunez, the proprietor, speaks good English and setting the trip up in advance by e-mail was a breeze. We stayed at Hotel Villa de Pescadores, a basic little hotel on the water, and got up at sunrise for the 7 a.m. departure. Rio Lagartos nature preserve is home to tens of thousands of flamingos this time of year, as well as frigate birds, snowy egrets, white and gray pelicans, many types of hawks and more varieties of heron than I knew existed (we saw tiger, little and great blues, and some others). Our guide knew where to find the birds, their names in English and Spanish and to drift slowly and circle around while I tried to get a good photo. We also saw crocodiles, which are food for birds as babies and then eat birds when they get bigger. This was perfect for little boys who are interested in nature. At about three hours they started getting antsy, since we left without breakfast, but we filled up at a great little restaurant across the street from where the boats tie up.

This was $75 well spent, and definitely worth the side trip. Thank you Diego, I'd recommend this trip for anyone.

Date of experience: December 2011
Thank Oren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews