We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
LongoMare(Corigliano Calabro)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Casacchella(Corigliano Calabro)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Affittacamere Amato(Corigliano Calabro)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel La Villa(Corigliano Calabro)
US$127
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Taverna Rosa(Corigliano Calabro)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B L'Uliveto(Corigliano Calabro)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo La Pigna(Corigliano Calabro)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Altamarea(Corigliano Calabro)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo Frangivento(Corigliano Calabro)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
308
172
90
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
172
90
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneilson holidaybeach barnon inclusive nightskids clubneilson stafftennis coachingitalian staffmountain bikingcleaning staffsaladlast yeargarden roomwalking distanceother guestsbeach teamhigh standardgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first Neilson holiday (which we learned made us a rarity), and we brought our young children along. Overall we had a really wonderful holiday and made the most of the beach, pool (perfect for kids), tennis, bikes, climbing, and fitness facilities. We'll almost certainly book another Neilson holiday, and will be able to make more of the experience now that we know more.

As other reviewers have said, Neilson seems to rely on their 90% repeat business and it is very difficult as a newcomer to understand the schedule and booking system. We had the kids club meeting, activity meeting, and then had to sort out our missing suitcase (we were one of ten families who had a suitcase which didn't make the flight - make sure you have essentials in hand luggage, and cross-pack!). By the time we got to the front of the booking queue, most of the appropriate courses were already booked up, so we've only really experienced the taster or drop in sessions. And people who stay more than one week are able to book on the Saturday prior to the Sunday meeting, so many spaces seems to be gone already. We missed the Tuesday night outing because the coach was already full by the time we asked on Monday (only a day after we arrived, while we were still waiting for our suitcase!) It would be really helpful for new Neilson customers to get a proper briefing (we read the brochure and all the FAQs and weren't properly prepared).

We stayed in the main building. The air con was great (even excessive) and the rooms were very clean, if plain. There was quite a bit of noise from other families as might be expected, so I wouldn't recommend staying in the main block unless you can tune out crying children. The Italian staff were excellent - polite, attentive, but not overbearing. The Neilson staff on resort were always very helpful and dedicated in our experience (kudos to Josie, Hannah, Matt, Ash, Toby, Ben, the kids club staff and many others for helping make our week great).

The food could definitely do with improvement - as a vegetarian, I was frustrated that none of it was labelled as V which made it impossible to tell what I could eat. There was very rarely a vegetarian main course and rarely any protein, just lots of carb. Some days, the four salads on the salad bar all contained fish/meat, which seemed poor planning. It was very much like going back in time to trying to eat out as a vegetarian twenty years ago! Lots of people said to us that the food wasn't up to Neilson's normal standards. I enjoyed the desserts, usually, and there was always fruit and a choice of individual salad items.

The sports and kit we did try were excellent - the kids bikes (Frog) were great and my two year old was able to balance bike along on the smallest size. The kids clubs were excellent and both kids had an amazing time keeping busy trying new things. We all loved the climbing wall, spent hours in the pool and in the sea, and we bought photographs from the photography team as a memento. The beach has a steep drop off quite quickly so there's only a few feet of water which is suitable for the kids to play in, but they had plenty of fun.

Like others, we felt a bit stuck at the resort at times and would have liked to be able to explore a little. It would have been very fun if Neilson could lead a bit of local language teaching (just the pleasantries!) - if only out of politeness to the local staff. We knew enough to get by, at least, but the kids would have enjoyed learning some in kids club.

All in all, we loved having access to so many sports, and now we know more about the system could definitely make more of it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank kimberleywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So a difficult review to do as it is not just a hotel to review but also the Neilson activity packages as first time Neilson guests.

So if you are a first timer be aware that when it comes to activities you have to sign up for what you want to do and it turns out there are limited places so its a bun fight and everyman for themselves or you miss out. We didn’t know this and politely queued up to be told there were no sailing lessons left as it was a busy week. We were told we could buy private lessons! Unfortunately the only reason we were trying Neilson was to learn to sail and this led to us having to raise a complaint and be very upset and waste the first morning. We were eventually told at lunch time we could after all go to the lessons but we had had to make a-lot of noise for this to happen. Neilson really should put more effort in making a fair sign up system as some guests who know the system sign each other up and double book on purpose and then pick on the day what they do. So on our first morning we went through disappointment, upset and had to complain, this made us feel very uncomfortable for the rest of the week around the staff.

Once you get there, the lessons and equipment are excellent and we enjoyed this aspect of the holiday. We also used the mountain bikes on our own on side roads and dirt tracks which was fun. Its worth taking a bike lock as we couldn’t leave the bikes as we didn’t have one. We had fun kayaking and SUP on a fun basis. There is also table tennis which is not in the brochure which was a bonus for us.

Other guests report the tennis is excellent and the road biking is good aside from a 10km flat ride on a very busy road with pot holes to the “ interesting “ part of the ride. Mountain biking is also a 10km ride to the actual mountains so people report it is not for serious mountain bikers.

The hotel itself is on a great site with a lovely beach and was comfortable. Lifeguards, sun beds and water-sports a plenty to use. The fitness deck is on the roof and we went up there at night and saw the milky way. The Italian staff work hard and the reception staff are fluent in English and very helpful.

The hotel is remote but a shuttle bus is now running to the local shops and train station but evenings are limited as the brochure says to beach bars and restaurant. The Neilson led evening entertainment was poor and by the end of the week most people just went to their rooms to read.

The food was a bit of a roulette experience! Some of it was delicious and some was awful and much of the hot food looked unappetising. The composite salads were not cold enough and often were recycled food and after eating a mouthful of potato salad with lunchtimes frankfurters chopped up in it I stayed right away from them! I hate food waste but we learnt to take a bit of something we might enjoy, eat it if it was delicious and leave it if it was awful and return to try something else. There was so much food it was ridiculous and a lot of waste but we did eat well, just a bit disconcerting playing food roulette!

So in summary, for a one week activity holiday, but for the right price, it is a good holiday just get in early if you want a specific activity.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wenmon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having holidayed at many previous Neilson resorts, we thought we couldn’t go far wrong trying a new location, as we expected the same brand experience as before... we were wrong.
Location is remote, with one decent restaurant on the beach within ten minutes walk, called The Lido, would highly recommend this for great quality Italian food and local wines, and very good value, perfect for the non inclusive nights.

Hotel is pleasant and the villas vey roomy with recently improved bathrooms and good air conditioning, cleaned daily, you can’t fault them, and all within a tennis balls throw of the courts.

Italian hotel staff are lovely and very attentive to the guests and children. The Neilson staff on the ground, are as always, young, helpful and good fun/company. If only the same could be said of the manageress!!!

Food compared to previous locations seems to be more on a budget than other locations, and this was a consistent comment from all too many guests. A real bug bare is the fact that the food is very rarely hot, and the quality of the meat is poor, and often over cooked. The grill at the back of the restaurant does not grill from fresh, food is pre cooked and then finished off, quite literally. Not enough Italian menu favourites, at the end of the day we are holidaying in Italy. The Managers comment to guests we spoke to was dismissive, commenting well this is Southern Italy.....like that should matter, and affect quality. The waiters/waitresses are all fantastic, not Neilson employees. Strangely or coincidentally the night before changeover the boat was pushed out with huge Salmon, mussels, huge half a lamb, nothing of that quality seen for the rest of the week, will be interesting to see if a similar pattern follows next week.

The non inclusive BBQ is €25 a head, again food was pre cooked, so most things over cooked. I would advise going to The Lido restaurant instead, as you can get a beautiful Italian meal, presented beautifully, and hot. The hotel said it was fully booked to our friends, but when we arrived there were plenty of tables, so my advice is just turn up later in the evening, I think this was the hotel trying to ensure they had some guests at the BBQ. Never have I been so excited about hot food. Dinner for two with local wine is around €40, and you won’t be disappointed. The pizza night at the hotel was really good, with the wood fired pizza oven, very good quality and ingredients and good value versus the BBQ

Tennis coaching was very good, with all coaches of a good standard, the courts good, and the array of water sports and cycling equipment very good. The beach is fantastic and the sea beautifully clear. If you want to get out and see more of Italy, there is nothing in walking distance, this requires a coach trip, which is provided at a cost to the guests.

Parents with children won’t be disappointed as parents seemed very happy with the attention they got from the staff, and the children were always enjoying themselves on the resort

Entertainment is limited. Often the main piazza bar is drowned by too loud music, which doesn’t allow guests to sit and chat and relax, their needs to be a better balance. The live band on BBQ night literally drowned out all conversation and cleared the bar area prematurely as guests could not hold a conversation either at their dinner table or at the bar. Music around the main pool in the afternoon is unnecessary and intrusive, if people want to listen to music they will put their iPhone on and listen, this is not a club 18-30

I’m sure that things will improve, but only by people posting on Trip Advisor, as the current Manageress who talks a good speech at the guests arrival about wanting to hear guest feedback, when presented with issues is quick to dismiss and was confrontational with our friends. This was not what we have come to expect from Neilson, thankfully the rest of the Neilson team did not follow by example, and have been lovely.

Lovely location, quiet, staff fantastic, food quality, temperature of food and more traditional Italian cuisine needs a great improvement to get it more on par with the quality of other Neilson resorts.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JEZZAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This 4 star resort let down by very poor food service on offer. While breakfast is average, lunch is the best prepared meal on offer, while the evening meal a very poor, the food is cold and poorly prepared and presented.

The resort lacks a true heart or Centre, the bar faces away from the pool area. The pool bar is not operational and the beach bar opening time are infrequent.

The BBQ night offered by the resort was not worth the 25 euro a head, all the food while precooked was served cold, this was despite Neilson head chef standing around overseeing the event. A few food temperature gauges to ensure the food is served hot would help make this event more inviting. A lot of the holiday guest choose not to attend the bbq and instead went to the local beach bar for food, a wise move.

The beach sailing ,the tennis and cycling facilities are great and serviced by welcoming, friendly Neilson staff.
The resort is isolated and remote from the local town and shops. Neilson and the resort need to lay on a shuttle service to allow people the opportunity to see some of Italy.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank conor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an amazing week at airone beach club 2/6-9/6 ,can not understand the few negative comments on here,we stayed in the garden rooms,large room with twin beds,massive shower with twin wash basins,always hot water,cleaned every day to a high standard,we all enjoyed the buffet food found it always well presented and tasty,one of our party is gluten intolerant,one of the best holidays we have been on where it was very well catered for,in fact ,was annoyed that all guests were taking from this selection,the small packet snacks were nearly always taken by the other guests going on the early morning guided cycle rides,all the staff were polite,worked hard and are a credit to neilson,
The crew on the chartered ba flight were exceptional both out and in bound,
I would have liked to get signed up to more guided bike rides but unfortunately did not get in quickly enough but joined the tennis instruction,and enjoyed,
As on previous neilson hols met and made friends with some lovely people,
Was not impressed with how families with young children allowed them to make so much mess on and around their dining tables,got up and left it for staff to clean up,but then I was better brought up with manners and taught respect.
Would definitely go back to this resort or any other neilson,we always have a great holiday












Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank trusty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews