We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A professional review”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A professional review”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I work as professional travel photographer and journalist for Belgian food and travel magazines. When I was looking for a B&B near Sintra, to make some reports, I read all the good comments on Quinta do Scoto. My booking was a blind guess. But after staying at the Quinta, with my family, I can confirm all the excellent reviews I’ve read. Friendly welcome, clean rooms with a lot of space, perfect breakfast,… Even on the morning we had to catch our airplane very early, we got a basket full of delights in our room. Tony will help you detailed in finding a restaurant or other places to visit. The perfect location, to visit Sintra. In about half an hour you’re with the train in Lisbon. The station is close. I couldn’t find a single negative point to comment. This address is good value for money.
Joris Luyten ( Belgium)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    29
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
221
206
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vorden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

really, a great pleasure to stay in Quinta do Scoto;
their hospitality as well as the information supplied is unsurpassed

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent two of the three nights in Portugal at this B&B. It is very convenient if you rent a car since you are half way between Lisbon and Sintra. Tony and Penny are wonderful guests and will give you great tips. The rooms are big and clean and breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Everything is 5 star at the Quinta do Scoto including the local advice and helpful tips on where to go to eat and how to travel around. The Marquis do Pombal suite was very spacious, bright, well decorated and excellent for both a family or couple. The pool and patio area just outside is stunning and ideal for relaxing after a day siteseeing or walking in the fabulous Sintra area. Tony, Penny and Charlotte go the extra mile to help in every way and you can't help but love their two very friendly dogs. A great find and a superb area to explore.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our second visit to Quinta Do Scoto, on this ocasion we had more days to explore Sintra and Lisbon, even though we had a car we chose to move around by train and it was great. The hotel and specially the atention were once again superb. A home away from home. Thanks for everything to Tony, Penny and Charlotte.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The room we had, Marquis do Pombal, was brilliant for our family trip and spotlessly clean. Qunita do Scoto is ideally located for trips to Lisbon, Cascais and Sintra. Very friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble including visiting the train station to find out about the revised timetable. Found a lovely traditional restaurant Sao Lucas a 5 min drive away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingham
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2012

If you want to explore the major sites and not stay in a city centre this is the place. Ideally located more or less equadistant between the stunning city of Lisbon, World Heritage site of Sintra, Estoril, Cascais and many more this beautiful B & B with a difference is ideally situated for exploring all the best beauty spots this area of Portugal has to offer. The rooms are all as beautiful as they look on the photographs and the general atmosphere provided by Tony, Penny (and Charlotte) as well as the breakfasts which you are under no time pressure to enjoy are delicious and big enough to set you up for the best part of the day. Your hosts could not be more helpful and welcoming. If you are reasonably active and staying for a long weekend, you can, with the help of local taxi-drivers, local transport and Tony and Penny, see all the best sites by local transport; if you stay a little longer or are not so able-bodied then a hire car for some of the time would be a good idea. Lisbon and Sintra are best seen by public transport/taxi as parking is difficult, but you would benefit from your own transport to make the most of the time you would want to be in other places. 100% satisfaction and no complaints.

Room Tip: If you want to step from your room to the pool pick a room downstairs by the pool, but you would als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MullarkeyTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
16.2 km away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
7.4 km away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
17.0 km away
Valverde Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
6.2 km away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
16.1 km away
Casa Amora Guesthouse
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 232 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Property: Quinta do Scoto
Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing