We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for relaxation, we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Certificate of Excellence
luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“excellent for relaxation, we loved it”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We (a couple beginning 50's) arrived there yesterday afternoon. Enjoyed the afternoon tea in the romantic garden, had relaxation massages and a nice dinner in the restaurant der Baldachin. Superbe decoration.
enjoyable with the look at the vineyards.
Recommended for couples.
Very clean rooms.

We'll return to this place.

Room Tip: apparently we got the last room, so not much to discuss
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katia526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    66
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
177
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Brilliant value, great service and a genuinely great hotel. Although not 5 stars it really does offer many 5 star touches. The spa is great, as is the garden, the cigar bar and the wine cellar. Loved it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We spent three nights here in May, 2011. It was a vacation-break from my wife's multiple weeks of work in nearby Belgium, so I wanted some luxury for her. By American standards, the 265 Euro price (including breakfasts, taxes, and service charges) for a Junior Suite #108, at this splendid hotel was a bargain. Before you reject my extravagance, evaluate the difference between a conventional room and the fat-cat room we took.

They call it a resort, partly because they have a beautiful spa (which we were warned in advance would be closed for repairs most of our visit.) There's no pool. But the real point is the location. The hotel has bicycles to ride the nicely flat paths beside the Mosel River (100 meters away.) You can visit a winery in town, or take a cab (remember European drunken driving enforcement ...) to the major wine twin-towns of Bernkastel-Kues, 5km away. We drove to Trier (35 minutes, half very scenic local roads.) for sightseeing, and to Traben-Trarbach, just beyond Bernkastel. Any town on the Mosel is close to here. Our arrival from Burg Eltz castle using a GPS included a lot of narrow local roads, but was quick and uneventful.

I should note that major German wineries have limited retail staffs, and may require an appointment for wine-tastings. Even if you suspect that the hotel has a "relationship" with these places, we found purchases of superb wines from the vintner to be a good deal. We bought many wines we had tasted for under 10 euros a bottle.

What's the definition of a luxury hotel? We don't stay at that many. At Weinromantikhotel Richtershof, it means that when the desk clerk is already talking to a guest, the person in the office jumps up and comes out to answer your question, instead of staying on the phone with her sister-in-law. In the 25' ceiling, glass-walled breakfast room, the waitress asks for your room number not to make sure you get charged, but so that she can address you by name the next morning! Better than a fruit bowl, there was a cake in our room to welcome us. Although there were one or two tee-shirted guests, most guests wore at least polo shirts and slacks. Everyone here was charming and helpful. There's a spacious, gated parking lot across the street for guests.

Do note that, like much of Europe, there is no air-conditioning. The location is very quiet, but you will hear birds and distant traffic in the morning. During a hot spell, it might be stuffy. We had five windows with two exposures (which we kept closed in the heat of the afternoon), so it cooled off nicely at night.

We did not eat at their high-end, and very expensive restaurant, a significant omission from this review. We had a lovely semi-formal dinner in the cool garden beside the hotel. That was just medium-expensive. I'm very glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Pay just a little more for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Weinromantikhotel Richtershof is a very romantic hotel. It is situated not far from the flood Mosel in the Mosel Valley.

If you travel in the valley you will find a lot of over-night places type “Zimmer” (“Room”) with bed and breadfast. But to find a nice hotel is a little bit more difficult, so I can highly recommend this hotel with their beautiful and calm rooms, with friendly staff and over all a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level 6 Contributor
843 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the Richtershof as part of the ‘culinary fireworks for the turn of the new year.’ We had an absolutely fabulous time at the hotel, and it is a true Relais & Chateaux property that is very charming. We stayed in a junior suite (second-highest category), which was nice, but you have to remember you’re working with Euro hotel sizes, not American. The rooms were well-appointed, but some of the rooms I saw when the maids were cleaning them…looked on the ‘pretty small’ side.

The service stood out to me the most. We were the only Americans and/or English speakers at the hotel and were also a gay couple, but the staff were accommodating and accepting in both respect. They all spoke English well and were not haughty when we would speak it to them since we do not speak German at all. The reception was consistently friendly and helpful (gave us directions, made us future hotel reservations, etc). I think the true test of a staff is if they made you feel special as if they were focusing on you, and I did feel that. …After all, it was pretty hard to miss, since whenever they were speaking English, it was always to us.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends, especially for the location in the middle of the Mosel Valley. It’s very close to Bernkastel-Kues without being as touristy and packed. We went in winter when the vineyards (there are a LOT of them) were covered in snow and the area had no tourists, but I couldn’t imagine it summer/fall. The crowds!! Mulheim is a fine, small town, but not really anything to write home about.

The Roman spa was actually very good! It was pretty amazing that they fit the steam bath and sauna and fountains and hot tub and showers and chairs into that small room… It was rather relaxing (and free). The spa was nothing special, neither great nor poor. The receptionist at the spa is also the masseuse, so who knows who was manning the desk when I got my treatment! The Davidoff cigar lounge is very classy. I thought it was very neat and interesting the small hotel had that upstairs. The champagne brunches were GREAT, and they had one of the best coffees I’ve ever tried in my life. There is no staff entrance, so the kitchen is just bringing out food the whole time, which is a bit random in the negative sense. I did not eat at the Culinarium, so I can’t comment on that place (the package had us eating in the ballroom, which is only for special occasions).

(Also, I disagree with the previous poster who said the packages were a rip-off. When staying at a Relais & Chateaux property, I always try to get the meal packages included so you can get the whole experience. Really, you’re paying for the historic rooms and the views of the Mosel River, which are great. I don’t feel that my culinary New Year’s Eve package was a rip-off *whatsoever*, since I did a calculation like the other reviewer did…and came out way ahead.)

There were not any major or minor drawbacks that I can think of during the 3 days we spent at the Richtershof, and have absolutely no problem giving this hotel a 5-star review. It’s not a huge Mandarin Oriental with 20 random Asian ladies at your beckon call in Singapore (to which people give 5-stars nowadays), and that’s the way I prefer, because this was way we got to know the staff there over the short time we stayed there. Overall, this was a enjoyable and personal stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

we stayed at this hotel one night during a trip to rhine and mosel vallies. every corner in the hotel is nice and well planned and maintained. our room was nice with white furnishings. we didn't have dinner but enjoyed a very good breakfast in pleasant place. when we were checking out one of the staff members heard it's my wife 60 birthday and gave us one of their own wine bottles as a gift. it was very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We had the intention to book a romantic and quiet winter weekend, and this is pretty much what we got! The place is very well located, between Trier and Bernkastel-Kues, where we had a chance to enjoy the Christmas markets (their reputation is well deserved). The hotel is spotless and well designed, the employees extremely helpful, and the room charming. The breakfast buffet is generous and tasty, and the Culinarium-R restaurant excellent, and they really went out of their way to make sure we enjoy our dinner.
One thing they could certainly work on is making it a little more accessible to English speakers. While it's nice to experience German hospitality in the tongue of the land, it would be nice to able to rent a movie in English or have available literature and/or magazines in English.
Another thing was the shower in our "Petit Charme" room, which wasn't really a bath or even a real shower. We were told it was like that to accomodate disabled people, but it wasn't very romantic...
Otherwise- a highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antwerp2Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mulheim an der Mosel
2.6 km away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
865 reviews
32.6 km away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
507 reviews
8.3 km away
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Weisser Baer
Hotel Weisser Baer
#2 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
124 reviews
8.4 km away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
202 reviews
2.0 km away
Brauneberger Hof
Brauneberger Hof
#1 of 3 in Brauneberg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weinromantikhotel Richtershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weinromantikhotel Richtershof

Property: Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Address: Hauptstr. 81-83, 54486 Mulheim an der Mosel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mulheim an der Mosel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mulheim an der Mosel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Weinromantikhotel Richtershof 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weinromantikhotel Richtershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing