We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
156
52
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
52
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mambo beach hotel staff small road fresh fish couple of nights sea view wonderful hotel buffet style hotel is situated swimming pool demetris tavernas village greek sunbeds euros beaches
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 229 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at bali star in june this year. Had an amazing time. Hotel staff very helpful accommodation excellent, food very enjoyable...would highly recommend it. That good we have just booked up for 2 weeks next year.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank lind32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

A warm welcome awaited us. Demetris and his wife are such welcoming warm people this spills over to all the staff who work there who are equally polite, helpful and efficient. The rooms are immaculately clean, facilities are good. The only down side our room had a smoke smell from the previous occupants. We would also prefer designated smoking areas and perhaps rooms for smokers. At times sitting on our sea view balcony was unpleasant due to smoke from adjacent balconies. Location of this hotel is perfect you can enjoy the beautiful pool but also the beach which is just across the road from the hotel gardens. We were only bed and breakfast guests, breakfast was fab, with a huge variety of continental, and Greek food and drink on offer, we loved the relaxed atmosphere as well. Our 10 days there were just not enough! David makes the best iced coffee ever! Thank you Demetris and family for such a great relaxing time.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Ladyj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We've stayed 7 nights in Bali Star hotel and it was hard for us to leave.
My opinion is that the accommodation is more than 3*, I don't even know what is missing there to become a 4* hotel.
Clean and nice rooms, good meals, the staff is very friendly, the beach is close...well, everything is great there! The hotel was renovated in 2010, but it looks almost new.
We wanted a sea view room, but we received a room at the ground floor, as all the rooms were booked. We talked to the hotel owner (very nice person) and she promised us a sea view room in a couple of days, when the first guests are leaving. Said and done! She gave us a big room with a big terrace (check the attached photos).
They have a nice garden, where there is a nice romantic terrace (Mambo Garden) and of course, the Mambo Beach bar, where a nice barman prepares some delicious improvised cocktails. So, if you go there, I suggest you to not order from the menu, but just ask him to prepare you cocktails with the flavors you wish. He will anyway ask you what you like (sweet, sweet and sour or sour).
You can also go on the beach in the evening, they have some chic canopy and the friendly waiters come and make sure you feel good and relaxed and in a few minutes you receive what you've ordered, plus free water and a plate with peanuts, chips or fruits. Moreover, the DJ plays good music, so you have everything for a great night.

If you want to try other beaches, there are 3 bays. The hotel is in the middle bay. They are very close and a bit different, but all with sand and clear water.
A couple of beaches have free sunbeds, so if you don't want to pay 6-9 euros for 2 sunbeds and one umbrella, you can go there.

I could say more, but it's too much already :)

I strongly recommend this hotel for young people, but also for families.
We love it!

Room tip: see view or any other room from first floor
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Everything was great!
Beginning with accommodation, meals, restaurant, people, beach...
and, of course, the Mambo Beach Bar across the hotel garden which combines the traditional Greek teverna with a touch of modern design for a delight atmosphere, day and night!
The beach has just a few sunbeds, but we had always to choose from. Clear waters on a sandy beach with no pebbles, with a great inflated playground arena for the kids, some shops and nice taverns where you can order great seafood mixes and drink a good wine or the great local beer, Mithos.
We went to a one day trip to Santorini, rather expensive (only the highspeed luxury catamaran witch took us from Heraklion to Santorini and back was 82 euros) , but it worth every penny. It was at least once in a lifetime trip.The views are great, we saw with our own eyes landscapes seen only in postcards or pictures on the net.
All in all it was a great experience and, for the first time, I'm sure I'll be back!

Room tip: Ask for a seaview room
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sphynxeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

This is an excellent hotel. The rooms are great and the staff very helpful and friendly. There is a good hairdrier, shower with shampoo etc, clean towels everyday and small fridge in the room. The wifi is good but not for streaming. We arrived late ~ 10.30pm and found food plated up for us in the room, we were provided with breakfast on our trip to the Samarian Gorge, and on the same day arriving back just as dinner finished, we were still able to get served and were not rushed. Pool is small but quite adequate. You can lie next to the pool and there is a garden area too with plenty of shade. The beach is just across the garden as is the Mambo bar. The food was plentiful and fresh with a good choice, catering for vegetarians. The hotel is quiet noise wise, you can have a room with a view and get no noise pollution from the beach. There is free Cretan music night on sun and weds at the Gourda Taverna on the strip on the first beach to the right of Bali Star as you face out to sea. The hotel is very clean. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Best rooms face the front
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanMinshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews