We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing and friendly staff”
Review of The Small Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Small Village
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We've just come back from two weeks at this beautiful, easy-going hotel. Our simple maisonette fitted five comfortably and was cleaned meticulously every day. The pool area was the highlight for us: never crowded, a perfect temperature and with a wonderful sea view. The staff in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful - driving us to the doctor when our youngest was sick and even getting hold of a cake for her birthday, presenting it with great ceremony. Thank you, Bobbie, your kindness and care really made our holiday! Mastichari is a great place to unwind with a long sandy beach fringed by a string of nice tavernas. The food at the hotel was fresh and delicious too. The Small Village is a great base for exploring Kos and exactly the tranquil, down-to-earth kind of place we were hoping to find.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Del I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Breakfast was lovely!the hotel really is a home away from home nicely private but hospitable .The staff was really great and very helpfull.Very spacious and clean room.We definately visit again anytime soon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amyweaver864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I stayed in one of the maizonettes for about six days I had a very pleasant stay,I found the our room was spacious, clean and with all amenities. The hotel personnel were very friendly, extremely helpful especially with suggestions for day trips. I would definitely recommend the Small Village to family and friends for their next holiday. It's an ideal destination for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful environment.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Small Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Ms Susan,

Thank you so much for your stay with us as well as for your very good review at Tripadvisor!Our aim is to offer the best service to our guests and it is wonderful to read that you appreciate our efforts. According to your positive feedback, we would be very cheerful to welcome you again at the Small Village.

Yours sincerely,
Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent place you really feel to be part of a local village as soon as you step in, very beautiful location and facilities and very comfortable the small village family look after you with quality service delivered with a smile. Recommend a visit to the near Hippocrates Garden Cultural Centre for a peaceful immersion in the history of Greece of Hippocrates's island. Definitely a place to recommend to friends and to go back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Small Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Mr Nico L

Thank you very much for your review and your highly recommendation we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!We would be happy to welcome you again anytime.

Yours sincerely,
Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed at a villa for a week with 3 kids. Rooms were very nice with a view to the sea, and the pool area, very clean, two bed room and balconies. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is not far from airport and easy to get to by taxi. Service was really good and we enjoyed our stay very much!
If you are looking for luxury and discos and beach next door, then this is not the location, but there is a free shuttle to the near by small village of Mastichari with very nice beaches and restaurants and bus connections to e.g. town of Kos and ferries to nearby Kalymnos. Rental car is a good option which you can get from the hotel also.
Great stay would certainly do it again! Most of all the staff is friendliest I have come across, and rooms are very well kept and the pool is nice!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tommi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Small Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016


Dear Tommi & family

I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us

On behalf of team members of The Small Village Resort, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor

We would love to welcome you stay in the future. Our greetings to your family


Yours sincerely,
Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I recently stayed at The Small Village for a week with wife 2 teenage children, plus 2 of their teenage friends. On arrival late at night we were quickly checked in and the receptionist walked us up to our villa and talked us through the needs to know, so that we could settle in as soon as possible. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the airport, so easy to get to. It is also well signposted off various roads and we were able to find it easily.
We had a complete villa - a 1 bedroom self contained unit on the ground floor with kitchen and living area, bathroom and bedroom; and the 2nd and 3rd floor which comprise a kitchen and living area, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. Each floor has its own sitting outside area. The condition of the villa was very good and what you see in the photos for the hotel is what you get. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was very effective. The kitchen Is quite basic - kettle, coffee machine, fridge and electric hotplate - but it is sufficient.
The outside areas were well maintained and the pool was very clean, with plenty of high quality sunbeds. The pool is not massive - approximately 15m x 12m, with a separate toddler area - but it was everything we needed and as noted was very clean and well maintained. The pool has a bar area and you would be served drinks to your sunbed.
We had a few breakfasts which were typically Greek - ham, cheese, eggs, omelette, cereal, salad, juice, tea, coffee, etc - but was always fresh and nice and allowed unlimited amounts. We only ate dinner their one night due to children wanting to eat out, but the quality of the meal was as good as anywhere we ate and the price very reasonable.
As has been noted in other reviews, the hotel is situated 4 or 5 miles outside of the nearest town of Mastichari and so it is by nature a hotel for people generally looking for a relaxed, by the pool type of holiday - or you need a car/moped to get yourself out and about. We had a car so this was no problem for us. You can walk or bike ride from the hotel, the beach is only 10 minutes walk away, although it is quite small and not developed at all. If you crave discos, bars and tavernas you can walk to then this is not the hotel for you. There is a power plant (I believe) about 1 km away which produces a very low background humming noise. We noticed this for about 1 minute on arrival and then it just faded into the background and in no way impinged on our enjoyment of the hotel.
The staff at the hotel were very very good - polite and helpful - not just with us but with our teenagers as well. They were a major factor in making this great holiday experience.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people, so long as they appreciate it is a hotel to relax in, rather than party. I would certainly not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to reception if you have any mobility issues/young children in a pram, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nlpnlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Small Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Dear Guests,

On behalf of team members of The Small Village Resort, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent trip to Kos Island and your recent stay in our Hotel

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met and that you will be return to us in the future. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Small Village in the future,

Yours sincerely,
Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We visited for just one night and wish we could have stayed longer. We arrived late but the staff cooked a lovely meal for us, advised about the ferry the next day and made things easy. The room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thewoods2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini Z, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Small Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you for staying at The Small Village Hotel and for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind words about our efficient and friendly personal in service area

Looking forward to welcoming you again
Irini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mastichari hotels
7.8 km away
Gaia Palace Hotel
Gaia Palace Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mastichari
607 reviews
7.5 km away
Neptune Hotels - Resort, Convention Centre & Spa
2.4 km away
Ammos Resort
Ammos Resort
#9 of 16 in Mastichari
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Andreas Studios
Andreas Studios
#3 of 5 in Mastichari
10 reviews
6.5 km away
Horizon Beach Resort
Horizon Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Mastichari
236 reviews
4.3 km away
Ilios and Irene
Ilios and Irene
#1 of 2 in Mastichari
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small Village

Address: Mastichari 85302, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Mastichari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mastichari
Price Range: C$81 - C$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Small Village 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Small Village" outskirts of Mastichari of Kos island, built on seven asymmetrical levels staring at the Aegean Sea ,offers to its guests the atmosphere of a village along with the comforts of modern living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Small Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small Village Kos/Mastichari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing