We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November sun in Gran Canaria”
Review of Cala Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cala Blanca
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mogan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We are biased because we are members of Diamond Resorts who own the property,however this is our first visit here and will not be our last.The accommodation and resort is delightful.The staff are all excellent and very helpful.Rooms have balconies facing south west looking out to sea and across the valley...that makes for beautiful afternoons and evening watching the sun set.This is a volcanic and dramatic valley and to get to the beach and "family" activities is a 20 minute walk down the hill,but the peace and quiet up the hill is well worth being up here and away from the crowds.Good restaurant and on site shop for the self caterers.

Room Tip: Start at level 6 for the best and most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HarrowRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thanks for the comments.
We always love to hear that as members of Diamond Resorts you are experiencing new places to visit. We try and keep that family feel when our guests are on site, and encourage members to get involved in and around the hotel. We hope that you do come back to see us very soon.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

4 night stay for a family of 5 at the hotel. 2 connected apartments. Apartments was newly renovated and very nice, good view over the ocean on the big balcony. Half board breakfast was not so exciting, we had higher expectations, confusing rules regarding payments to use hotel facilities as tennis, fitness center and even towels at the pool area.
But overall it was a good hotel for a few days of rest and sun. Location was nice with good running on the coast roads, nice walk 1,5km to the beach and water park for the kids at the beach. Not so many restaurants to choose from in the area, but food was ok at the hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We are very happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We try and make sure that there are many different activities available on-site for members of all ages and interests. We hope that you intend to come back and stay very soon.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We stayed there using our Diamond points. It's getting a little tired, we also asked for a high room near to reception and got one virtually as far away as possible. The resort is on a hill and we had to negotiate 25 steps and a fairly steep incline every day. Having said that the staff were pleasant but the drinks in the two happy hours were somewhat watered down. Great views from all apartments.

Room Tip: Most of the two bed apartments have been beautifully refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Julianna D,
Thank you for your feedback.
As you will be aware, we are constantly looking to update all the units but as you can appreciate that this takes time. We certainly try and assist all members in regards to their ideal location in the resort but this sometimes can be difficult to achieve. However, we are happy that you though the customer service was to a high standard. We hope to see you again very soon.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This resort is very quiet and peaceful, so not recommended if you are looking for a wild week of partying! We came for some R&R and it was perfect.

The service is lovely and the room we stayed in was nice and so quiet.

The restaurant staff at Mistral are lovely - it's good for a quick bite but be sure to head to Puerto de Mogan for beautiful restaurants. Make sure you hire a car so that you can get around, as I said there is nothing to do in the immediate vicinity.

Also worth noting that the internet is good, we were able to stream Netflix easily in our room and on our balcony. The gym is small but has decent equipment for a full workout. Pool is nice and there are always lots of sunbeds.

All in all a lovely week, thank you Cala Blanca.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for the feedback.
We try and make sure that all of our guests have something different to do everyday but also will try to give the guests as much information about the surrounding areas if they wish to venture out and seek new experiences. Always ask our reception team on site if you need any additional advice. We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The hotel is up a relative long hilly road, with occasional car parking challenges (due to the relative lack of local restaurants and shops a car is a must). However, the complex is wonderful. It is westerly facing, all the rooms have sea views, are well equipped and have individual sun bathing balconies equipped with two sun loungers. Although our room was dated and in urgent need of updating (room 315) it was clean. The on site restaurant is a little pricey but the food is good and well presented. Our interaction with all the staff was very possessive.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a little stair and hill climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dogLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, General Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for the kind words.
There is a bit of an incline to reach our resort but we hope that this was not too much of an inconvenience. The spectacular views and surroundings are always appreciated and we are glad you found this. We hope that you intend to come back again very soon.
Miguel Dominguez
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

1. The lift was out over 50% of our stay. Unacceptable with so many stairs. ESPECIALLY on checkout day.
2. Stair construction was occurring during our stay. This was ok in that it was disclosed on Interval International website so I was expecting it. However, to put us in a room that was completely blocked off by the construction and NOT give us notice (a call to the room would have been nice) and to not explain an alternate route (way too many stairs!) was also unacceptable.
3. Upon arrival, we were not told about towels and not given cards to get towels. Also not told about the safe.
4. The restaurant staff was great, but there needed to be more of them. We understood about having to make reservations for dinner, but to not be able to come up during dinner time and sit around the pool and order an appetizer ONLY is not good service. They did allow us to order a drink only during this time, but you had to wait forever for them to even acknowledge you (too busy) and then wait forever again to get your drink.
5. Some of the front desk staff were actually very rude. I understand language barriers, but you are in the service industry and should try to be friendly and assist the guest without being condescending.

Having said that, the view was amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The resort overall was very clean. A small resort with not much going on so would be good if you want a nice quite time. In order to get some activity, you will need to take a taxi or the bus into town (Puerto Rico is great!)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank miki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelResortManager, Manager at Cala Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Sir,

I have sent you an e-mail addressing the issues mentioned.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

If you are looking for a lovely relaxing and quiet get away then this is for you. The staff are lovely, made us so welcome and nothing was a problem. On site is a small shop which they will open whenever you want something. The restaurant/bar/pool area is a really friendly place and the food is really good. Plenty of sunbeds and parasolls and a good size pool. If you want more there are a few cafes and bars down the hill plus a waterpark. 10 euros will get you a taxi to Peurto Rico, reception will book anything for you and recommend nearby restaurants. Thank you for a lovely relaxing week!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mogan
1.2 km away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,291 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,544 reviews
21 km away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,930 reviews
32.2 km away
RK Hotel El Cabo
RK Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Blanca

Address: Calle Albaicin 12 | Playa Taurito, 35138, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Club Cala Blanca)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mogan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mogan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mogan
Price Range: $81 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the rugged mountains and sparkling ocean, many of Cala Blanca's comfortable accommodations—which benefit from satellite TVs and feature full kitchens—enjoy wonderful views from tiered balconies of the exotic fauna and flora and volcanic craters of Gran Canaria, truly one of the last European paradise isles. Indeed, Cala Blanca is a stylish resort in an elegant and much sought after vacation location boasting tranquil days and nights along the black sand beach of Playa Taurito; sheltered by the headlands, it's the perfect place to wile away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cala Blanca Hotel Mogan
Hotel Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca Gran Canaria/Mogan, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing