We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aliza B
Livingston, New Jersey

A second home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 29, 2020via mobile
While our son was doing a year long school program in Atenas, we were fortunate to have discovered Villa Toscana. Each visit we had, we were greeted by the warm staff and always felt like we were coming home. We stayed at Toscana several times over the span of a year and it never let us down. Our only regret was that, because our final visit in May 2020 had been canceled due to Covid, we were unable to say goodbye to the wonderful staff there. We hope to be back to this hotel and this beautiful country soon!! (And we love Fritz, the hotel dog who is the sweetest, friendliest dog!)
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$108
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$215
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Pool View
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Pool
C$824
C$649
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
6.1 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Free Wifi
Free parking
    4.1 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    1.7 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
      1.8 km from Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
      Multiple ways to pay
        View more hotels in Atenas
        Reviews (59)
        Filter reviews
        59 results
        Traveller rating
        47
        9
        0
        1
        2
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        47
        9
        0
        1
        2
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 59 reviews
        Reviewed June 18, 2020

        We live next to this hotel, and the so-called owner (not real owner) relishes on using his noisy heavy cilinder motorcycle any time he chooses, whether or not guests or neighbors are trying to sleep or work from home. Additionally, this past year, our 8 pound wiener dog got into the hotel's property and he got her out by fracturing her head and making her bleed. For the last month he has kept us awake with the music he blasts us with, and won't give us the necessary peace we need to work from home. We recommend no one ever make reservations here. We would recommend other places like the following:
        Hotel Martino Spa and Resort
        Barons Resort
        Hotel Colinas Del Sol
        Centro Turistico Los Ranchos
        Asclepios Wellness and Spa
        Villas Escondidas
        The Retreat Costa Rica
        Hotel Villas de la Colina

        Room tip: Better places: Hotel Martino Spa and Resort, Barons Resort, Asclepios Wellness and Spa, The Retreat Costa Rica, Hotel Villas de la Colina
        Date of stay: June 2020
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Service
        2  Thank JosePabloM43
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed June 10, 2020

        We have been traveling all over Costa Rica for 20 days, this was our 8th and final stop before heading home. The hotel was new, clean with a good breakfast and a very nice view, that is it for the goods. On the other hand, the owner of the hotel will be watching your every move whether you go to the pool or eat your breakfast he will be there, and he will constantly nag you about the rules, the dumbest rule is that you not allowed to bring your own beer or any drink to have a nice time by the pool, you have to buy from them. You can't jump, you can't laugh...
        I will only recommend this hotel for older people with no kids.

        Date of stay: March 2020
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        Thank JustynaPawel7981
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed February 28, 2020

        Just great!!! Great location, clean facilities, great assistance that overcame our expectations. Highly reccomneded for anyone who wants to rest nearby San Jose, the airport and Atenas is a small county that has it all

        Date of stay: February 2020
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank lbaltodano
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana , Director General at Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

        We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay

        Thank you so much for your opinion and recommendation!

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed February 27, 2020

        Beautiful and quaint hotel with lovely staff. Always welcoming with every visit I have had there (I have stayed 4 times with 2 more planned!). Staff will always do everything they can to make me comfortable, ordering food from restaurants in town, whipping up a meal in their kitchen, serving a beautiful healthy traditional CR breakfast, a great pool and lovely grounds.

        Room tip: Several great room options!
        Date of stay: February 2020
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        Thank 141alizab
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed February 4, 2020

        I had read great reviews so needless to say I was shock at our experience. Service was the worse we had experienced in our 7 different stays while we were in CR and none of the staff seemed cheerful. Pool was ice cold, I get your in CR however when the pool is 70 degrees it would be nice to have it heated to take the chill out. If your the type of person that likes to nap, forget it the dog on the property loves to bark. I was really looking forward to spending our last 3 days in CR here and have never been so disappointed.

        Room tip: We had room # 9 with a great view
        Date of stay: January 2020
        Review collected in partnership with this hotel
        1  Thank CCee3333
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews