We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Atenas(Atenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orchid Tree(Atenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
57
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
1
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 60 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

After spending 6 days in Quepos, we decided we should be closer to the airport for our return flight. Nicole was happy to accommodate our last minute reservation and we were glad we did drive to El Paraiso Verde. The property was perfect to relax and enjoy peace and quiet. A comfortable hammock and spotless cottage, with galley kitchen space and comfortable bed. I would recommend this as a good base to see Costa Rica plus I would take advantage of the services that are offered, wish we had stayed here for 3 or 4 days. A beautiful breakfast was offered with freshly baked bread, eggs from the chickens on site, fresh fruit and hot coffee. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose El Paraiso because of its location and excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. Fredi was an excellent host (Nicole was away). We arrived in Costa Rica in the evening and after picking up our hire vehicle drove to the petrol station in Atenas where Fredi met us as previously arranged and led us to the B&B.
The bungalow (yellow) we stayed in was spacious and well equipped. We wanted to self cater as we had two children of 7 and 9 and this option gave us the most flexibility.There is a modern supermarket nearby in Atenas where you can get all you need.
Breakfast was a total pleasure not only because of the great food but also because of the location over looking the valley and hills around Atenas. This also meant there were many species of bird in and around the gardens. Hummingbirds, tanagers and flycatchers were everywhere and above us soared vultures, hawks and falcons. There was also lots of other wildlife in the garden which gave the children great delight in finding. However the two things they loved most was the swimming pool and the dogs.
We stayed here for the first two nights of our holiday and the last night. If we come back we will stay longer because it is a superb place, great value and well located for looking around the central valley.
When we asked the children where they liked staying the most during our holiday they both said Fredi's.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Nicole and Fredi's B&B on the evening of our arrival. It is about 30-40 minutes drive from the airport.
There are couple bungalows on their property so you have the place to yourselves rather than a room in somebody's house. Our bungalow had 2 queen beds and small bathroom. There is a hammock out front which is very relaxing. They provide towels and sheets but no soap or shampoo so bring your own soap and shampoo. Luckily we had a hand sanitizer that we could use. All other B&B we stayed at provided the soap and shampoo.
There are many birds on the property and you wake to the lovely songs of the birds. The breakfast is absolutely delicious - ask for special scrambled eggs :) There is also fresh squeezed juice from their own oranges, different types of meat that they cure themselves, delicious bread and tea / coffee. We had a lovely informative chat with them when eating breakfast. It was like staying with friends :)
Last but not least, they helped us arrange car rental when our confirmed car rental with Europcar was overbooked and could not give us a car. Nicole called up "Target car rental" which is a small Costa Rican car rental company and they were very helpful in getting us a car at the last minute with very reasonable prices compared to quotes we were getting from other agencies.
Highly recommend this B&B !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJm0m0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nicole and Fredi were excellent hosts. They accommodated my last-minute reservations and were very helpful with giving me rides in their car and making sure I had everything that I needed. The cabins themselves were clean, cozy, and well-equipped, and I had a relaxing day in the hammock and by the pool before flying out of the nearby San Jose airport (only a 30 minute drive). I would highly recommend staying in this peaceful and beautiful part of the country over the busy cities of San Jose or Alajuela at the beginning or end of your trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

What a beautiful place. The surrounding gardens were tranquil, the view was magnificent and we saw more birds there than anywhere else we went while in Costa Rica.

Fredi and Nicole were fabulous hosts. They were helpful and hospitable. The poolside breakfast was outstanding. Our cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. It was always nice to return there in the evening after a long day of sightseeing.

We will stay there again if we are in the area and will definitely recommend it to friends who might visit Costa Rica.

Sonja and Roberta (Albuquerque, New Mexico)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews