We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
57
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
1
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 60 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a shot. We wanted to explore the town of Atenas, but also wanted somewhere relaxing to come back to. The owners were very kind, and made a great breakfast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, eggs. The made us feel very welcome, but gave us space to relax at the same time.

The cabins were fully equipped, so even though we only stayed two nights, if we'd wanted to stay longer and cook our own meals, we could have (we opted for some sodas in town).

We saw some great birds and wildlife while walking around the area in the mornings and evenings, and had some great relaxing time by the pool. We saw two keel billed toucans on our last morning, and a montezuma oropendolo.

The next door neighbors do have some roosters that crow in the morning, but name a place in Costa Rica that doesn't either wake you up with nature, or wake you up with traffic and honking horns ... I choose nature's alarm ;-)

Definitely a great place to use as a home base when exploring the areas in and around Atenas!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I will preface this review by saying I didn't realize where we were staying until we were on the road. My husband made the reservations.
We found out the hard way that this is not a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is not included.
As for the peace and tranquility that they boast, it doesn't exist here. There is a chicken that squawks every 2 minutes on the dot - ALL NIGHT LONG! To quote my 3 year old, "I hear animals. We're sleeping in a barn." On Saturday night, there was pulsating music from the moment we returned to our room until a little after 6am when we got out of bed.
Bring all your own toiletries, there is nothing here.
The internet does not work in the rooms and on our last morning it didn't work at all.
Last but not least, our room, the yellow cabina, had a faint scent of puke.
The upside, there is a full sized refrigerator. And for you smokers out there, the room comes with a lighter and ash tray.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraiso-Verde, Inhaber at El Paraiso Verde B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn’t like your stay in El Paraiso Verde. All the details for our business you found in our website. We are not a hotel, we have bungalows. The prices are included taxes and are fairly priced. We offer breakfast only on request. It was a misunderstanding; we didn’t ask you didn’t ask. We were ready to prepare in the morning the breakfast. When we mentioned that it isn’t included, you went. About the faint scent of puke, sorry but cannot be. Recently we clean our entire bungalow deeply and all was washed. Maybe it was from the diapers. We are located in a rural area where you can hear any kind of animals. The roosters from the neighbors you can hear but not the whole night neither every 2 minutes. The music was far away, it seems coming from a big festival. We asking the other guests and neighbors, it did not disturb anybody. "Noise" is very subjective. Sorry about that, but unfortunately we can not change anything on it. It is not in our hands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were looking for a quiet place to stay in a rural setting in Costa Rica. We were warmly greeted by both Freddy and Nicole. Our cabin was immaculate and very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils to make our own meals. Enjoyed some produce from their garden. Make sure you try some of Nicole's fresh homemade bread. They were very knowledgeable on day trips in their area. This included a tour of a small local organic coffee plantation and local farmers market in Atenas. The pool was inviting on the hot afternoon days. While the location was in a rural setting, it an easy drive to the San Jose airport and very close to both the Pan American Highway and the tolled Highway 27. Highway 27 gave us an easy day trip to the west coast. We recommend El Paraiso Verde as a wonderful place to visit for both a long or short stay. It was an ideal place to relax.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were cycling around Costa Rica in Januari 2013 and the hotel we first arrived in Atenas was fully booked. The owner called Nicole and there was place for us. After 4 km´s cycling and one our futher we finally foud El Paraiso Verde. It´s a loveley place. a fully equiped, cosy and very good Swiss quality. We loved the silent garden, and the quietness from the place. In the morning we had a breakfast with Nicole and Ferry? (her husband) and the two dogs. We felt so welcome!! The owners are warm, friendly, relaxed. The created their own Paradise on earth, we were very glad that they share this with other people and that we have been there. We felt sorry that we could not stay any longer than 1 day.
Thank you with love from Nadja en Robert. The cyclists from Holland

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadja s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I were delayed getting into San Jose and needed a place to stay for the evening before heading to Dominical. We contacted Nicole from the US and she graciously handled our request for the evening, and even sent a driver to meet us at the airport! After being stuck in airports for the day, it was a welcome sight to reach El Paraiso Verde. Nicole was very helpful and understanding, and in the morning made us an incredibly delicious breakfast to get us on our way. She also assisted with the car rental. The grounds are beautiful and the accommodations are spotless! You cannot go wrong here! Thank you Nicole!

Room tip: No real "fitness center," but the pool is amazing!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews