We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
57
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
1
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 60 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This small B&B is located just a few minutes from Atenas, but is far removed from traffic and noise. We chose to provide our own meals, and the cabinas were fully equipped with everything we needed - full size stove with oven, full size refrigerator, sink with hot water and, most importantly, a coffee maker. The shower was the best I've ever encountered in Costa Rica! The hosts were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our week there. The only downside is that the WiFi was spotty, as the owners would frequently turn it off when away from the property. Because we had occasional business to conduct, this was a problem, and the main reason for the "average" rating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The room was clean, comfortable, airy, nice light and aesthetically pleasing. There are three standalone rooms on the slope below the main house and pool. The grounds are beautiful—on Calle Mimi in the hills outside of Atenas town and the air, breezes and light are exactly what I like.

Nicole and Fred are really cool and friendly; great hosts that you can hang out with and chat about the world. They served a great breakfast and were a pleasure to be with. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The three rooms seem quite similar though the one farthest from the driveway is closest to the next property where they keep chickens. Nicole mentioned that some people find them noisy—but seriously, there are so many startlingly noisy bird in CR that roosters don't stand out! If you are into birds waking you at 5am you should have earplugs when you travel in CR!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exxtreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way through Atenas, but it was great! The owners are an extremely friendly Swiss couple who made a delicious breakfast of fresh eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, homemade bread and marmalade, cheese, and meat that they had dried. It was awesome! - although you have to pay separately for breakfast, it's worth it! The cabins themselves were incredibly clean and well built. We joked that we could have eaten off the floor of the shower. The water is heated by a solar water heater on the roof, and our cabin came with a fan to help keep cool. It was still a little hot, but not unbearable. There is a pool and a large garden. Our only criticism is that it's a long way from town. We walked in, but it's like 4 km along a pretty busy road. It's better to take a taxi - about 4 dollars from downtown Atenas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinatenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor and thought we'd give it a shot. We wanted to explore the town of Atenas, but also wanted somewhere relaxing to come back to. The owners were very kind, and made a great breakfast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, eggs. The made us feel very welcome, but gave us space to relax at the same time.

The cabins were fully equipped, so even though we only stayed two nights, if we'd wanted to stay longer and cook our own meals, we could have (we opted for some sodas in town).

We saw some great birds and wildlife while walking around the area in the mornings and evenings, and had some great relaxing time by the pool. We saw two keel billed toucans on our last morning, and a montezuma oropendolo.

The next door neighbors do have some roosters that crow in the morning, but name a place in Costa Rica that doesn't either wake you up with nature, or wake you up with traffic and honking horns ... I choose nature's alarm ;-)

Definitely a great place to use as a home base when exploring the areas in and around Atenas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I will preface this review by saying I didn't realize where we were staying until we were on the road. My husband made the reservations.
We found out the hard way that this is not a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is not included.
As for the peace and tranquility that they boast, it doesn't exist here. There is a chicken that squawks every 2 minutes on the dot - ALL NIGHT LONG! To quote my 3 year old, "I hear animals. We're sleeping in a barn." On Saturday night, there was pulsating music from the moment we returned to our room until a little after 6am when we got out of bed.
Bring all your own toiletries, there is nothing here.
The internet does not work in the rooms and on our last morning it didn't work at all.
Last but not least, our room, the yellow cabina, had a faint scent of puke.
The upside, there is a full sized refrigerator. And for you smokers out there, the room comes with a lighter and ash tray.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraiso-Verde, Inhaber at El Paraiso Verde B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn’t like your stay in El Paraiso Verde. All the details for our business you found in our website. We are not a hotel, we have bungalows. The prices are included taxes and are fairly priced. We offer breakfast only on request. It was a misunderstanding; we didn’t ask you didn’t ask. We were ready to prepare in the morning the breakfast. When we mentioned that it isn’t included, you went. About the faint scent of puke, sorry but cannot be. Recently we clean our entire bungalow deeply and all was washed. Maybe it was from the diapers. We are located in a rural area where you can hear any kind of animals. The roosters from the neighbors you can hear but not the whole night neither every 2 minutes. The music was far away, it seems coming from a big festival. We asking the other guests and neighbors, it did not disturb anybody. "Noise" is very subjective. Sorry about that, but unfortunately we can not change anything on it. It is not in our hands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews