We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchid Tree
Nearby Hotels
Barons Resort(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
126
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsan josecosta ricawonderful placebed and breakfastliving areadelicious breakfastcovered patio areala paz waterfallsfruit treeseach morningabout minutes from the airportlast night of our triporganic coffee farman excellent hostgrounds are beautifulfell in love
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We stayed here 2 nights while in Atenas looking at real estate. Brad was an excellent host. Showed us around Atenas. Good breakfast, rooms a bit dark but everything worked well. Nice setting among locals. Great covered patio area and pool. Easy to find in Google maps (we used offline). Very good wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Brad is the key player in making this a wonderful B&B experience. Despite a 6 hr late arrival (3:00 am) Brad was there at the gate to welcome us. As we did not have a car, he arranged for a car service to visit the El Toledo organic coffee farm (highly recommended) and also La Paz Waterfalls and gardens. The fares charged were more reasonable than those of local tourist operators. Brad also arranged for dinner to be brought in to eat el fresco in the B&B dining lounge which has a beautiful ambience than bests any restaurant in Atenas. Brad prepares the most deliciously wholesome and bountiful breakfasts that one could ask for. The Balinese architectural styling; the manicured tropical grounds; the clean and refreshing pool surrounded by tall palms, comfortable loungers and hammocks, and the quiet luxury of the dining lounge... all make this B&B a memorable sojourn in Atenas. The location of this B&B is not really within easy walking distance to the town and its restaurants (all uphill and no sidewalks). Finding the location of this B&B requires insider knowledge or a GPS as no streets have names and there are no addresses posted. The mattress is too soft for my liking and that of my partner, but the choice is a personal preference and not a negative comment. Because each room is on a descending walkway from the parking area down to the dining lounge and pool, individuals with mobility problems should probably look elsewhere for accommodation.

Room Tip: all rooms are separate and all are linked by a roofed colonnade in case of rain
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brennum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

A temple of relaxation! Brad, the owner, is very friendly and attentive and prepares a great breakfast. The garden and swimming area are just lovely. Atenas is close to the San José airport and to several nice places to visit, f.e. for (coffee plantation) tours, swimming, sports.. Very recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pepito A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We recently stayed at Orchid Tree at the end of our trip the night before our flight out of San Jose. As all the reviews have stated, our visit was very pleasant. We brought our 3 kids and they enjoyed the pool very much. The room was comfortable and the grounds beautiful. Brad was very helpful with recommendations both before our visit and while there. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlamedaSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Set in an authentic jungle ambiance this cozy intimate Inn offers a gorgeous pool are with a palapa that includes hammock and yoga mats. Brad cooks a different, typical Costa Rican breakfast every day, enough to feed two people. It is located within walking distance of several bus stops which will take you wherever you need to go. He is very generous with his time, giving you all the info you need to enjoy your stay in Atenas and nearby. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated.. You will love your stay there with Brad. He will provide airport pick up for a fair price with a reliable friendly driver

Room Tip: There is one room at the end with a TV
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1stgourmetchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews