We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place Above Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Marlies and Bruno are the ultimate hosts who go the extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The two rooms above the garage are spacious and comfortable with a small deck for sipping a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing...a great place for two couples traveling together. Breakfast is served on an open covered deck. Marlies has two wild kookaburras who show up in the afternoon to be hand fed a special treat.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Barbara B,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a pleasant stay, enjoyed our breakfast and had the chance to meet our Kookaburras.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Kookas Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Very warm host! Always helping, always around (when adequate).
Very nice House, fantastic terrace, view and outstanding & fresh breakfast.
Nice room, bit basic but clean and functional.

We will be back, when we return to cairns

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 360travelling247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear customer 360traveling247,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my great pleasure to accommodate you and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I'm looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Hidden in the upper canopy of Cairns outskirts Edge Hill (take a navigator with you when you go out, otherwise you might not find the way back) is this paradisian spot. It offers sleeping in your own piece of rain forest, beautiful views, a cosy and refreshing pool, generous breakfast and lots of recommendations for outings. The daily treat of a Kookaburra couple is an event in itself. Looking for a place to stay in Queensland? Choose Kookas tropical haven!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank phdevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear customer phdevos,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a wonderful stay, enjoyed our great views and had the chance to meet our Kookaburras.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We enjoyed the relaxed ambience of this B&B being on the edge of town, but not too far out. Stairs were a challenge for my problem knees, and we certainly needed a car to access the very steep driveway. Room and bed were very comfortable and we enjoyed having our own bathroom. lovely breakfast and would have enjoyed the pool if the weather had been warmer. We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Thanks Marlies.

Room Tip: Great view over Cairns from the upstairs rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marrjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear customer marrjk,
Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to accommodate you and I'm very please to read that you had a relaxed stay.
I look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating hosts and what a fantastic location, only 10 minutes out of the city with great views of the city, mountains and water. The room was spacious, clean and just perfect. Would happily stay there again on next visit to Cairns.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharkboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear customer Sharkboy1
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our great views.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We had five wonderful days staying at Kookas B & B waking up in the morning listening to the Kookaburras and watching Marlies feeding a pair who come to the the house each day.
Kookas offers first class accommodation, delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, cold meats and various breads.
Marlies and Bruno look after their guest extremely well.

Room Tip: Ask for room with deck.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mo2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear customer from Yamba, Australia
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and we are please to read that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Clean, neat, well appointed with everything you need. The hosts, Marlies and Bruno, are gracious and kind. They are very service oriented. The breakfasts are delicious. I have only good things to say about this B&B.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Dear John M
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and the service we do offer.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
3.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
8.2 km away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
5.6 km away
Pullman Cairns International
5.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: $122 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing