We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resful Spot Above Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The two rooms above the garage are spacious and a great place for two couples traveling together. The private deck provides a lovely place to sit back and enjoy a glass of wine. Marlies and Bruno go out of their way to make sure their guests are taken care of. The continental breakfast is served on the open dining deck and is available is you want to bring take-out for dinner. The added treat is the visit of the two kookaburras in the afternoon as they perch on the dining deck railing for their afternoon treat.

Room Tip: The rooms above the garage are spacious with a lovely view from the private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B_Writes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear customer B_Writes
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a lovely stay, enjoyed our breakfast and had the chance to meet our Kookaburras.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

It was a wonderful experience staying at Kookas. Nicely tucked away from the main city, yet accessible, Kookas is nice and warm bnb with Marlies and Bruno being amazing hosts.

Marlies was super helpful as she helped us with Reef bookings, and also helped us plan our day explaining the things that we could do around, and the public transport.

The breakfast was really nice and delicious and they were caring enough to prepare an early breakfast for us the day we had our reef diving.

Would strongly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful stay. If anyone is looking for city action, this isnt the place.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jigar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Jigar D
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we do offer.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Marlies and Bruno are the ultimate hosts who go the extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant stay. The two rooms above the garage are spacious and comfortable with a small deck for sipping a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing...a great place for two couples traveling together. Breakfast is served on an open covered deck. Marlies has two wild kookaburras who show up in the afternoon to be hand fed a special treat.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Dear Barbara B,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a pleasant stay, enjoyed our breakfast and had the chance to meet our Kookaburras.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Very warm host! Always helping, always around (when adequate).
Very nice House, fantastic terrace, view and outstanding & fresh breakfast.
Nice room, bit basic but clean and functional.

We will be back, when we return to cairns

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 360travelling247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear customer 360traveling247,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my great pleasure to accommodate you and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
I'm looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Hidden in the upper canopy of Cairns outskirts Edge Hill (take a navigator with you when you go out, otherwise you might not find the way back) is this paradisian spot. It offers sleeping in your own piece of rain forest, beautiful views, a cosy and refreshing pool, generous breakfast and lots of recommendations for outings. The daily treat of a Kookaburra couple is an event in itself. Looking for a place to stay in Queensland? Choose Kookas tropical haven!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank phdevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear customer phdevos,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a wonderful stay, enjoyed our great views and had the chance to meet our Kookaburras.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We enjoyed the relaxed ambience of this B&B being on the edge of town, but not too far out. Stairs were a challenge for my problem knees, and we certainly needed a car to access the very steep driveway. Room and bed were very comfortable and we enjoyed having our own bathroom. lovely breakfast and would have enjoyed the pool if the weather had been warmer. We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Thanks Marlies.

Room Tip: Great view over Cairns from the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marrjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Dear customer marrjk,
Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to accommodate you and I'm very please to read that you had a relaxed stay.
I look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating hosts and what a fantastic location, only 10 minutes out of the city with great views of the city, mountains and water. The room was spacious, clean and just perfect. Would happily stay there again on next visit to Cairns.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharkboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear customer Sharkboy1
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you. We are please to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our great views.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: C$126 - C$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing