We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the hustle and bustle of CNS touristic downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Loved Kookas B&B very much and enjoyed the final night of our trip at Marlies' place. Quiet location, good view, friendly hosts, perfectly clean, fantastic breakfast with heaps of fresh fruit. Could see Wallabies in the garden while having a shower, fantastic! Nice neighbourhood with some shops and attractive restaurants, botanical garden nearby, close to the airport. Will go there again on our next trip! There is a bus service to downtown and marina.

Room Tip: choose a room above the pool area
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huckele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Manager at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear guest huckele, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and your family. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, our tropical breakfast, the location we live in and the service we do offer.
Looking forward welcoming you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Kookas Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

If you come to Cairns do not hesitate to stay at Kookas B&B. Marlies is a very friendly lady and she knows how to pamper her guests! The room and her house were very clean. Every morning we received a delicious breakfast served on the big balcony, where you have a fantastic view! The swimming pool is refreshing! We highly recommend Kookas!
Cathy&Paul

Room Tip: There is a family room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy652017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Cathy,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my great pleasure to accommodate you. I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast with the view, the refreshing swimming pool and the service we do offer.
I’m looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We've had a real good time at Marlies' place, it's a quiet area,though not far from the centre - you only hear the birds in the trees around the house at night, and we saw wallabies in the garden! Nice and comfortable rooms, very good breakfast, and a really friendly atmosphere - we will come back, if we can!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank lotta070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear lotta070,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and introduce you to the great location we live in. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the possibility to see wallabies in our garden. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Absulut top destination in a tropical envirement. Friendly staff, cleen rooms, delicieus breackfaest.Short distance to the city and the airport. Many attractions in the near region. We did enjoy the stay at Kookas verry mutch

Room Tip: Absolut top BnB
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hausi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Hausi1953
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and your friends. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast we do offer.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

My first B & B experience and what a great one is was. Marlies was a great host and served a wonderful breakfast on the terrace each morning. The B&B is in a beautiful neighborhood and is on a hill with a beautiful view. We didn't have a car, but it wasn't a problem. We took Uber to and from the airport and walked to a wonderful restaurant a couple of evenings. We took two excursions (Reef Experience & Billy T's Safari's) that Marlies had recommended and both picked us up from the B&B and both were great experiences! I would highly recommend Kookas!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nancyx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Nancyx23
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was my great pleasure to accommodate you and introduce you to the great location we live in. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, the recommended tours and the service we do offer.
Looking forward welcoming you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We spent an idyllic and peaceful ten days at this lovely b and b. Close enough to Cairns to go to restaurants each night, but far enough away to hear the birds each morning and see wallabies on the lawn. Breakfasts were brilliant, beds comfortable and Marlies and Bruno were wonderful hosts. I highly recommend this b and b, but best if you have a hire car.
Ann and Dave.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dave0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Ann and Dave,
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and introduce you to some of our local wildlife. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we do offer.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The B&B is beautifully located in Edge Hill. Your perfect breakfast will be served on the terrace with a wonderful view on the city and the surrounding scenery. Marlis & Bruno are very kind hosts and always willing to help, e.g. we'd a late check-in and Marlis was so kind to drive us to the next still open restaurant. As already mentioned by others it takes you a while to walk downtown (which is by the way a nice walk); however when taking a taxi or using Uber this is also no problem. - We'd enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly return when visiting Cairns the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Hanna R
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our great pleasure to accommodate you and introduce you to the great location we live in. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service we do offer.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
3.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
8.2 km away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
5.6 km away
Pullman Cairns International
5.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: $124 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing