We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Great place, but a bit old fashioned

Review of Hotel O Colmo
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 5, 2019via mobile
We had an amazing view from our room on the church of Santana. The room was clean and breakfast was good with fresh bread. The decor of the hotel was a little bit old fashioned and the reception area had a musty smell to it.
Unfortunately the restaurant was not looking so welcoming so we decided to eat out. A lot of restaurants in Santana looked closed, or there were no costumers. We drove to Funchal for our meal.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$493
  • Expedia.com
    C$548
  • Vio.com
    C$344
  • Hotels.com
    C$548
2.2 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property building
  • Agoda.com
2.9 km from Hotel O Colmo
C$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$139
  • Agoda.com
    C$140
  • StayForLong
0.0 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$245
  • Expedia.com
    C$299
7.1 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$109
  • Expedia.com
    C$173
8.5 km from Hotel O Colmo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santana
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
34
65
68
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
65
68
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel skewers nice room good size madeira
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 197 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2019

We stayed here for 2 nights mid-walking holiday.
Good things: Huge rooms with the biggest bed in the world. Comfy with a balcony, quiet and clean with a kettle. Breakfast was good..Good packed lunch. Amazing bath and tonnes of hot water. The madeira wine. There was a local Carnival on where 20 or so women came into the bar and sang a tune with lots of verses reciting the demise of the drunken Priest. It was fun and entertaining, though the tune then lodged in my head for the next 2 weeks.
Bad things: The ancient coffee machines at breakfast did not work. The jacuzzi was cold and had so much chlorine in I lost a few pounds. We did ask for the temperature to be turned up but this was clearly a huge task and needed specialist technical support. Don't leave the balcony door open coz there are mosquitos.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We called in at this restaurant for lunch whilst on a tour of the island. The package included a bottle of water [tap water is very high in minerals], a bottle of beer or a bottle of wine, vegetable soup, we had a choice of Scabbard fish or Tuna and the serving was large, plus vegetables, a sweet and then coffee, The food was excellent and all that for 10 Euros. You couldn't beat that, highly recommended. The service was excellent by friendly staff.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

We were lucky enough to call in at this fine establishment after getting caught in the tail end of a hurricane which passed close by Madeira. We weren't staying, but merely called in. We were soaked to the skin and miserable and were treated exceptionally well by the proprietor of the shop who gave us excellent directions and advice in perfect English. The grub and beer was good too next door!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

I arrived at the reception and was taken care of by the maid, whose name is MARCIA,
asked me for the documents to check in and so far so good.
Her cell phone started ringing and she left me waiting around 10 minutes.
Began to arrive more clients and she continued in the mobile phone.
When she hung up I told her that I felt a tremendous lack of respect for the situation that had happened and she answered me ... if you're in a hurry you can always go find another hotel.
In so many years that I travel in business I have never been so badly attended by a maid as this lady.
I do not advise anyone to stay there when this lady is on service. She is very rude.
A report will be made to the regional tourism direction.
Very sad experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicolettasorvillo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

My experience: mouldy smelling room, cold, no heating, old, looks like a motel. Very disappointed in this place, the restaurant is even worse than the hotel experience (see my review there).
AVOID eating here for dinner! It's a tourist trap

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PhilippePRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews