We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay and excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #48 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in February and would have loved to have stayed longer. We arrived around 10am and were checked in early with no fuss at all -more than can be said for some much more expensive hotels. We'd booked a family room with bunk beds for our two kids but were given option of that or another type with beds next to each other -we went for the latter which was effectively a 2-room suite with a big sofa bed in the second room -ideal for our little ones, but bigger kids would be better off with the bunk bed. For us what we had was great, with a bonus of two bathrooms and balconies. The rooms were modern and nicely decorated and perfectly comfortable if not super-luxurious; bathrooms small (one person at a time) but fine. The 3 pools and gardens were lovely, with steps down to the very pretty sandy beach. As others have pointed out, the sun loungers are not very comfortable but I don't see this as a huge problem. Breakfast wasn't up to say Hilton/Hyatt standard but good enough in selection and quality, and there are options along the beach if you want a change. We had a special Valentine's Day dinner on the beach at the hotel but generally went into Fisherman's Village, which is a longish walk (beach or road) or short but quite expensive taxi ride away -this was really the only downside of the hotel. The hotel does do food in the evenings though and there are other restaurants nearby along the road. Bophut is a nice fairly quiet resort. Overall this hotel is a great place to stay, and the staff are very friendly (though generally with limited English).

Room Tip: There are a few rooms above reception facing the road which would be noisy, others would all be pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments.

We are glad that you and your family spent a pleasant stay with us and also would stay longer :) ibis Samui Bophut is a good place for family and friend getaway for relaxation and fun moment. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel.

We have noted your comment about the English speaking proficiency of our staff for improvement.

Please note that the hotel offers a shuttle service to Chaweng for the guest's convenience.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    639
    224
    69
    33
See reviews for
311
548
118
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went to the Island for a wedding and a group of us stayed at the Ibis. We wanted somewhere clean and tidy and we did.The pools were clean and lovely to swim in. The staff were friendly and helpful, pina coladas were superb and loved the chicken satay sticks. The way it was set up with the pool and bar area made it a lovely intimate area to relax and talk as a group . Would recommend and would return to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. It's been our honour to welcome you and we are pleased that you had a memorable moment with us.

Thank you for your recommendation as well and we will surely convey your comments to our team for encouragement.

We hope to welcome you again soon for any other occasion :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at the Ibis from the 2nd March to the 10th March. There was a large group of us (about 30) that were based there for a wedding (not held in the hotel). The hotel itself was kept clean and tidy and still felt like a brand new hotel. The grounds were maintained daily so everything felt 'fresh'. Rooms were more than adequate. Small but perfectly formed. My only small issue was the level of storage. Just a wardrobe to hang things in, and only about 5 hangers provided. I had the room to myself, but I can imagine that it would get cramped for a couple with all their belongings. A single drawer would have been an improvement! The window seat soon tuned into my secondary storage area! On the plus side, the complementary safe was very good as well as the fridge which was also kept well stocked with bottled water at no extra charge. Air Conditioning was very good. In fact on one occasion, my room became too cold! Bathroom was well designed and the shower was very good (something that I always look for. Nothing upsets me more than a drippy shower!). I was ground floor in 4 block (4122 from memory). Great location right by the pools and restaurant. Had a neat little balcony with a small table and 2 chairs along with a gate leading to the pool. No designated pathway to the pool areas which rendered this a little useless, but you could find a way over the cobbles and past the pool pump room so I was happy enough.

Didn't make it up for breakfast many mornings, in fact I was more likely to go there on my way to bed as it opens at 6! But on the times I did get there in time, it seemed ok. As cooked breakfasts go, it certainly wasn't the best I'd had, but equally not the worst. Plenty of bread was on offer for toast along with fruit and pastries, so no one could go hungry. But I would have liked more consistency on what was available with hot food. The scrambled eggs were good, but I only saw them once out of four times aswell as the bacon.

Poolside food at the hotel was of a high standard, but you did sometimes have to wait a while. Having said that, they brought it to you at the poolside on request which was a nice touch. It wasnt the cheapest, but the Pad Thai was exceptional! There were some ladies on the beach right outside selling chicken, shrimp and spring rolls that they would heat up for you on a BBQ and these were really cheap - 30bhat for 1 large spring roll or skewer of your choice. This was generally my lunch/snack of choice.

The pool setup was a refreshing change from the typical 1 large pool arrangement at many other hotels I have been to. There were 3 or 4 pools of varying sizes (all a good size for a quick dip and cool off) and this made the whole place feel lovely and relaxed. Like you had your own piece of the grounds to yourself. It was relatively quiet during our stay so there was never an issue in getting a lounger. Even strolling down at 2PM I was still able to grab a lounger with my friends.

Lovey beach with plenty of nice restaurants along the way for a good meal or just a mojito...or 2. Really friendly people, even the people selling. And like many other countries, it's all about the banter and bartering when it comes to buying. That even goes for the massages in the hotel!

If I ever found myself at a loose end on Samui again, I would definitely consider the Ibis. Really enjoyed my stay here and have many happy memories that I have taken away with me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation on our hotel :)
We are happy that you enjoyed staying at ibis Samui Bophut. At ibis Samui Bophut, we aim at providing our guest with great services at best value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Situated at the opposite end of beach to Fishermans Village which means a walk - not a far distance. Usual standard of Ibis rooms - spacious, clean, tidy, tea/coffee making facilities. Great pool and gardens, situated right on the beach. Staff friendly and accommodating. You always know what you are going to get at the Ibis and this did not disappoint.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback!
We are glad that our hotel met your expectation! It is our brand promise to ensure a smooth welcome and a great stay for all our guests :)
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed at Ibis from May 5 - 8, 2011. Hotel was new (or recently renovated) so the facilities were still in tip top condition. Hotel grounds were pleasantly decorated and clean, so was our room. A majority of the rooms were located towards the back of the hotel, hence there wasn't so much traffic noise. The room had all the basic necessities one would need whilst traveling.

There was a nice pool in front of the hotel, and a small but clean beach. By the pool area, there were massage gazebos. We were fortunate enough to be given a discount on the oil massage. However, my masseur had a slight cold and kept sniffing. Not sure if he had the chance to rub his nose with his hand during the massage.

The hotel is rather far from any major touristy attractions. But there are enough Song tiaws passing by, and there are several motorbike rental shops near the hotel. There is also a 24 hour convenience store right across from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikibana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Samui Bophut for your wonderful holiday in Thailand! We thank you for your positive comments on our hotel, facilities, service and location and will pass this to our team for encouragement :)

Regarding the masseur, we will inform the massage manager to improve quality of service accordingly.

To visit Samui attractions, we would recommend you our shuttle service which you can contact at the reception :)

We hope to welcome you back to ibis Samui Bophut again!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have been in Suwon twice and all the time I stay in Ibis hotel. It's so nice place so that's why I choose for visiting in Thailand (Koh Samui) same hotel during vacation in last year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback!
We are glad that you chose ibis for your wonderful holiday on Koh Samui!
We hope to welcome you again soon at ibis Samui Bophut or at any ibis hotels in Thailand!

Best regards,
Thitima Jaroonteeravanitch (Ms)
ibis Thailand - Communications Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.9 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
1.7 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#40 of 186 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#3 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.3 km away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 km away
Samui Palm Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, ACCOR and HotelTravel.com so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing