We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
237
60
21
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
60
21
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rockpool restaurant bedroom villa private pool wellness centre full kitchen washing machine and dryer separate building through luxury escapes chef lisa main bedroom villa number awesome villa cooking class chaweng beach special mention must go sea view executive chef
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 332 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Booked a 3 bedroom garden villa with private pool. Layout of room is generally, and size of room is ok. Private pool was more of a dip pool. There is not much to comment about the room as this is not a new hotel. The maintenance was ok. Amenities in the room was sufficient too. As i have an infant with me, we asked for a lot of drinking water and the hotel was very generous in supplying us the a lot of drinking water.
The pool has an underwater light which need to be fixed.

There was a main pool near the main restaurant. The main pool was not very big and was simple. I think the whole concept of this hotel is to stay and swim in your own room rather than to go out to consume the beauty of the main areas.
Restaurant variety is limited. Breakfast was ok, not fantastic. When we were there middle of June, there were a lot of flies. And management could omy turn on more fans to shoo the flies away. The management told us as this was the mango season, thats why there were a lot of flies. Food was quite limited. They served fusion food. So we ended up going out to eat for few meals. Food in hotel was expensive too. The thai chef was very accommodating to cook authentic thai food for us.

There is a beach but very rocky. For beach lovers, who wants flat sandy beaches, this place will not be suitable. Sand quality was ok.. mixture of fine sand with med size sand.

Hotel provided car parking which has a security guard.

There is no much open space facing the sea as the resort is built on a hillside.

Overall decent place. Would rate is at 3.5 stars. May return to stay in future depending on situation.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YLTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear YLTAN,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at Kanda Residences.

Whilst it was unfortunate to read that we did not quite live up to your expectations we appreciate you identifying the various points for improvement.

Allow me to respond to a few of the key areas of concern. Firstly, you are correct regarding the main swimming pool, considering each villa features it's own private swimming pool, we do find that guests prefer to utilize this feature, as opposed to the main swimming pool. However, we still do offer a full pool service with separate kids swimming pool, pool attendant, sun beds and even a few complimentary surprises throughout the day should guest prefer to spend their time at the main pool.

I am sorry that you found our menu selection limited, we have just recently introduced an all new dinner menu but perhaps this was not yet in place during your visit. We also offer a variety of alternative dining experiences such as beachfront dining with a specially crafted menu, in villa barbecue again offering a further menu selection and of course our talented Chef's are always on hand should you require something specific. When pricing our menu's we do consciously try and stay competitive against similar hotel and resort restaurants, however, with a very competitive restaurant market on Koh Samui, it is likely that you would find us more expensive than many of the local restaurant options.

As you have also identified, we have not altered our beachfront as many other properties have chosen to do on the island, as such, there is a natural formation of submerged rocks and corals. Whilst this is not ideal for everyone, many of our guests prefer the natural beach which also offers scenic kayaking and snorkeling straight from the beach front.

Thank you once again for your comments, and we do help to welcome you back to Kanda Residences some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

We have two couples staying in the beachfront villa for 5 days.

The good
- the villa is very spacious.
- the pool is big and deep enough
- the food/service/price is extremely good in rock pool restaurant.
- Staff always smile at you

The bad
- All staff doesn't even understand basic English command, everything you say you have to speak incredibly slow and multiple time for them to understand.
I spent 15 mins on phone just to ask if they have extension power lead.

- The beach is a rock beach, you cannot swim there.

- room cleaning lady always forgot to refresh the used towels

- a lot of ant/mosquito/lizard/fly in the sun deck area

Overall we are satisfy the stay, consider the view and the villa and the price.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vincentt495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for your kind and honest review of your recent stay at Kanda Residences.

We appreciate the difficulties in swimming directly from the beach in front of Kanda Residences due to the natural rock formations. Whilst we understand they can be a slight inconvenience, we do prefer the beach remains as nature intended and avoid risking damage to the fragile environment by removing the rocks. Further, as a home to many species of fish and coral, these natural rock outcrops provide some great snorkeling and dramatic kayaking for guests of Kanda. Snorkeling and Kayaking equipment are available complimentary from our recreation attendant.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed the large villa space, this is certainly a feature we are proud to say sets us apart form most pool villas on the island. With 600 sqm of space for our three bedroom pool villa, with full living room, dining, kitchen and laundry facilities, the pool villas at Kanda Residences provide a true home away from home experience. Perfect for families or couples traveling together.

Thank you also for identifying the shortfalls in our housekeeping services, we will of course address this with the relevant team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We recently stayed at Kanda Residences for 8 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a balcony pool villa which was fabulous. Main bedroom was upstairs in a separate building to the lounge/living and kitchen area which also had a washing machine and dryer. Our pool was beautiful and had glimpses of the sea but was very private. There was also a large covered day bed and table/chairs plus 2 loungers. Villa kept very clean and nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything from housekeeping. Breakfast was a highlight, pancakes were my favourite and the view looking out over the sea was an added bonus. The main infinity pool area was lovely but not used too much as anyone staying at Kanda had their own pool. 2 for 1 cocktails were great, especially as this was offered for 5 hours - a bargain! Only negative was the beach as it was very rocky in this particular area, but you could always catch the shuttle or a tuk tuk to Chaweng Beach which was 10 mins away. So not a real issue for us anyway. All staff very helpful, especially Fewes and Oh in Rockpool. All in all a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for your kind and honest review of your recent stay at Kanda Residences.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed the large villa space, especially the outdoor living features. We will also pass on your kind comments regarding breakfast, I am sure that Chef and his team will really appreciate the positive feedback!

We appreciate the difficulties in swimming directly from the beach in front of Kanda Residences due to the natural rock formations. Whilst we understand they can be a slight inconvenience, we do prefer the beach remains as nature intended and avoid risking damage to the fragile environment by removing the rocks. Further, as a home to many species of fish and coral, these natural rock outcrops provide some great snorkeling and kayaking!

Thank you once again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Kanda in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016

We booked a luxury escapes deal to visit Kanda Residences in Koh Samui in June 2016. In the leadup to us arriving the email communication with the residences was very fast & accommodating. When we arrived & advised the staff of my dairy allergy they had their chef prepare a personal menu for me. Their restaurant staff were all advised of the dairy allergy & the general manager gave me her card with her what's app number so I could personally contact her to order my meals to ensure there was no issues with the language barrier. Amazing customer service! On top of all of this, the villa was absolutely beautiful (3 bedroom villa with a pool). All of the staff were very friendly & helpful. We has a massage every day & the wellness centre had an Aussie day spa feel about it & you could even order a massage to be had in your villa (we have young kids, so this was very helpful)! I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: The ocean view pool villas were amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Katrina R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic Kanda experience! It was a pleasure having you and your family with us. We are so pleased that you were happy with our efforts to accommodate your dietary requirements and that our team was able to exceed your expectations!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kanda in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed last week with our two boys, and had a great time. The staff are very helpful, attentive and friendly, and the villa had everything we needed down to mosquito coils. They kept topping up the bottled water until we had much more than we could drink.

We made the most of happy hour (happy 5 hours!) two for one cocktails, and massages every day. The chef's meal on the beach was a highlight, and the in-villa cooking class is going to be put to good use.

The food was really really good, especially the curries and noodles for breakfast, couldn't stop eating them.

Special thanks and mention to Kiki in the kids club; she would do anything for our two and was quite emotional when we left. She even put together a montage of photos of the kids and gave us a DVD when we left. Great souvenir and reminder of a wonderful time. Thanks Kiki for making our kids so happy.

Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Sea view would have been better
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank stevecurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews