We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
132
90
36
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
90
36
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit black water tubing tubing experience luxury tents every evening private bathroom self catering kitchen bungee jump peak season other guests pool table back packers great facilities amazing place dorm room swimming pool tsitsikamma national park
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 289 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

a very good backpacker lodge - great and very helpful people, basic but very tasty food, fair prices and lot's of fun at a perfect location for the Tsitsikama Park that is ideal for hiking, canopy tours and many other adventurous activities.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SaschaMarch2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

I truly loved that place and I would recommend everyone to go there
The view from the “room tent/with private bathroom” is beyond beautiful

U get ur own hammock and swing
U are literally surrounded with greenery everywhere
Very meditating and the staff are very friendly
I loved the vibes at night when they did the bun fire.

I would definitely love to go there again!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Doaa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Our Otter group stayed over at Tube & Axe before and after the trial. Very clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely public spaces with fireplace, pool and firepit. Staff went out of their way to assist with any of our needs. Enjoyed the mix of people and the informal atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Luxury private tent with private bathroom, beautiful swimming pool and deck area, fire pit area, restaurant and bar makes this place a perfect balance between fun, relaxing, comfort and budget. And they can book for you any of the MANY activities nearby. We recommend the tree canopy and the river tube ride

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CHARCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Firstly the overall experience was great. Lovely pool and surrounding area. Meals good and most staff friendly. However, a few points to mention (we didn’t mention to any of the staff so maybe some of it a bit unfair however, simple checks could easily rectify).
We stayed in small dorm where lighting was very poor and bedside lamps did not work, rats were scampering about on the tin roof and walls during the night (a rat was seen on the hammock outside). The wooden door was scraping and had to be banged shut or pulled open hard which woke most of us up when someone had to do the loo during the night. The bunk beds had no steps so those on the top bunks had to step on the base mattresses to get up or down so another wake up call. Also we were there for 4 nights and there was no soap in the dispenser in the main toilet in the main building so not very hygienic. We had to talk hard to get our full discount on the rafting (which was great despite poor water levels in the gorge-our guides were superb and fun) as initially given 10% when C2C book clearly said 15%! The lady who seemed in day to day charge never mingled or greeted anybody that we noticed - does she enjoy her job? Sure the staff would be brought to task if they were the same! Yes a few negatives most of which could be sorted quickly at little cost and someone tasked with doing checks but overall a great place to be based.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 310charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews