We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
5
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We had a very relaxed and friendly welcome even though we arrived quite late.
Roberta was and is a very relaxed and thoughtful host.

The breakfast she prepares is always a little piece of art and very delicious.
During the whole 2 weeks we stayed with her we felt more then welcome and enjoyed every minute we spent in her beautiful house or garden.

We loved to talk to Roberta about the history of the house, the area- everything.

In no way- as mentioned in a review here before - did she come across as profit oriented or stern. Quite the opposite she is very generous- not only with her breakfast baking or her recommendations for things to do and see or eat in the area of Cecina.

Some "rules" might apply to the B&B but it has to be that way to maintain this little paradise for as long as possible.

Thank you Roberta!

We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016

My family and I only stayed for one night but I wish we could have stayed for more. The grounds and rooms themselves are beautiful. The owner was very sweet and had a very nice energy about her. She spoke very good English and made sure that all our needs were met if not exceeded. Breakfast was fantastic. Everything was homemade with things from their farm. Everything was delicious. Overall it was an amazing stay and I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of a tour through Europe. Located in the heart of the countryside with amazing views this B&B is perfect for those looking to escape the Rat Race. Roberta & Giovanni were extremely accommodating and provided a delicious homemade breakfast on each morning of our stay. Our room was very clean and spacious with views overlooking the gardens and pool.

We used local transport during our stay and there is a bus stop located at the bottom of the road leading to the house. However for convenience and to explore the area we would recommend hiring a car.
Only 2km up the road is the beautiful town of Casale Marittimo, where there are a wide variety of local restaurants serving delicious regional dishes. We can highly recommend Hostaria "I Cavalieri", you have to try the Pork!!

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway then this is the place to be. We would return tomorrow if we could!!!

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a chance to get to know Roberta and Giovanni in Milan, we knew they have a house in Tuscany, but we had no idea they are such an extraordinary hosts, neither that their B&B called Piccolo Podere del Poggio is such a splendid place. So, what makes you feel like in paradise there: we woke up in the morning & had a breakfast with home-made marmalades (orange & fig one first in my personal rate), their own honey, excellent coffee, fruit salad with fresh mint - all ingredients from their own garden, we looked around and saw picturesque view on Casale Marittimo village, we turned our heads and saw vivid hills, turned again and in the distance view on the sea emerges. Breathless… So difficult to describe it and not to sound cliché, the best way to experience it is to get there, sit on the grass & breath in silence.

What makes this place incredibly special is that owners pay their attention not only to what you find in their house they reconstructed with high quality and simplicity, not only to their garden where you will find almost all the fruits and vegetables you are able to say from memory and they do take care of it on their own, they pay attention to you… Once we entered, Giovanni made us feel home, so it was super natural to me to take out your shoes once you get to the wooden floor or clean the table after the breakfast, this is what you do in your own place, isn’t it? One more night and probably we could participate in the family contest for the name of their new cat. Snaporaz, Balu…?

If willing to come back? Oh, we can’t wait. Hopefully next time in the period when we could give a hand picking up olives & earn a bottle of their organic olive oil.

By the way, from Piccolo Podere del Poggio it’s like 10 km to the seaside (Marina di Bibbona), 32 km to Volterra, 69 km to Pisa. Thanks to Giovanni’s suggestions we stopped in Bolgheri (especially for winelovers, super precious/pricey Sassicaia wine is from here) & Querceto (little village immersed in green with castle & wine tasting spots) nearby.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magstalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2012

There a very few places left that make you feel that "Life is Beautiful" Roby and Giovanni are the perfect hosts who make your visit perfect. The care with which everything is taken care of from the gardens to the homemade jams and breads that are served to you every morning where you are mystified by the breath taking views! You must try their olive oil made with love! And last but not least their children Lorenzo with his absolute charm and good humor and Ginevra the exceptionally talented actress and singer! Easter was wonderful this year and we will definately go back next year!!!!!!!
Annie

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews