We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
500
264
92
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
264
92
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront resort mosaic restaurant lobby lounge low tide sea view phuket panwa beach check in process beautiful hotel private beach early check welcome drink chinese tourists front office kids pool kids club fried rice special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 911 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Plus points
- new hotel - everything looks new/ feels good
- only beach on the cove/ clean beach/ only for the hotel/ no hawkers/ no residents
- away from all the noise of Patong & the city/ pollution fee/ wake up in nature
no traffic/ town/ traffic outside the hotel etc
- main pool is great
- the pool by the bar & the jacuzzi are great
- great lawns by the beach
- good breakfast
- great bed
- free kayaks
- free Internet
- staff are very frndly/ smiling

Minus Points
- too far away from Patong - takes 45 min to 1 Hr - 1 way trip by cab costs USD 25
(which by Thailand standards is not cheap for a trip to town - an eveng is USD 50
just for the cab)
- Hotel's bus only takes you to the mall at phuket town & at USD 5/ person/ one way
Patong is another 30 min from Phuket
- low tide for half a day - so the beach can only be used in the morng or late eveng
They have a tide of 2.6 M
- small oil tanker ships/ ferries/ naval craft anchored less than a mile from the beach
which spoil the "feel" of the place
- Hotel has no boat for Island Trips
- Travel Operators want extra for pick ups from Panwa Area as it's out of town
- beds are not made for the night
- house keeping staff need training - sheets/ quilt/ pillows/ cushions not placed properly
- toiletries are the same as what are used in the Holiday Inns - plastic tubes that crack
when trying to ooze the liquid out
- choice of food at the restaurants is limited
my wife is a veggie - there was hardly anything for her - so we were on pizzas most of
the time - which need to improve - cheese was sour one day/ tomatoes & mushrooms
were not dried & saute veggies on a pizza!???
- too many Chinese at the Hotel - It would be good to have a healthy mix of various Nationalities
- except the lobby - the rest of the Hotel is rather "modern" decor wise - one dosent get a feel
of a resort in Thailand
- ants in the rooms - keep some food out & you have these small ants in less than 3 minutes

Room Tip: rooms closer to the beach & facing the pool - great views from the balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2015

Dear AdityaK,

thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

The Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. Fancy but didn't feel intimidating. The best thing is that it's right on the beach. Just beware of low tide. Because lagoon is so shallow, water recedes about 100 meters. Most people use pool during low tide and swim in the ocean when tide is high and water comes all the way to the hotel.

I gave it average on breakfast because when I ordered it though room service, it took little longer and one item was not what I ordered. It tasted good though.

After location, service is the second best thing at this hotel. Thai people are generally very customer oriented and it was like this here as well. Receptionist walked us all the way to our room which I've never experienced at the big chain hotel before. Even bellmen were very helpful and on standby to help with anything. Unlike in China, you din't have to ask for help. Once you made eye-contact, they immediately approached you offering help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk_denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2015

Dear sk_denny,

Thank you sharing your very valuable comments and positive experience in our hotel

sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the resort for five nights in total. From the time we arrived till the very last minute on the resort we fealt very welcome. The staff where the friendliest I have experience in a hotel. Service was very personable and same standard maintained from reception staff to room service.

Location was amazing just on the beach!

We ate at both restaurants, the food was absolutely amazing. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice. In the buffet.

The resort had great facilities and activities available and the room was quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed a pool side room not more than 20 meters to the pool. Was absolutely beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2015

Dear AlkiH,

Thank you very much for your review and extremely valuable comments.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from an eight night stay at this resort, we'd arranged for a hotel car to pick us up, it cost us 950 baht, they we're waiting just outside the arrivals hall for us. The journey took around 50 mins, it was peak traffic.

Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted & taken to the reception area where we were given a cold cloth & a lovely refreshing drink of lemon grass.

We had booked a King Crowne sea view room through their website & this also included breakfast.

Our room was a bit of a walk but we didn't mind, our room was on ground level, on entering the room there was a funny smell, I think it was coming from the shower drain. The room had lovely decor & the bed was really comfy. During the night we were woken up by people in the room above us, they were very heavy footed & this went on for a while. The rooms are supposed to be sound proof!

The next morning we were woken up very early by the sound of a lot of people in the pool, when we looked outside the window the pool was full of people & this was at 6am.

Breakfast was the usual buffet, as we were at the resort in low season there didn't seem to be many people around & at breakfast on the first few days there just seemed to be us & maybe a couple of other people, so most mornings a lot of the food was cold as the turnaround wouldn't of been as fast as in high season, pancakes & waffles were always cold, fried eggs & bacon had been sitting there a while so they were also cold. There was an egg station where you ordered your eggs. There was no smoothie bar & after asking members of staff if I could have a smoothie, they just looked blank at me, there was quite a language barrier with a lot of staff & this was quite difficult at times. A few days later we had a lovely waitress called Linh & she would make me a smoothie. We had asked for cappuccino with our breakfast & this was also luke warm/cold, so we gave up & just asked for coffee & I have to say that this is the best coffee I'd ever had & on top of that it was very hot. Towards the end of our holiday it got busier at breakfast time, there were a lot of Asian tour groups.

We went to reception (which we couldn't find, as it was tucked away & there was no sings to say where it was) to ask if we could change room as our room was noisy, we changed to an Andaman Terrace view room, which was on the fifth floor with no one above us, it was a lovely room with fantastic views over the pool & the beach.

The room had a comfy king bed, had tea/coffee amenities, a fridge (which only had bottled water in it) & a lovely balcony to sit out on. The bathroom had lovely decor but the shower did have a tendency to go VERY HOT then freezing cold, we did report this but nothing got done, we also noticed that the shaving mirror was 90 degrees out, so it went from side to side, not up & down, so it was ok if you were 4ft high, you just couldn't use it without bending down! Our housekeeper was lovely & nothing was too much trouble for her, our room was serviced every day & 6 bottles of water were replace every day.

As we had visited Thailand before we just wanted a relaxing holiday, we would sit around the pool everyday & most days we had the whole place to ourselves, the swimming pool was lovely & the hotel provided large pool towels. The beach is tidal & looks beautiful when the tide is but the water is very shallow & very warm, the hotel has kayaks which you can use free of charge.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi, this was very annoying as it would always cut out & you have to continuously log back in to it.

The only downside to this hotel is that there is nothing around it & you have to get a taxi to take you everywhere, there are a couple of taxi stands outside the hotel plus a little mini mart. We didn't eat at the hotel as the prices seemed very high, we would get a taxi to Cape Panwa each night & eat at the Thai restaurants there, one tip is to ask the taxi to wait for you as its 200 baht one way & 300 return & they don't mind waiting for you, it takes about 5 mins to get there.

We organised a taxi to take us round for half a day, we went to old Phuket town, premium shopping outlet & we also went to Tesco lotus, I recommend you catching a taxi here if you want to stock up of beers & crisps etc. as it's much cheaper than the mini mart.

We went to the Than spa for a massage, it was a lovely experience, the staff were so warm & friendly & it was a beautiful relaxing environment.

We got a taxi from outside the hotel to take us back to the airport, they charge 900 baht, and we just arranged it the day before.

All in all we had a great holiday despite the rain on the last couple of day, would we go here again, most probably not but I do think that it will be a great place to visit in the next couple of years as it gets more established.

Room Tip: 5th floor Andaman Terrace view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazrazmataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2015

Dear Shazrazmataz,

greetings from Phuket!

thank you for your wonderful review and great comments on your experience in our resort!

We are glad to read that you have had a wonderful time and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to our property in the not too distant future.

sincerely,

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July, Although the Setting and design of Resort were very nice, it sadly was very lacking in consistency of service , Very hard to get room cleaned without ringing up two or three times. Room was not cleaned properly at all likewise the corridor areas outside of rooms look like they had never been cleaned since the place was built, we were staying in a Loft Pool Suite where the motorised curtains had a mind of their own and would open and close all through the night. When you rang up to report about it and about cleaning of room the staff were pleasant but did not have any idea of what to do.
The food and service was good in the Italian Patio Resturant but in the Mosiac Resturant thiings were not cooked properly and staff were not properly trained in service skills. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair with eggs not being cooked properly, stale cerals on display, dreadful unripe fruit, and lack of things being topped up when they ran out . No information at all in the room about any of the Resort facities and what activities or entainment if any were happening. Would not reccomend this Hotel to anybody

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KencUlladulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear KencUlladulla,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the breakfast and housekeeping caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these with the proper departments to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews