We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
870
243
82
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
243
82
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the grill pool villa pavilion room free laundry premier sea view library lounge electric blinds buggy service free mini bar cocktail hour golf buggy laundry service main gate phuket town daily breakfast our honeymoon rooftop bar
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

We expected an actual five star resort when going here, the views were fantastic-unfortunately that is where it ended. The food was awful, the hosts were not accommodating when multiple rooms in our group complained that the air conditioning wasn’t working. Worst of all, the prospective bride and groom(we came for a wedding) had their limo from the resort ditch them at the airport, when they called the resort they were told they had called and canceled it(which had not happened).

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Jake P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your last visit. We are always grateful for any constructive comment on how to improve services at our luxury wellness resort in Cape Panwa further. It seems however unusual that only your party seemed to have issues with A/C across the hotel, but we’ll certainly action the matter with the persons concerned. As for the food quality, we are sorry you felt it was awful, which is certainly not how the majority of our guests rate it – so allow us to contact you directly. Maybe we’ll have another opportunity to welcoming you back nonetheless! Until then we remain

With best wishes & regards
The Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Amatara really is a wonderful hotel settled on the south east coast of Phuket, cape panwa. This hotel is a real gem if you want a less tourist area, calmer and real Thai experience.

We stayed in an ocean pavilion with pool which was amazing! Clean, large and great views.

We took the hotel car transfer to and from the hotel, which unfortunately was not the best due to a very rude hotel staff. Due to the works at Phuket airport, our plane landed in the international terminal and we had to take a bus to the domestic terminal. Phuket airport is very hectic and took us close to an hour to get to the domestic terminal as you have to take a transfer bus. We tried to ring the hotel to tell them the situation but to no avail. Once we finally got to the domestic terminal, we looked around for the hotel staff and took 15 minutes to find her. Once we did, she rolled her eyes, with anger and said that it was her birthday and she was going to be late to her birthday because of us. This was extremely rude. The car itself is luxury and there are plenty of bottles of water, WiFi etc... this still didn’t make up for the rude staff. The driver was nice though.

The beach isn’t great either but the pool is amazing.

Food is good too and there are restaurants around the corner of the hotel if you want cheaper food.

Overall recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nsp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear nsp1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your last stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Phuket here at Amatara. We are also sorry there were some apparent issues with your airport pickup due to the ongoing terminal renovations, and we’ll certainly action them with the persons concerned. Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cape Panwa again, we remain.

With best wishes & regards
The Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days in March and the resort offered a complete relaxation opportunity. The grounds are beautiful, the facilities (gym, yoga, beach, pool, loungers) were all excellent.

Our room, a Bay view Suite was outstanding, very lovely and possibly the best view I have ever had. We didn’t opt for a dearer pool villa as the hotel has an incredible pool and I’m too sociable to stay in my villa!

The staff were lovely and attentive, though they are incredibly polite so do check that you have been understood correctly as they will not question you if they aren’t quite sure. Everyone from pool team to management where very guest focused.

Incredible views from sun and moon bar and cracking cocktails in happy hour as the sun goes down.

The food was outstanding, very good. Salads are fabulous and the tuna the best I’ve had anywhere. Breakfast was also excellent. Really great ingredients.

The only dining issues you need to be aware of are these.

1. 40% of the dining here is in room (they all have lovely villas and like to use them)

2. The restaurants are therefore quiet.

3. The main restaurant also provides the in room dining, so essentially the kitchen is super busy even if the restaurant isn’t. This can make for slow delivery.

4. The restaurant staff are lovely but they won’t chase your food or question the kitchen unless you ask them too. They are all too polite.

Service in the Grill restaurant is speedy and excellent, no problems here and some lovely intercourse extras too, but it’s a little dearer though we spent only £670 on our room bill for 8 nights so it’s still great value through out.

This hotel is perfect me relaxing, recharging and me time. It won’t disappoint .

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 172MikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Mike C,

Many thanks for taking the time to write, and for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you with us here in Cape Panwa’s only luxury wellness resort, and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Amatara Phuket again soon!

With best wishes & regards
The Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Don’t get me wrong, the resort is beautiful. The flowers and scenery are gorgeous. However, we stayed in a villa (which is quite costly) and noticed numerous things:
- service is VERY SLOW
- AC does not work effectively, we called them 5 times to fix this and was not resolved. Our stuff was very damp. They told us to keep the blinds down, which we did. When we came back our blinds were up bc of house keeping. Was very uncomfortable.
- restaurant service- you will wait 30 mins for a drink, about a hour for your bill.
- We paid extra for a third person for our villa which was not cheap, they only gave us 2 of everything and had to keep asking for items
- they did not restock the fridge daily
- our last day, they wrote us a letter stating that our luggage would be picked up for our flight and car was ready, however, when we went to the lobby they did not pick up our bags. Again, for the money you pay they should have this down.

Very poorly managed and very hard to communicate. Not a 5 Star!!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank ncesario4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your last visit. We are always grateful for any constructive comment on how to improve services at our luxury wellness resort in Cape Panwa further! We are sorry to read you seem to have had some issues in the restaurant and with your A/C, so we’ll of course action the issues with the persons concerned. Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Amatara Phuket again, we remain

With best wishes & regards
The Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Very good service, many things to do and especially exceptionally helpful and kind staff in any situation. We had a really good time and would certainly return! Of course its not the cheapest place but you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rischirisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric W, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear rischirisch,

Thank you for the great review of our luxury wellness resort in Phuket! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Cape Panwa very soon!

With best wishes & regards
The Amatara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews