We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

this hotel is excellent we had an amazing stay, food good beach was beautiful staff were were good especially on the beach, couldn't do enough to help you, spa is out of this world worth every penny ( not too expensive compared to UK either ) came back relaxied and refreshed

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    617
    214
    79
    40
See reviews for
479
1,362
47
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Cape Panwa Hotel (5-12 February 2012), there to attend a family wedding. We had booked a Cape Suite and stayed in C410, which was the room on the top left corner overlooking the swimming pool (and above the restaurant) with a jacuzzi, and with a partial view (obscured by the building in front) to the beach and ocean. The rooms with odd numbers (ie C409 etc) looked to have lovely views back across the port. The rooms themselves are very nice. They are large, with contemporary decor and look exactly as they do on the hotel website. The bathroom was immaculate and modern too (perhaps recently updated based on some other comments?), and there's lots of storage in the entry/kitchen area. Even though we were above the restaurant, where there is a band most evenings, we had no noise problems. And it was convenient being so close to the restaurant and reception. Our balcony was bathed in sun most of the day, so I didn't use it. I noticed that the rooms in the floor below lost the sun much sooner, and so saw a lot of people relaxing and enjoying their balconies in the afternoon.

The grounds are nice and spacious, and the beach is not crowded, and has nice white sand. After visiting Patong one day, the private beach at Cape Panwa is secluded bliss in comparison! When the tide is out, there are lots of rocks and you can't really swim (though there is a path out over the rocks), but the hotel provides details in your room of the times it is best to swim. Once we figured that out, we enjoyed the sea, in between relaxing in the garden under the palms with a drink. If you're going to do this, you really need to get to the garden by 11 am or before, as the guests from the Kantary Bay all arrive and claim the loungers, as do other guests, and so there are often very few left. The pool was a good place to relax later in the afternoon/evening, when the sun had left it. Although it heats up so much it actually wasn't always that refreshing! The frozen drinks available there - the mango smoothies were delicious - make up for that.

We used the Spa services a couple of times, and found the service to be very friendly, and the Spa to be pleasant, with nice-sized rooms, and double rooms available if you wanted them. My husband (an self-proclaimed expert on traditional Thai massages) enjoyed the Thai massage he had, and I had a foot massage and aromatherapy massage, both enjoyable, but nothing spectacular. They were reasonably priced.

The overall property is a little dated, and although it is supposed to be 5 star, it is definitely at the lower end of 5 star properties I've stayed at. That said, the size of the rooms and the extent of the facilities are extremely good value for the price.

We ate mainly at the main restaurant (Andaman), as the menu appeared little different from Baan Panwa, or Panwa House (the Thai restaurant). It was okay, and the service was prompt and friendly. But I felt the Thai food menu was limited and unimaginative - pretty much what you see in any Thai restaurant anywhere in the world. (We've lived in Thailand in the past, and so know Thai food) We also ate at the Sawasdee restaurant at the bottom of the hill in the small shopping area, and the food there is similar, a bit better, and definitely cheaper. In the little shopping area (the shuttle takes you over the hill, or you can walk if you're keen!), there is a trading post where you can buy drinks and snacks and basic supplies, a night market, and during the day you can get barbecued chicken skewers and sticky rice, and also somdum (which is always good) in the afternoons/evening. Didn't get a chance to eat at Top of the Reef, though we had hoped we would - the views looked wonderful and the air-conditioning would have been a relief at times!

We had rented a car from the airport for the week, and this gave us added freedom, but it isn't necessary, and if you've never driven in Thailand before, we probably wouldn't recommend it. Phuket roads are not well sign-posted, the maps are generally poor, and there are so many taxis available it's just as easy not to drive.

The wedding was delightful - with the exception of all the almost-naked-tourists standing gawking, and getting in our shots of the happy couple! The hotel did a great job of organising it, and the setting in front of Panwa House was lovely. The baby elephant visit was a novelty, and the fireworks and dinner under the moonlight in the evening were a highlight. We all had a great time.

The weekend midnight markets in Phuket Town were busy, but if you hadn't been into Patong, and enjoy shopping, these are fun. I loved them simply for the array of Thai food they had available.

Cape Panwa is a long way from any night life, but if you want a relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings, for a (in my view) very reasonable price, this is a very good choice.

I've just read the review titled "Peaceful setting, amid a manic nation" of January 2 2012, and have to agree with pretty much everything they said.

Room Tip: In C block, rooms with an odd number have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from Thailand and stayed at Cape Panwa for 10 nights for a chill out time before Bangkok and were not disappointed with the facilities. had a 2 bedroom suite with friends near to the beach and it was great.
Did eat out every night as so many good places within a short taxi ride. Locally, Sea Breeze and Sabai Sabai and a bit further Ship Inn. However we really enjoyed the Beach Bar seafood restaurant just a bit further along from the Ship.
If you are scuba divers and expect the dive club to be on site, don't be fooled! They come for an hour or so on 3 afternoons to allow people to have a go in the pool. This is the main thing we were disappointed with because to dive there was a mini bus trip to Phuket town 45 mins away and at least a 2hour boat ride [Sea Beas Divers] to get to an average site. We ended up doing just one day's diving. Didn't even check our PADI qualifications!!!!!!
Otherwise good holiday

Room Tip: Get one away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here from Feb 1 for 11 nights with my husband. The first room they offered us was above the main restaurant which we declined as we weren't sure how quiet it would have been, they quickly and without fuss offered us a lovely quiet room S421. The room was adequate size but the bathroom was very small and the toilet was stained, there were hairs in the bath and the balcony furniture was never cleaned. The air conditioning only worked with the room key and since we were only issued with one key you couldn't cool the room until you were back in it at which point it was 30 degrees and took at least 30 mins to cool off. The bathroom had no air conditioning and was stifling.
If you are prone to mosquito bites then this place is not for you, everybody seemed to have bites and some had stings from the sea lice too. I had plug ins in the room and used 50% deet but still got bitten 10 times a record for me. The loungers in the garden could do with being replaced with new comfy mattresses as they were very firm to say the least, I had to use two mattresses. The beach towels were plentiful and not limited to one each which was good. We always managed to get a lounger and sun shade without any trouble. The average age of the people staying does tend to be on the older side which suited us fine.
They did give us a lovely cake for my husbands birthday without me having to prompt them which was a nice touch. The breakfast was very extensive and hot. We didn't eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner as it was 750 bhats +17% tax each for the Dinner and at Sahib Sahib restaurant just outside the hotel gate we never paid more than 500 bhats for two of us with drinks. The food was very tasty and always cooked fresh to order with so much choice we always struggled to make a decision about what to have and were never disappointed what ever we chose. There are two Family Mart supermarkets a short walk away where you can buy cola and crisps etc for lunch at a very small cost. In the evening at the bottom of the hill there is a small street market which serves both the locals and tourists.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriorityClubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our main idea of this holiday was just to relax in such a quiet and beautiful place. The distant location from the busiest tourist areas of Phuket was a plus for us. No noise from cars or motorbikes will disturb your sleep! However there is not 100% silence at night because of screams of various birds, cats or maybe monkeys living in gardens surrounding the hotel area.

We had a junior suite in block "U" overlooking two bays and some mountains. From the balcony we could see "The Big Buddha" on the top of a mountain, highlighted at night. The room was spacious enough and, in my opinion, tastefully decorated.

Breakfast were great: from fresh fruits and croissants to fried sausages, rice and hot noodles. The hotel's restaurants were OK but a bit pricey. Our favorite ones were "Laem Panwa" for its grilled fresh fish and "Uncle Nan's" - perfect for switching from thai food to traditional pasta.

The hotel's beach was sandy and clean. Sunbeds were under the shadow of trees. One day it was hard to find a free sunbed after 11 a.m.

The only drawback was that the sea was not always clear. Of course it was not the fault of the hotel, but some days we saw some plastic bags and wrappings floating from the sea to the beach. I am not sure but that could happen because of low tides which are often in that bay. Anyway in the hotel's room and at lobby there was a schedule of the recommended time (from 9 to 2 hrs a day) for swimming in the sea.

The hotel offered daily speed boat trips to the Coral island (THB500 a person) that was located not too far from the coast. The trip took half a day and we enjoyed swimming in crystal waters near the island.

We really enjoyed our stay at Cape Panwa and we would like to thank the hotel's staff for excellent service and politeness!

If we go back to the south of Phuket some day we will be glad to stay at Cape Panwa again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxx_smart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just had a 10 day real chill out holiday at this hotel. Never saw the junior suite as we were upgraded to the cape suite which was fabulous. Spacious with huge comfortable bed, huge bathroom and all furnished well. Lovely terrace with Jacuzzi however the outlook was not in the best location of the hotel. The hotel location is fantastic, with its own private beach and beautiful gardens. The theme nights are great value especially the steak night and the seafood buffet. All the restaurants served superb food and the service was excellent. The only negative point is if you choose to go half board , the hotel gives you dinner coupons which can get a little confusing. Would recommend private transfers to the hotel as it is a good hours drive from the airport and it would be the last drop off point on the transfer coach. We will definitely hope to come back again.
Carol from Emsworth UK

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Wow! when we move to this area of Phuket from Laguna we were a bit disappointed... but after a few hours you can really realized how amazing this place is... isolated stunning private beach, 2 wonderful pools (one infinity amazing one on the top of the new area), thematic entertainment-dining nights, quiet guests, relaxing surrounds, resort in a beautiful nature... and not expensive at all!!! Go there for a relaxing weekend out of patong turmoil ;)

Room Tip: Get the new rooms (hotel was under renovation and the new area has the best rooms... they are big, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 031512z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.3 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket
Sri Panwa Phuket
#2 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing