We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but some improvement needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Msambweni Beach House
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent but some improvement needed.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I live in Kenya so we are blessed with some fantastic vacation locations to choose from. Mwasembweni is indeed a beautiful locale on the coast with wonderful views, outstanding villas, and a beach free from 'beach boy' harassment. We had Villa 3 for most our stay, and Villa 1 for one night. The rooms were outstandingly romantic and exclusive with private infinity pools, a jacuzzi and many features fit for a king. We loved the villas and the privacy given to us free from staff calling in all day. There is nothing negative to say about the accommodation and facilities but excellence, perfection and luxury.
The operations staff and Frederik the owner were eager to hear our positives and negatives and tried to correct things right away.

On the down side, we were disappointed by the food. Often when a meal time was requested the actual food was rarely served on time resulting in much waiting around. As there were only one other couple the kitchen was not overworked. Some food was bland, uneventful and over cooked at times. There was not much variety to the fish dishes and two nightly desserts of vanilla ice-cream and nuts until we asked for a change. Unfortunately, I stayed up the first night and the next day with a bad stomach. The food cleanliness in two cases was also poor.
We have sampled excellent dishes in Kenyan lodges and hotels of the same exclusivity but this was rather disappointing. We did raise this with Terry and she brought in another chef who was much better and more creative.

Msambweni is indeed a paradise and that cannot be disputed.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has the best ocean view, a freeform infinity pool and great privacy. Villa 3 is stunning, op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smatlock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went t the Msambweni Beach House following a five day safari in the Maasi Mara and it was just wonderful. We arrived hot and tired to be welcomed with a cold flannel scented with eucalyptus followed by a chilled glass of passion fruit juice. We had been booked into one of the three rooms in the main house but we were upgraded to one of the villas, which meant we had magnificant personal swimming pool and jacuzzi. All the staff are wonderful and you can have as much privacy as you like. Meals are served wherever you chose, the beach, your own terrace or by the pool, the choice is yours. The quality of the food was exceptional and all cooked to order. This means that if the suggested menus for the day are not to your liking, then something else can be organised. The owners of the beach house are involved in the local village, in particular supporting the school and helping to fund children through their education. I would recommend that anybody who stays at the Msambweni Beach House takes advantage of the village walk, where you can meet some of the residents and get an understanding of the education that is provided in rural Kenya. The beach really is a slice of paradise and exceptionally quiet, with only a few of the locals fishing at low tide and taking their catch to the fish market along the coast. If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you can rela, eat excellent food and your privacy is a priority for the staff, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me_MeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

If you're looking for the perfect romantic spot to celebrate your Honeymoon, Valentine or any other special day, THIS IS IT! It's like your own little get-away, with wonderful people catering to your every need and leaving you to enjoy the absolute beautiful surroundings, with sun-downers overlooking the ocean and indulging in doing nothing other than enjoying it ALL.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kti2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

we stayed at this marvellous place after newyears eve, the location, the gastonomy, the staff and the owner are must see's and must meet's. A peacefull isolated african experience, as it used to be in the good old days of gastronomy, and, the food is great !!

Room Tip: all are marvellous, we had the great ocean suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosje188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Msambweni Beach House is so far the greatest place I ever stayed in Africa. The main house is relaxing with an amazing infinite pool over the ocean and the 3 private villas are fabulous! Each one has its own private pool and jacuzzi and its own atmosphere. The staff is discreet and thoughtful, you can choose where you can have your meals (in the main house around the pool, on the beach or in your villa)and change every time if you want! The food is excellent,with a new choice everyday with local products from the nearby village (fish, vegetables, fruits...). For sure, once you arrive here, you don't want to leave anymore!

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in the main house but if you want to stay in a private villa, choose Lam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raphpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon in April 2011 we met Fredrik and his family whilst we were these. We had the most fantastic time spending 5 nights. We stayed in one of the lodges with a private pool and hottub. The room was spotless, very comfortable and clean. There was a good sized veranda area and then various places to sit around the pool to sit and read. We were given diner and lunch in various places, down on the beach, by the pool, in the main guesthouse. The tables were always beautifully decorated and the food excellent.

We had a very relaxed stay, the staff were all friendly and knowledgeable and helpful and the food excellent. For a chilled out luxury break in a fantastic setting this hotel is excellent and we would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronse, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Amazing place, great service, in short everything incredible!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Msambweni
2.3 km away
The Ocean SPA Lodge
The Ocean SPA Lodge
#1 of 1 in Msambweni
38 reviews
23.0 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
425 reviews
15.9 km away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
25.4 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
25.5 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Msambweni Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Msambweni Beach House

Property: Msambweni Beach House
Address: P.O Box 51 | Off Ukunda Ramisi Road, Msambweni 80404, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Msambweni
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Msambweni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Msambweni Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Msambweni Beach House & Private Villas has been designed in the Lamu style with whitewashed intricate features and high beamed ceilings. The property’s balconies, terraces, pontoons and infinity pools overlook the Indian Ocean and are the perfect spot to relax, watch the sunrise and enjoy a sundowner. The many wining and dining options are extended to Msambweni Beach House’s private beach and new lounge beach bar as well as a hidden cave, and, when the tide is right, a sandbank a little wade away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Msambweni Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Msambweni Beach House Hotel Msambweni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing