We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$301
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
US$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa(Galu Beach)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa(Galu Beach)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$266
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mzima House - Diani Beach(Galu Beach)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mzima House(Galu Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
24
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian oceandiani beachlobsterbeautiful beachhilarycottageprivacyequatorhostsmaidverandalaundrycooksleepingchefairportsea
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 27 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Travel warnings.....made me laugh. We stayed at Four Twenty South, it was paradise. Beautiful cottage, excellent food, magnificent white beach and clean fantastic ocean. What does one want more in life?

Room Tip: all cottages are facing the ocean - you enjoy the sound of the waves and the view is stunning
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200heavenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything about this idyllic place was wonderful. Me, my husband and our two sons(13 and 9) flew to Ukunda from Nairobi, (with views of Kilimanjaro on the way) and were picked up from the airport. The house was extremely clean, and was cleaned everyday. A fisherman arrived every morning with freshly caught red snapper, calamari and lobster, from which Mohammad, our chef, made the most delicious meals. Everyone that works at 420 South was so friendly and looked after us perfectly, including decorating our villa for Christmas. There is an exciting trip to the nearest reef in a locally made boat. We recommend the snorkelling safari to Kisite Reef in a dhow with a lunch of crab claws and traditional Swahili food. This was a holiday made in heaven.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
420south, Owner at Four Twenty South, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. All of us at Four Twenty South are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we send you all our very best wishes and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I spent one week here for the perfect holiday. We stayed in an intimate two bedroom cottage right on the sea. The recommendation came from a close friend who stays here every year, she couldn't have been more right. Our cottage was so clean and kept everyday by Ms. Veronica. Mohammad our chef cooked us fabulous meals everyday. He organized fresh seafood to our door daily. We swam in the sea every morning just outside our door. In the evenings we organized a taxi for some fun and dinner. Shopping was close and we enjoyed shopping for ourselves but they will shop for you if you need them too.The owners of Four Twenty South John and Hilary are the most gracious couple. I am so happy to have met them. This truly was our home away from home and was a paradise. All is reflected on them and how well they care for their guests. We will return every year now. Just a perfect beach holiday.

Room Tip: We asked for a recommendation and it was perfect. Our cottage was Tsulini. It was intimate and quiet. We slept with all the doors open at night to hear the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have been here 4 times in the last year and a half, and it does not disappoint. Lovely cottages set in well kept grounds on a pristine beach that offer plenty of privacy. The cottages are very well managed, with the aim of making your stay as relaxing as possible; a few days before, just email a shopping list to Jane and the food is waiting for you on your arrival. Fresh fish is then brought to the cottages each day by the local fishermen. You get an appointed chef for your cottage who cooks your meals and will nip to the shop to buy extra ingredients as needed; both Michael and Mohammed cook fantastic dishes, making meal times something to really look forward to! Having tried other places at the coast, this remains our firm favourite. If you are looking for pure relaxation in stunning surroundings with amazing food and friendly staff, look no further than 420 south.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I came here for our short honeymoon. Hilary and Jane helped us arranged for airport pick up and drop off - the driver Gabriel was great! Our entire transit went perfectly smoothly!

We stayed at the Tsulini cottage for 3 days and had a very relaxing time. Our chef and maid were very attentive and friendly, yet perfected the balance of giving us plenty of privacy. What we love the most about Four Twenty South is that it distinguishes itself from the rest of the typical resorts along the beach. It removes you from the touristy crowds and provides a tranquil and private environment just for you and your company. Additionally, each of its cottage is spaced in such a way that you rarely see your fellow guests on the compound. (We are coming from Manhattan so when we travel, privacy and "personal space" are very important to us).

I would consider another future visit next time I am in the area!

P.S. We did notice some bar/club music late at night from a distant - might be from the bar further down the beach. It didnt really keep us awake but just a note.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiViognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews