We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“CROP OVER TIME OF OUR LIVES!!!!!! #BIM”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Southern Marsh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front view of Southern Marsh
Spacious living room
Living room
Living room with TV and Blu-ray player
Dining area
Dining area - seats up to 8 people
Large kitchen
Kitchen
Patio off kitchen
Master bedroom with king bed
Master bedroom with full ensuite bath
Master bedroom
2nd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
2nd bedroom has large closets
3rd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
3rd bedroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
4th bedroom (main floor) and ensuite bathroom
4th bedroom has a double bed
Lovely Dover Beach is less than a 5 minute walk from Southern Marsh
A monkey family often visits to snack on our bananas
Our local beaches are favourite nesting areas for sea turtles
Aerial view - red arrow (top right) points to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dover, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MzYYZ
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“CROP OVER TIME OF OUR LIVES!!!!!! #BIM”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We went as group of 8 (couples and friends) for a fun filled CropOver Weekend (July 29 to Aug 5). What can I say, Southern Marsh is a great place. We all arrived at different times, Sandy & Angela helped us with arrangements for the airport pick up. The house is located in St Lawrence Gap area and it was close to nightlife, beaches, and food options. Not only is the house amazing, it is relaxing and give you that “at home feeling”

The House:
The house is amazing, all the bedrooms have air conditioning which kept us cool on the most part at night. In 1 room it seems as though the AC was not working but we made due. We were not in there for long periods of time.
The house is a great layout and lots of room. The kitchen is nice and big and fully stocked with all the cooking utensils. Also a washing machine and dryer are there, make sure you don’t put it on the 122 min cycle.. lol read the manual, we learned the hard way. There is a dishwasher as well, but we didn’t use it, we hand washed the dishes. Thanks for providing all the soaps needed.
The common areas were great, along with the back yard where we did spend quite a few evenings recapping our days.
All towels were included (including Beach) which is amazing! Nice not to have to travel with them.
The wifi worked amazing, never any issues. We had a few guests that had to work and it was not a problem.

Location:
The area is very safe to walk during the day or night. It is close to Dover Market, which was great. Mind you the market is a bit pricey its better than nothing.
The beach is a 5 min walk which provides you the opportunity to see what restaurants, shops and other activities to do. There are many bar options by the beach. For those who want nightclubbing, its about a 10 to 15 min walk. We pretty much did it daily, its pretty much a straight line there and back. (make sure you stop for Gap Burger! DELICIOUS!!!!!)

Thanks also for providing , sunscreen, hair spray, bug stray, you name in the basket in the living room!! We were all happy to see you guys as owners are so thoughtful and care about your guests! 

Everyone's expectations were exceeded and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when we go back. Thanks to Sandy and Angela for making our stay more than we could ask for!! Look out, we will definitely be back!!!! 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of the house
Liked least: Everything was AMAZING!! No Complaints!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so happy you had a great holiday and enjoyed Cropover and all that the island has to offer. We are also pleased you liked our house and are sorry to hear that you were having some issues with the AC in one of the bedrooms. Unfortunately, no one mentioned this to us until a few days ago and we then discovered there was indeed a problem with the unit which has now been repaired. Other than that, it sounds like your group was happy with the accommodations and we would welcome you back at Southern Marsh anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamar-Ant...
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family has been signing my praises for landing this rental for finding this rental. 6 adults and one toddler stayed very comfortably. Spacious and clean.

Minutes from everything you need. Food and drink are easily obtained at nearby market if you want to prepare your own meals. Just a short walk to a strip that will satisfy all
Your dining out needs.

Locals were friendly and helpful.

Lastly and most importantly, was just a few minutes away from the beach. Not the best beach the island has to offer, but great for popping over for some quick sun/sea.

The only negative I could find is the place could probably use a new microwave ;).

I would suggest this place to any and everyone. Great find.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMEE69
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value house very close to Dover beach”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Southern Marsh is a well appointed house very close to beautiful Dover beach . As a family with children who enjoy their independence the space of renting a house always appeals . Southern Marsh does not disappoint . It has 4 large bedrooms and 3 separate bathrooms . We were a family of 4 and had plenty of space .
The house is clean and well,managed by both Sandy the owner and Angela the house manager in Barbados . All emails were replied to immediately and I felt the whole process was dealt with both professionally and timely .
If you are looking to rent a family home very near to a beautiful beach Southern Marsh ticks all the boxes . No need for a hire car as you can walk to the beach and the local transport options ( bus and ZR taxis are great value ) .
St Lawrence gap is full of great restaurants and bars . Bliss cafe for lunch , Harlequin and Champers for dinner and Cafe Sol for Margaritas .
We found the holiday at Southern Marsh very relaxing and if you want a lovely home next to a fantastic beach we would give it a full recommendation .
The house is supplied with good quality towels , linen and is a home from home and represents excellent value for money .

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space of bedrooms
Liked least: Shower water pressure was a little low compared to home if being really picky
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks for your review Sean - we are so pleased your family enjoyed your holiday at Southern Marsh. I agree that Angela, our property manager, keeps everything running very efficiently. And much credit must also go to Gretel our housekeeper who ensures that everything in the house is ship-shape when guests arrive. I do hope you will come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieR100...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MY MOST RELAXING AND WELL CARED FOR VACATION EVER”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It's hard to put into words how much I love staying at Southern Marsh. The home is so very well appointed and so welcoming that your troubles just melt away the minute you arrive. There is just the best tropical breeze that flows through the house from front to back it feels like heaven inside and out. One block from one of the best beaches on the island and the restaurants, shops and atmosphere are second to none. While there we went on the Cool Runnings outing to swim with the sea turtles (not to be missed) and ate some of the best meals in great restaurants. We also experienced the ambiance of a great little local bar at the end of the street called Salt Ashe or Tyrone's on the Beach.
Relax, have a couple of Banks beers and soak up the Barbados "Island Time" lifestyle.
Southern Marsh will wrap you in relaxing comfort and style. I love it and will definitely be going back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and great restaurants and the air conditioning for great sleeping.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyK
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family of seven stayed here from Dec14-28. We wanted for nothing as it had everything! The smallest thing that you could think of could be found here. Southern Marsh was very tastefully decorated, a style to suit all. The beds were comfortable. The ac was great. I could go on and on. The location is perfect. So close to eating out and the beach. The back deck was used by us a lot, lots of chairs and space. The units caretakers are amazing and are there for whatever your need may be and are great to hang out with. We went to the fish fry and to Salt Ash BBQ with them. He owns David's Taxi service with two very clean ten sweater vans if you are travelling in a large group. So all that being said you need look no farther as this place has it it all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review Tammy!! You and your family were fabulous guests and we are happy you all enjoyed your Barbados vacation. Come back again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully spacious home, close to an amazing beach & all amenities!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Barbados for the first time with friends and stayed at Southern Marsh. The location is perfect for a variety of reasons.

Located in the St. Lawrence Gap, this new half-double home with four bedrooms, and three bathrooms is beautifully furnished and decorated. The interior is super clean and welcoming and the ceramic and hardwood floors throughout are fantastic. We felt right at home, right away and there was plenty of space for all seven of us without ever feeling cramped.

The location of the home is great whether you want to spend the day at Dover Beach (and if you forget something, walking back isn't so far it's a hassle), check out the Gap (a hub for great food and night life) or walk a few blocks to the main strip to catch the bus or a ZR (taxi-bus). There is also a market/convenience store at the end of the street which is great for picking up a snack, beer, fruit, mac-pie, donuts, frozen treats, toiletries, drinks, postcards and more--it was a daily stop for us!

I especially liked the back patio for the house, we would often sit outside when we got home after dinner, chatting. There are several patio chairs and a table, so you could dine al fresco if you wanted, as well.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Barbados--the location is perfect, there is plenty to do and see within walking distance and it's in a great part of town. Thanks Southern Marsh for a great spot to stay during our vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, open space, great furniture, close to the beach & free wifi!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieR100...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE PERFECT STAY IN THE PERFECT PLACE.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in March 2013

Everything in this home is First Class!! The location is amazingly close to everything you could possibly want. As a matter of fact I'm going back in November. Can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and great restaurants.
Liked least: The fact that I had to leave so soon.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing